Ratings based on 281 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautiful hotel, lovely grounds.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Setting, building, staff, breakfast
Cons: Evening meal could be more inspiring
Location: Cotswolds villages
This is a beautiful hotel - like staying in Downton Abbey. The rooms are spacious and have lovely views over the grounds. There is a lake with black swans. The food is good and filling, if not Michelin starred. It was lovely to sit in the garden with a glass of wine in the evening. Breakfast is freshly cooked, not sitting on hotplates. Very reasonable rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Lovely location and very quiet.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Sadly,we had a power outage when the t.v was on and we turned on the iron. It was corrected very quickly, however, you wouldn't expect that at a top quality hotel. The shower door didn't close fully, therefore, we had to put a towel outside the shower.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible place

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: Wonderful breakfast, setting was amazing. Sheep in the front lawn. Room was very comfortable. Easy to find. Absolutely ...no complaints.
Cons: Nothing.......
Location: Walk through the little village and explore the churchyard. Check out the WWI monument. Stratford-Upon-Avonl.
Amazing place....hands down. Beautiful. Ate in bar at night and had wonderful service. Kitchen about to close but they still fixed us a bite to eat. Stayed one night as we were traveling around England. Small village with beautiful homes. We walked around a bit and through the churchyard. It was out of a storybook.
3 out of 5
by Todd

Looks good from far, but far from good

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
The outside of the hotel is fantastic. The grounds are pretty well maintained with nice gardens and some quick walks with nice views. There's a completely different story going on once you get to the interior of the hotel. First we were greeted great and the receptions were fantastic. Then we got to our room... We had to use the pull out couch and bed for our trip because of the number of folks in one room. The pullout couch was a complete joke of a sleeping surface. The bed wasn't that much better, however it was a sleep able surface. The bathroom was newly renovated, by absolute amateurs. The cold water handle and faucet spun. The shower was poorly put together and on backwards leaving the shower nozzle free to drop and rotate, making showering feel like you're at sea. There was also very little water pressure, and it came out in waves, so it intensified the feeling of being on a ship. Overall I was not impressed by the eye catching stay in a castle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Little things mean a lot . . .

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Try reading TripAdvisor for a full report. Why such limit on space?
Cons: Second floor tired.
There can’t be many hotels in more idyllic surroundings than Dumbleton Hall, the 19th century country house hotel on the outskirts of Evesham. It’s set in 19 acres of private garden with mature woodland and a lake where you can look out of your bedroom window and see heron catching fish on the lake and black swans nursing cygnets on the lawn below. There’s a great atmosphere throughout the building, the staff are attentive and efficient, and the meals in the Cedar Tree restaurant were, we felt, of an extremely good standard. Nice touches make this place different. As you walk into the entrance hall, there’s a pets corner with water, biscuits and treats, and towels for use on a wet day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

lovely setting, but need of some repairs doing

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: nice grounds and quiet
Cons: need to improve the cleaner of the room as the cups were left dirt from the brew the night before. Work need to be done more often not leaving toguest
Location: we went to the RHS MALVERN FLOWER SHOW
Had to get up in middle of the night to flush toilet as kept fill up, good job I was a plumber?
1 out of 5
by Stanley H

Superb Cotswold location

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
lovely location and efficient and friendly staff.only slight down was slow service at breakfast one morning.But we shall return
5 out of 5
by Leah

Lovely treat!

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
Loved the hotel, area and accommodations. Breakfast was amazing with spectacular service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, Stunning location.

Posted May 5, 2017
We had a very nice stay at Dumbleton. We were due to stay at The Woodnorton Hotel but they messed up our booking, so we booked Dumbleton as a last minute replacement. The location is stunning with far ranging views across the countryside. The staff were particularly helpful, friendly and informative. They had a wedding on that weekend but we were not disturbed by the late night disco. The restaurant was very nice, a very high quality menu with lots of choice, not quite Woodnorton standard but still very good. The rooms were very nice, clean and good value for money. We paid £154 for 2 for 1 night which as a late booking is pretty good value. Overall I would definitely recommend Dumbleton, we had a very pleasant stay and we are planning to go back.
5 out of 5
by James

A beauty in the English countryside

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel was wonderful. The rooms were great and the atmosphere ans ambience were amazing. Highly recommend this hotel!!