Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Cotswold visit

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Character reminded us of some very expensive hotels Staff amazing especially in the dining room
Cons: Bigger bathrooms
Location: Great location Gardens beautiful. Serene. Great for a country walk whilst staying there
Spent too short a time in the area The Hotel was fantastic and so suitable for the area Food was delicious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful grounds.

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Beautiful grounds.
Cons: Need lots of improvement inside the hotel. Rooms are very old with outdated doors, windows, bathrooms.
Location: Location was a little far from the surrounding Cotswold's towns, but eventually you get used to find your way, especially with the help of Google Maps
Nice stay as a base to visit fairy tale Cotswold's towns. The hotel and grounds were very beautiful from outside but bit outdated and need an upgrade from inside. Our room had outstanding view to the lush green gardens with the swan lake and beautiful fields and forests. The bed was comfortable with crispy clean bedding.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bainbridge Island, WA

Beautiful old hotel that is poorly run

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Walking the grounds was wonderful.
Cons: The staff could all take a lesson in interacting with guests with a smile. The bar and restaurant needs to have a full review for quality.
Location: This property is very far off the beaten path. Not an ideal location for a single night's stay.
This charming property is an absolute delight to look at from the outside, but needs a proper review on how it should be run. The staff were standoffish most of the time and the interior of the facilities seemed a bit run down. The one meal we had was dreadful. Both my water and wine had hairs in them and my wife's fish smelled and tasted like they had found it floating in the pond out front. The fact that we were not enjoying our meal was clearly understood by the looks on the staff's faces, but they made no inquiry into our dissatisfaction. We had stayed in a sister hotel of the operator in Keswick just a few days before and had a much more pleasant experience.
1 out of 5
by Patricia

Don't eat there!

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
We had driven over from Ireland to visit with family, who had flown from Australia to see us. We studied the Hotel reviews and decided on Dumbleton Hall. It was a decadent old place with a garden we could walk through. That is where the good times ended. Our room was small and pokey and the bathroom was titchy. We decided to have dinner off the bar menu. We had the steak with mushrooms. I was sure the mushrooms were mouldy and my husband said his steak had freezer burn. The meal was too disgusting to finish, so we retired to our room. My husbands bed was impossibly lumpy and mine had a long lump in the middle which threatened to throw me out every time I turned over. A few hours later we awoke very ill and took turns vomiting up our Dumbleton meal in the titchy bathroom. The area around my eyes was spotty and red from the exertion of vomiting and I looked and felt terrible for our family reunion. We complained to the Dumbleton staff the next day and the tattooed lady on the desk offered a fake apology but there was no money removed from the bill. We were too ill to argue so we paid in full and fled the premises.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful setting, food not as impressive

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: Grounds, staff
Cons: Food
The hotel's setting and the parkland it's surrounded by is just beautiful. The interior is not brand-spanking-new but this does not affect its charm. I stayed for one night with my parents over a weekend where a wedding was being hosted, which made some of the areas a little crowded (especially the lounge and bar) but I was forewarned of this by staff prior to our stay so it was not a problem. Where we found room for improvement was in the food department. We stayed for dinner and the following day's breakfast, so the hotel had plenty of opportunities to impress us, but the food, though cooked with quality ingredients, lacked in flavour and presentation. For example my sea-bream starter was almost tasteless, my braised beef main was over 50% fat, and my mum's dessert of fruit salad with berry ice cream and ginger snap basket did not taste particularly of berries or ginger. Breakast the following morning looked and tasted like it had come straight out of the microwave. The staff were particularly pleasant and helpful, which did help us have a good stay overall.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Paul

Room with a view

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely Grounds and the drive up is magnificent however once inside the hotel is a little tired although you might say that this is part of the appeal. The view over the grounds was very nice. Dinner menu was limited so we chose to venture out to eat and found a fantastic restaurant (horseshoes) using trip advisor. We had to escape the bar due to the background music that must have been on repeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Beautiful hotel, lovely grounds.

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: Setting, building, staff, breakfast
Cons: Evening meal could be more inspiring
Location: Cotswolds villages
This is a beautiful hotel - like staying in Downton Abbey. The rooms are spacious and have lovely views over the grounds. There is a lake with black swans. The food is good and filling, if not Michelin starred. It was lovely to sit in the garden with a glass of wine in the evening. Breakfast is freshly cooked, not sitting on hotplates. Very reasonable rates.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Lovely location and very quiet.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Sadly,we had a power outage when the t.v was on and we turned on the iron. It was corrected very quickly, however, you wouldn't expect that at a top quality hotel. The shower door didn't close fully, therefore, we had to put a towel outside the shower.
5 out of 5
by Patricia

Better than Downton Abbey

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here because couple we were traveling with needed an accessible room. But what a find. This place is worth going out of your way, Felt we were guests at Downton Abbey. If you're visiting the Cotswolds you have to stay here. On weekdays the rooms are very reasonable. There is nowhere nearby to eat but you can eat in the bar if the restaurant is is beyond your budget.