Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jean-Claude

Very nice little historic hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Best relation price/quality ever
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kanada!

Yes for a cheap shot

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Hotel was ok. Room was ok. Service was ok. Shared bathroom was ok. Wifi was weak in the room, excellent in the public places. Location is very nice. You cannot have a dinner at Hermitage but there's a restaurant nearby: prices and service are ok, the pizza was awesome! Hermitage ask if I'd like to have a coffee and a mini plastic croissant before leaving; then they charged me 5 Euros on my credit card, that's ridiculous. And they charged me after I left the hotel in the morning! Seriously, that's a poor cheap shot!
4 out of 5
by oliver

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Suitable for our purpose

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels
It was a large comfortable room for 3of us much more room than expected.breakfast was a bit basic but ok
5 out of 5
by Nils from Denver

Authentic Small Swiss Village

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels
Excellent old school hotel in the center of the village. Everything you expect from a traditional 2 star hotel in the Swiss Alps. Super friendly Family Staff. We absolutely Loved the stay. Not far from Les 4 Valles Skiing on the opposite side from Verbier.
5 out of 5
by Jane from N;Somerset

Perfect Hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels
Only one word to describe Hotel Hermitage and the Gaspoz family who own and run it-------------- FANTASTIC!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margaret from Surrey, UK

delightful rustic charm

Posted Jul 10, 2013
Pros: charming appearance combined with good beds and bathrooms
Cons: no make-your-own coffee/tea equipment anywhere
Location: located near the entrance of the small Alpine town of Evolene -- since it's not in the middle of town, it is spacious and quiet
Five of us stayed at the Hotel Hermitage for 2 nights in July, for a family occasion. We could not have been more enchanted by the hotel’s rustic charm. The beds were comfortable, the bathtubs deep, the pretty antique furnishings made us were feel we were staying in someone’s house, not a hotel. The rooms and bathrooms were immaculate, the lounge was spacious with many big soft sofas, and the garden was large and pleasant, with comfortable lawn furniture. We could have happily spent all day lazing about in the garden or on the hotel’s front porch, both were so pleasant. The views from our balconies were lovely. Breakfast was typically continental – several kinds of fresh bread, cornflakes or muesli, yogurt, fruit, local honey & preserves, hard-boiled eggs, etc. – what’s not to like? My own imperatives – big soft towels, & wi-fi – were both provided. However, the rooms do not have 3-star amenities such as hair-dryer, toiletries, coffee-&-tea makers (nor English-language TV) – but on the other hand, the owners Olivier Gaspoz and family are so helpful and accommodating that they would probably supply you with anything like that which you asked for, as they did us (excepting English TV!) Their generosity and kindness was endearing. The whole hotel is delightful.
2 out of 5
by Savviecat from Nevada, USA

Find somewhere else to stay

Posted Aug 26, 2012
Cons: condition, amenities, value
Location: Excellent
Evolene is a charming town but this is NOT a charming hotel. Find somewhere else to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from zarautz, gipuzkoa, spain

HERMITAGE IN EVOLENE

Posted Aug 1, 2011 on Hotels
Wonderful place!! Evolene is a valley surrounded by mountains. The hotel is warm, cozy and the owners a very friendly family. The rooms are very clean, spacious and decorated with care and taste. The house was built by the grandfather of the owner, a very charming lady who runs the hotel with his sons. The smell of wood makes you feel warm as soon as you enter in the gallery of the main entrance. The town is picturesque, everybody knows everybody there. There are a couple of good restaurants and a few shops where you can buy home made products. If you find a place to stay and enjoy in a calm way, to feel like at home, far away from touristic points and next to fantastic mountain routes, I strongly recomend this hotel. The only inconvenient(which is not really an inconvenience)is that it is at 1400 meters, so you have to drive up the mountains for 25 minutes from Sion, but it´s well worth it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France

Escale professionnelle au calme

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Très typique. La "vraie" suisse traditionnelle