Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Retro Hotel in good location

Posted Sep 29, 2016
I liked the Dom Fernando Hotel. It is a little retro in a nice way. The rooms were clean and comfortable facing a center green grass and pool area. They had a bar and the restaurant was good. It reminded me of a place where the movie stars would go to relax in the '30's. The bathrooms could be updated a bit but were ok. The location was perfect being a block from the walls of the old city and you could walk anywhere. Parking was available across the street for free. Nice stay all together.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice hotel, great location.

Posted Sep 24, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing wrong that I can think of.
Location: Evora!!!
For our last night in Portugal, we decided to spend it in Evora. Beautiful city, looks to see, lots of shopping and eating. We were originally going to stay in the old city itself, but decided that Dom Fernado was a better choice due to the parking situation and the ease of getting to it. This proved to be a particular bonus the next day as our car's GPS wasn't working and my wife had to use google map on my phone to guide me out of the town. This hotel is very conveniently located just on the edge of the old city within a short walk of the chapel of bones, and 10 minutes from the city centre. Loved it. The pool was very refreshing after a walk around the city. Breakfast was included, and dinner was also very good that was added to our bill... this was actually only the second time I've had a room where the patio door was the best way to get to the pool... very convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice price for a good budget hotel

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Just on the corner of the town and wLking distance to all you want to see and enjoy. Helpful staff and a swimming pool.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Standard three star hotel.

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Room was standard hotel room size. No refrigerator or room safe in room, beds were comfortable and hotel has large lobby with large pool and pool courtyard. Hotel was within twenty minutes walk of old central Evora. Breakfast had a assortment of cold and hot items. Staff were helpful and tried to accomodate your requests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very close to the city

Posted Oct 10, 2015
Ideal location if you have a car. I do not wish to add anything more
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Great location

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: Great location. Free parking across the street in a dirt lot.
Cons: Requested assistance in the evening, said it would be 5-10 minutes. 1.5 hrs later, I put the do not disturb sign on the door & they pounded anyway.
Location: Hike the length of the aqueduct, see all of the palaces, Gruta do Escoural, Anta Grande do Zambujeiro, Cromlech, Arraiolos, Estremoz, Capela dos Ossos
Fabulous location. Walk out front door, turn left and you are in the old town with all of the sights that you want to see. Breakfast is sufficient: scrambled eggs, breads, dry cereals, canned fruit, hot beverages. I was on the 3rd floor with a room facing the sun rising over the very old church across the street. Long walk from the elevator, but no steps, and very quiet while i was there. TV very small with stations in Portuguese, French, German, and English. The English station [euronews] was on a 30 minute repeat loop. General misc. lights and and such not working, elevator floors not cleaned in the 5 days i was there. Staff very friendly and informative.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Oct 1, 2015
A mid range hotel that we really enjoyed. Wonderful pool. Good staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to old city of Evora, easy walk up the hill.

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Friendly & helpful staff, OK breakfast buffet, rooms dated, but clean and relatively comfy. But convenience to old town the main winner for this hotel. 3 stars.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wirral, UK

Close to Evora Old Town

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Good position
Cons: The bed
Location: Short walk to Old Town
Stayed for one night Hotel - good position - about 6 minutes to centre of old town Good pool Room old Bed somewhat uncomfortable
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Adelaide south australia.

One star too many.

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: We did have a nice big room, although it could have done with more light.
Cons: The whole hotel is in some need of refurbishment. Add mini bars, free wifi and general updating of its decor would help. It really is only a 2 star.
Location: Good location for visiting Evora, only 5 to 10 minutes walk to historic centre.
This was meant to be a 3star hotel, unfortunately it could not live up to this. Very tired looking swimming pool, with cracked tiles around the edge. Decor looks like it was introduced in the 70's. No mini bar and had to ask for a hair dryer. No free wifi, a big negative also.