Ratings based on 430 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 17, 2017
It was ok noisy bathroom fan running all night "family " room auite small but was ok for 1night
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from peterborough

Good facilities but lacking basics

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Nice bed and sky TV. Very dark room even with all lights on. No mirror on dressing table. Table at breakfast had loose legs and wobbled
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south wales

Not awful but could be a lot better

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Comfy beds, nice gardens, lively bar.
Cons: Time for some investment and improvement.
Location: Easy access from main roads but it's NOT in Chester.
Some parts of the hotel are lovely especially the gardens but some parts are tatty and need improving or refurbishing. We liked the bedroom with its colourful finish and character wall of stripes but there was a lot of wear visible and some unpleasant looking stains on the side if the bed. However the sheets and pillowcases seemed new and crisp. The bar area was nice and quite busy with lots of people who seemed to be non residents. They had an unfortunate problem on Sunday morning with lack of hot water for a few hours and although it was one of those things they could have dealt with it better and informed guests what was going on instead of waiting for people to turn up at reception to find out what was wrong. The reception staff seemed totally overwhelmed and unable to deal with complaints.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Looks nice but rooms especially bathroom needs updating
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Angelsey

not a very good exparience

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Cons: management control on checking things and listening to customer comments,
Location: good location
2 rooms booked toilet broke in one also cold shower second one badly cracked sink been there ages# having a shower tried to cool water and whole fitting came off in my hand, reception staff not really interested just said sorry not have you got burnt , or hurt where is health and safety in that Thia was a birthday present worse de vere hotel I have stayed at
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burscough

Lovely Hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Just booked 1 night stay here, me and my partner stayed in a club room, which was very spacious and clean. The grounds are lovely and an ideal place for a wedding. Breakfast was a lovely buffet style with plenty to choose from. We only had a coffee machine in the room so i rang reception for a kettle and they brought one immediately, even though they didn't supply these for the club rooms. Excellent staff and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable stay

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Friendly staff..excellent facilities. Good breakfast and spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belfast

Nice hotel - just needs a little face lift!

Posted Jun 7, 2017
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: The hotel needs a general face lift - a lot of the paint needs to be tidied up!
Location: We hired a car and travelled to Mold and Chester.
We stayed here for 2 nights and whilst I have marked scores above the hotel itself and the rooms could do with a face lift. We had a meal in the restaurant and I felt it was limited in choice and a little expensive for what we had to eat. The staff were all lovely and could not do enough for us during our stay. The hotel was in a good location as we were travelling to a wedding and then into Chester. I cannot comment on the leisure facilities as we did not use them but it would be helpful for guests staying if hair and make up could be done even by someone freelance as I had to sort an appointment in Chester.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Okay for a stop over

Posted May 30, 2017
Friendly staff, lovely room apart from shower, not great but worked (Room 140) shower head needs fixing and glass screen doesn't reach bath so water goes on the floor signs of damage on bath panel due to this. Breakfast was very good booked with room price, plenty to choose from. Restaurant evening meal was nice, limited selection and overpriced for what it was. Surrounding area not the best, buildings boarded up and looks abandoned. Quite a few teenagers using the starbucks facilities and hovering around in the courtyard area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2017
Bathroom had a smell off drains tolet seat was broken no hairdryer in room