Ratings based on 457 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Village Hotel Experiences

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: Loved the food at the restaurant, the room services and the fact that you had sky channels in your room.
Cons: The whole place inside could need some refurbishment, new furniture and a new interior design of the place especially with the restaurant.
Location: The location is lovely if you looking for a nice, peace and quite place to get away from and the town of chester city centre is near by for siteseeing
Great hotel excellent stuff and room service. The food service which can be either at the pub or restaurant is just amazing it deserves a 10 out of 10. However the hotel as a whole does need some refurbishment especially with its furniture and a new interior design within the inside. Other than that I had a wonderful experiences, it was great amazing.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Wales

Waste of money

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Check-in staff
Cons: Needs severely updating in areas and a deep clean, gym reception needs to be aware of guests staying at the hotel when on duty
Location: Chester Zoo and Cheshire Oaks
Check-in was efficient which was a plus point, on entering the lift you could clearly see it needed good clean and new carpet. Our room was on the upper deck and was informed on check-in we had been given a Club Room, the room even in daylight looked dismal. There are only 2 tiny drawers to put anything in, no light in the wardrobe to see what your doing as that area of the room is so dark plus there are only 4 hangers for 2 people. We were supposed to have a Tassimo coffee machine which never appeared, continuesly having to ask for tea, milk and sugar as only enough for 1 cup was left in the room. The bathroom door had a hole punched in it and had drink thrown up the back of it and was still visible, there was mould on the windows and the windowsill was hanging off. The Village Hotel has a gym linked to it, you have to pass the gym reception to get to the lift or stairs on three occasions we overheard staff members swearing loudly and slagging off people. The breakfast is really not worth it as the eggs looked like they had been cooked for ages and the yolks had gone hard, not a brilliant choice for the price you pay. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and wouldn't stay again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from merseyside

Nice hotel room dark needed more light

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Nice hotel 3 out of 5 stayed one night as was at a wedding
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coventry

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Nice hotel.clean and tidy.huge room just missing a fridge. Big tv all channels and good food places to eat
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

Chose because of the Village brand, wouldn't retur

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pillows in the room smelled, room was stuffy, hotel layout is muddled and not well signposted inside, restaurant is way over-priced, without the food to match. Some of the staff were friendly and appproachable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Eastern Norfolk Coast

Very comfortable, busy, well used local place..

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Staff very accommodating.
Cons: Could do with a bit of a spruçe up after a busy summer.
Location: a perfect position for access to Manchester, Cheshire, Wales and the Peaks, and the lakes.
An ideal stay for 2 nights for my granddaughters wedding nearby. Staff made us very welcome, great ambiance, busy but good for us people watching oldies. Very well positioned ground floor room over looking courtyard. Thank you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Skelmersdale

Good for the price. Close to the A55.

Posted Aug 30, 2017
With the room you get what you pay for. The reception staff are brilliant!! We had a medical problem and the two ladies on reception could not have done any more without driving us to the local community hospital! They are a credit to the hotel and would be to any other hotel. The breakfast was fine and served for plenty of time with plenty of warning when it was about to end. All in all it was a good experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wiltshire

Noisy and tired

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Our room was very tired needs updating. To many fussy colours on wall and extremely dingy in room. Wedding taking place was very noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Great location for visit to Chester.

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Room 135 needed a bit of TLC. Breakfast was outstanding . Would gladly stay again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

A few problems that shouldn't have happened...

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Comfortable room
Cons: Card key system and check in Gym locker room very dark, not well signed
Location: Chester zoo, Cinema Chester city centre All within 15-20 minutes drive
Checking in could have been a quick experience as it was supposed to be self check in, but after deveral attempts of the system hanging up I had to ask one of the two receptionists to help. Got back to the hotel after a day out and the key card stopped working, so I went to reception to sort it out and they asked if I'd had it next to my phone as apparently that resets or disrupts the card. That night someone woke us up by taking a long time and making several attempts to get into our room, it was quite an unwelcome surprise when they succeeded. Then the next morning my card key stopped working again even though it had been nowhere near my phone - having learnt that lesson. Really don't rate the card key system. I don't think the guy was checking in, but he shouldn't have been able to get in after so many attempts. Other than that, the room was comfortable, had the little we needed - hair drier, shower, although we did have to ask for the already low tea and coffee supplies to be topped up as no-one came to tidy the room when we were out. We used the swimming pool, which was sufficient for a quick dip to get wet but not much more - which was fine for us. Didn't use the restaurant, so can't comment on that, but the bar seemed popular and had a good range of drinks, as you'd expect.