Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Lisbon

Nice, basic hotel in a cool area

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Staff, bathroom, location, beds
Cons: Nothing, it was good
Location: Great bars and eateries nearby
We had a great stay at the Dryades - we stayed in the budget room and though it was small, it was clean and fine for our needs as we went out to eat. Staff are very helpful and friendly. Would stay again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Main light wasnt working. We ended up being sent to hotel next door which is apparently part of the dryades as well (Orion) but the room wasnt great. As said the ceiling light was not working. Otherwise it was alright.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great experience!

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Located in neighborhood with loads of character, staying at this hotel was pleasant experience. The staff is terrific, especially the very knowledgeable and helpful Nikos. The breakfast was fabulous. If we ever come back to Athens, we will return to hotel.
5 out of 5
by CHRIS

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Hotels
As always very satisfied with my stay at Dryades. Convenient location to city center in a nice area.
3 out of 5
by Barbara

Nice on the inside, great price

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
The welcome and help from the reception was great. The room was perfectly nice. There are lots of local restaurants that are very good. The only problem is the outside approach. It is very littered and full of grafitti and makes the whole area look bad. That being said, it seemed safe enough walking around, with university students and locals, and the room was just fine. It's a shame the locals litter and it's a shame the city doesn't do more to pick up trash.
5 out of 5
by JATIN

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
It was great..the hotel is cute and rooms are very spacious...but the best part is the staff is very friendly and helpful...thanks nikos for all that helpful advice .. and breakfasf at the rooftop is lovely...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location and staff!

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Costas, the manager,will make a fuss of you - and Joanna will make your breakfast experience on the terrace an unforgettable experience. She's great!
Cons: The lift is old - but still functions!
Location: Strefii Hill - Lofos Strefi; great walks. The Kallidromiou street market.
If you are looking for a quiet hotel away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Athens, the Dryades/Orion isthe place for you. Very peaceful on the Strefi Hill (nice taverna there, open weekends mainly), and some of the staff have been there since we started going there over 40 years ago. It has had various upgrades over the year and is now very comfortable and always clean. More facilities than you would normally get at this class of hotel, The breakfast on the terrace, thanks to Joanna, is brilliant, with the best view in Athens!
5 out of 5
by Marco

Great hotel in a funky/ cool neighborhood

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
For me this place couldn't have been better. I loved the neighborhood. It's an alternative neighborhood with rock and roll record stores and bars, little cafes, book stores, obviously not a tourist area but everyone was friendly. Don't be put off by grittiness. I really enjoyed it and felt perfectly comfortable. There is a farmers market on the street below the hotel on Saturday. Several small but adequate grocery stores near by. It's about a ten minute walk to the nearest metro, once there you have access to the entire city. It is all up hill back to the hotel but because of this my room had a nice view of the city. I could see the Parthenon from my room and on a clear day the sea as well. For the price. I'm not sure you can beat this little hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hospitable value hotel in charming Exarchia

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
While this hotel may not be for everyone, I found it to be ideal for my needs. Staying in Exarchia was an awesome experience. I loved the colorful neighborhood,(graffiti everywhere), and I felt safe enough walking around as a woman alone, (one should always you caution, of course). It was a great opportunity to stay where many tourist do not go, yet I could easily get to the metro and all of the tourist places easily. My room was rather small, but I had a view of the park and it was a great value. The hotel staff was friendly, extremely accommodating and helpful. There are many cheaper ways to get a breakfast, but I highly recommend the 6 euro breakfast on the rooftop. The view is amazing and you can eat like a king! Many other reviews complain about the hill, but how else do you not feel guilty about eating tons of feta cheese and drinking Greek wine?!? It was really not that bad, (and I carried my luggage). Overall, I had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by Briana from New Jersey

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Room for 4 people was beautiful with a loft and view of the Parthenon!