Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Main light wasnt working. We ended up being sent to hotel next door which is apparently part of the dryades as well (Orion) but the room wasnt great. As said the ceiling light was not working. Otherwise it was alright.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Great experience!

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Located in neighborhood with loads of character, staying at this hotel was pleasant experience. The staff is terrific, especially the very knowledgeable and helpful Nikos. The breakfast was fabulous. If we ever come back to Athens, we will return to hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great location and staff!

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Costas, the manager,will make a fuss of you - and Joanna will make your breakfast experience on the terrace an unforgettable experience. She's great!
Cons: The lift is old - but still functions!
Location: Strefii Hill - Lofos Strefi; great walks. The Kallidromiou street market.
If you are looking for a quiet hotel away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Athens, the Dryades/Orion isthe place for you. Very peaceful on the Strefi Hill (nice taverna there, open weekends mainly), and some of the staff have been there since we started going there over 40 years ago. It has had various upgrades over the year and is now very comfortable and always clean. More facilities than you would normally get at this class of hotel, The breakfast on the terrace, thanks to Joanna, is brilliant, with the best view in Athens!
5 out of 5
by Marco

Great hotel in a funky/ cool neighborhood

Posted Jan 8, 2017 on Hotels
For me this place couldn't have been better. I loved the neighborhood. It's an alternative neighborhood with rock and roll record stores and bars, little cafes, book stores, obviously not a tourist area but everyone was friendly. Don't be put off by grittiness. I really enjoyed it and felt perfectly comfortable. There is a farmers market on the street below the hotel on Saturday. Several small but adequate grocery stores near by. It's about a ten minute walk to the nearest metro, once there you have access to the entire city. It is all up hill back to the hotel but because of this my room had a nice view of the city. I could see the Parthenon from my room and on a clear day the sea as well. For the price. I'm not sure you can beat this little hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hospitable value hotel in charming Exarchia

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
While this hotel may not be for everyone, I found it to be ideal for my needs. Staying in Exarchia was an awesome experience. I loved the colorful neighborhood,(graffiti everywhere), and I felt safe enough walking around as a woman alone, (one should always you caution, of course). It was a great opportunity to stay where many tourist do not go, yet I could easily get to the metro and all of the tourist places easily. My room was rather small, but I had a view of the park and it was a great value. The hotel staff was friendly, extremely accommodating and helpful. There are many cheaper ways to get a breakfast, but I highly recommend the 6 euro breakfast on the rooftop. The view is amazing and you can eat like a king! Many other reviews complain about the hill, but how else do you not feel guilty about eating tons of feta cheese and drinking Greek wine?!? It was really not that bad, (and I carried my luggage). Overall, I had a great stay and would highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
by Briana from New Jersey

Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
Room for 4 people was beautiful with a loft and view of the Parthenon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Massachusetts, USA

Nice room in a quiet location next to wooded park.

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Our host, Dimitri, carried our heavy duffelbags like they weighed nothing at all down a stairway, through a locked gate to a sunny patio area where our room was. It was very tidy and clean with pictures on the walls, a small refridgerator and a coffee brewer with cups, saucers, spoons, sugar and teabags. The bathroom had a full shower and curtain although the shower fixture was different than others we had seen in Europe and hard to adjust and figure out at first. We did not yru the breakfast buffet but the menu looked extensive. We did take our dinner up to the Orion's cafeteria deck with the gorgeous view of the entire city and the Aropolice. The Orion also provided potable filtered water for drinking since the water in all the rooms and perhaps all of Athens, is not fit to drink.
5 out of 5
by Martin from Cambridge, MA

Cool hotel in hip neighborhood

Posted Sep 19, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel staff was super nice and helpful. Stunning view from roof terrace. Great tavernas in the area - perfect place to stay in Athens as long as you can handle walking the hills.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 7, 2015
This hotel is run by friendly helpful people. Beautiful view from the breakfast area, and good eating places nearby. Very comfortable, we would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by Laura

Dryades Hotel, Athens

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Very pleasant hotel! Clean, nicely furnished, good location, little traffic, nice staff.