Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

2.7 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Deborah

One nighter

Posted Aug 29, 2015 on Hotels
It was an ok hotel. Nothing special. We only stayed for one night, before we flew out the next day for Santorini. It's a few blocks away from the metro station. If you don't mind walking and rolling your bag it's not that bad. For a one night layover it wasn't too bad and the price was right.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Good for quick stay in Athens

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The hotel could be updated, the rooms look decades old.
Location: Major sights are a short cab ride away!
The hotel appears a bit sketchy, but you know if you just need a convenient place to stay for the major sights of Athens, this place is great. Do not expect amazing, but for the price it works.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by James F. from USA

Stay in Athens

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
Was OK. Came in at 1am wanted a drink but had to go out searching to find. Hotel was OK but think was a lovers hotel for a few hours stay as had red carpets, mirrors, etc. But overall not a bad stay
4 out of 5
by cyp from Cyprus

Good

Posted Oct 9, 2014 on Hotels
Good proce
2 out of 5
by Frank from New Zealand - Waikato

Posted Sep 30, 2014 on Wotif
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Everything, worst hotel we have ever stayed in
Location: Too isolated, Too noisy, awful areahard to find
Facilities: Shabby, Horrible, Run-down, badly maintained broken ; Value: Rip-off, misrepresentednot 3 star; Service: Inoffensive, Polite, adequate; Cleanliness: Smelly, Grubby, cigarette burns on carpet; hard lumpy bed & pillow, ad said 3* but barely 1*, filthy carpet/drapes,broken lamps & shower,no shower curtain,no blanket. sheets were clean though
3 out of 5
by 6thcenturycapitals from philadelphia

Very average with semi-pornographic art

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels
I booked the Proteas as a last minute stay, based on its location on Alexandras in the Exarcheia neighborhood. They had 24 hr reception, friendly staff, and reasonable prices. My room, on the fifth floor, was equipped with mirrors on three walls and an acrylic print of a very busty blond woman. It was, nevertheless, quite clean. However, the bed was not necessarily as comfortable as one might have expected in the circumstances. I also had a very large balcony -- probably twice the size of the room. Wifi was fine.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unacceptable conditions

Posted Jul 3, 2014
It is not as presented in the images with dirty carpets and smelly rooms
1 out of 5
by Luise

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by CN from London

It is OK but not great.

Posted Feb 18, 2013
Pros: Internet connection
Cons: Heating not working.
Location: I thought it was a bit of walking from main road.
Proteas Hotel was very basic and just OK hotel. It is good enough for the price. They have a great internet connection in a room. The heating was not working so it was a bit cold.