Ratings based on 673 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Took the chance of staying here without knowing anything about it and it was fantastic! So much history at this famous hotel. Probably the best BBQ shack I have ever ate at is 100yards away. Phenomenal indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs. Really enjoyed The Elms!!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Scenic Hotel Experience

Posted Aug 28, 2017
The outdoor pool has trees and flower beds all around, it's clean, and in the evening and on weekfends the poolside bar staff was friendly and quick with poolside drinks. The lap pool is so serene. The rooms are designed with elegance, comfort, and they still keep the quaint reminders of the age of the hotel. Dining room served delicious food. All employees were friendly and helpful. Great hotel if you want more than just a place to sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Des Moines, Ia

nice old hotel

Posted Aug 25, 2017
Pros: the decor was very nice, cozy
Cons: could not find anything that could be improved on
Location: hotel was close to downtown excelsior springs however, there wasn't anything to do there..... many shops were long since closed.
arrived late afternoon/early evening, surprised to find free valet parking
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Little Rock, Ar

Can be really nice with some work

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Cons: The hotel would be wonderful with more staff (I was told the maintenance men kept the grounds), landscaping weeded and maintained, some remodeling.
Location: The town is struggling to survive. Downtown was closed Monday and until noon on Tuesday (save for 3 businesses)
We got to the hotel at 4:30 and were told the rooms were being inspected). We came back at 5:30, and were told the same. The receptionist gave us a free drink at the bar while we waited. When we finally got to the room, there were crumbs on the floor, the carpet was severely stained, there was food in the refrigerator, and the bed linens were so wrinkled, I wondered if they had been changed. The view from our second floor room was the rooftop of another building. They gave us another room on the third floor that was satisfactory. Although our view was another rooftop, we could see beyond the pool to the woods and a nice gazebo. The hotel seems to be struggling. The cafe was only open until noon. It served coffee, specialty coffees, a few pastries with a very small selection, and bottled juices even though there was a convention at the hotel. There were desserts and other things in the cooler which lead me to believe they were open longer hours on the weekend. The Tavern, a second smaller bar, was only open Thurs.-Sat. The hotel did have a main dining room and bar which was open all day. We ate breakfast one morning and had dinner there at the 88 and the food was wonderful. The Spa at the Elms, which has been remodeled, is top notch and I would recommend it to everyone. The hotel overall is very clean but the landscaping had not been weeded in quite some time. The pool was very nice and had poolside service. The staff is very friendly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Don't let the name fool you

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: Indoor pool. Staff was nice.
Cons: Get rid of the ceiling mounted air conditioning and have a quieter one installed in rooms. Update rooms to more modern accommodations.
Stayed at the Elms for 3 days/2 nights. First, the room we stayed in was tiny. Had 2 queen beds but hardly any room to move around. Second, no drawer space to put clothes. We had to use our suitcases as drawers so it took up space and the room was small. Third, the bathroom just like the room was extremely tiny. Toilet, sink, and shower crammed into a closet sized space and on top of the because of the shower layout, the floor was always wet around the toilet and sink. I could almost shower while sitting on the toilet. And fourth, the air conditioning unit was on the ceiling due to lack of space to have it on the floor. The sound of the a/c was so loud, it was uncomfortable and made it difficult to sleep in the room. The rest of the hotel was nice and the staff was friendly. I wouldn't recommend getting any caffeinated drinks from the cafe downstairs, the taste was horrible. Overall, we didn't enjoy ourselves and couldn't wait to get back on the road.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Buffalo, NY

Half hour from KC

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The idea of having a beautiful indoor and outdoor pool was inviting. The "upgrade" did allow us to meet Deby who was wonderful hosting the happy hours
Cons: For hrs at a time there would be no towels at either pool. Some carpets (on stairs) were disgusting. Tiles falling apart in hot tub. LOUDEST A/C EVER!
While it was cool to stay at a hotel built in the 1800's and with presidential history, this place needs to step up its' game in a number of areas. I feel like - having read many of these reviews before - that there truly is a bias against Expedia customers. e.g When they tell you you are being upgraded, only to find out it's behind the elevator.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Loved it it was a very nice quiet hotel with old time charm
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Going downhill

Posted Aug 23, 2017
I have stayed at the Elms almost every year for the past 10 years after I volunteer as a nurse at Camp Quality, a camp for kids with cancer. This year was disappointing. Room did not get cleaned without calling the front desk late in the day. Service in the restaurant was very slow. I will not make this a tradition again. Sad to see this hotel get so bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lincoln NE

Relax and Enjoy !!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The SPA was 1st class !
Cons: More history of the hotel should be on display
Location: Great BBQ place just 1 block away.....
The Spa is the first thing you must check out when staying here ! GREAT Spa choices !! Excellent staff and care is given. The room was nice....GREAT memory foam beds !! Pool was relaxing and fun to go down to and enjoy. We will definitely stay here again !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from The Colony, TX

An unexpected surprise

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Beautiful inside and out. Great pool area with bar. Amazing staff. Thanks Debbie for the great time on the 5 th floor VIP area. Can't wait to get back!!