Ratings based on 643 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Posted Aug 18, 2017
We love The Elms! It is such a great place to get away without having to go too far. Staff is great, rooms are clean. Pool area is so relaxing! Will always continue to come back. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from jonesboro, Ar

Great historical building

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Everything was perfect except for a few minor issues. I love the pool furniture and the food at the 88
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warsaw, IL

Awesome hotel and surroundings!

Posted Aug 12, 2017
Pros: It was unlike any chain hotel we usually stay at with it's beautiful surroundings!
Cons: Some of the carpeting and things are dated but it still was very well kept!
Location: The location was beautiful a must see is the Hall of Waters bath house located just a few blocks away. We found the attractions were only 30 min away
We stayed four nights at the Elms and once we were there we found ourselves not wanting to leave! It's setting is so beautiful and you don't have the hussle and bussle of a chain hotel. It's beautiful pool and surrounding area is like you are in another country! Two nights we found ourselves just hanging out by the pool with my 7 year old and 3 year old swimming, relaxing in the hot tub and enjoying their outdoor fire pit! We had food ordered in just so we didn't have to leave! I would recommend this hotel to anyone!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boone IA

Historic

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Spa was amazing!
Cons: More direct route to indoor pool
Location: BBQ place down the road. The hotel was located in a residential small suburb and there wasn't much to do in Excelsior Springs.
The hotel felt historic, yet updated. The restaurant was a little over-priced and the indoor pool was really difficult to get to, but overall we had a good time. The hotel felt like it was intentional about keeping you there for your entire stay - there really wasn't a need to leave the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Very nice resort. Would stay again. Very clean and nice, my family loved it. Very quiet on week nights, a little busier on the weekend. 5 stars awesome staff and facility.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Celebrating my granddaughter's 14th birthday.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Loved the history and location of the hotel. It is on the historical register. It is charming.
My granddaughter chose The Elms as we had been through Excelsior Springs and toured the hotel. The hotel is charming. The grounds around the hotel are manicured and there are walkways to stroll. We did not use the pool but it was well maintained and several families were enjoying the water. The room was spacious and clean and there were all the ammenities we expected in a first class hotel. The hotel is only 20-30 minutes from a popular shopping mall. There is also a cafe and restaurant on site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel - perfect for couples getaways!

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Went for a couple of days on our honeymoon trip. The hotel and spa staff was amazing. They were so intuitive to our needs and went out of their way to make our honeymoon trip special. We had an amazing time and plan to go back for anniversaries in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Loved the Spa. Had a great massage. Lovely people. Beautiful pool. Great staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pinckney, MI

Charming Historic Hotel - With Inconveniences

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: I liked the historic nature of the hotel, and the fact that the history was provided. Additionally, the dining experience, outdoor pool, and grounds.
Cons: When guests are inconveniences, such as having to valet park because of limited parking, or wait for a room, guests should be compensated..
Location: Fascinating local history and wine; The Hall of Waters, Watkins Mill, and vineyards.
We arrived at the Elms at approximately 4:30 pm on Saturday, July 15th., after driving for 11 hours. The parking lot was full due to a wedding. We had to to valet park at our expense. Although it was past check in time, our room was not ready. We were instructed by the front desk that we could go hang out at the pool and they would call us when the room was ready. I felt they sort of dismissed us and the whole issue without much apology. We went to the pool, and there were no oolside seating available. We went to the poolside bar to get a drink. They did not have white wine, only barefoot wines in cans, a poor selection at that. After 30 or 40 min, we received a call that our room was ready. After the long trip, the wait, and the poor wine selection, I was irritated. The small elevator was inadequate for a hotel that size and the luggage cart was tight. Our room was lovely, although the walls must have been thin because we frequently heard the beeping of a service elevator, or the snoring/coughing of other guests. I received an email from Expedia about check in. When I responded about the wait, the hotel promptly responded, and offered us two free drink tickets. The outdoor pool and grounds area were lovely. I can not speak highly enough of the dining room and wait staff. I would say that the indoor pool area looked like it needed to be cleaned, as we saw a lot of sand and dirt in the water. Overall, we truly enjoyed our stay despite inconveniences.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Flor, Hotel Management
We are happy you stayed with us and apologize for any challenges you experienced when you arrive. There is no charge for Valet parking so we are a bit confused about the comment "at your expense" I want to make sure you were not charged for this complimentary amenity and would love to hear from you again in the future... Elms Staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historical place to visit

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The staff was great. Definitely visit tje spa it was amazing