Ratings based on 624 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historical place to visit

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The staff was great. Definitely visit tje spa it was amazing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bellevue NE

Solid Hotel but not grand

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: The quiet and a cool pool on a hot day!
Cons: Include additional options to access the grotto. The grotto makes the stay but at $210 for 4 and only if space is available.
Location: close to kc
Trash truck woke us up between 7:00 and 7:30 AM. Beds tall and mushy. Must use the spa to gain access to the Grotto :(. Pool was nice but needed skimmed. Not up to our previous stay 24 years ago.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Room was not as clean as expected.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location and ambience
Cons: cleanliness and update of rooms and beds
It was a good location and a cool older hotel with lots of history.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Staff and service was good but the hotel itself was very disappointing. Hotel is old and not very well maintained. Rooms are in need of refresh as the carpets, walls, and furniture need replacement or update. Hotel in general had a musty smell. The restaurant food was very good, but pricey. The hotel was difficult to get to and there wasn't any other things to do nearby,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lawrence, KS

Spa Getaway

Posted Jul 6, 2017
We love the Elms and we go once a year at least. This time we booked on Expedia and when we checked in we asked for a quiet room overlooking the back grounds. Instead they gave us a loud room next to the elevator overlooking the air conditioning unit. I can't help but think it's because we never pled with Expedia. The outdoor hot tub was very dirty and even tho the pool was full of guests there were no towels put out for us and we had to go down and find our own in a bin at the bottom of the stairs. Not cool when we are paying good money to stay there and for our spa treatments. Seems like the service is going down hill. The restaurant isn't as good as it once was either, please put the regular salmon back on the menu!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bella Vista, AR

Beautifully restored classic spa hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2017
This hotel is very special, and beautifully restored to the grandure of the days when presidents and Al Capone would visit it. The multiple pools and hot tubs are beautiful. Great fitness center too. We enjoyed the main restaurant 2 nights in a row - the food was so good with many special touches and great waiters. We did not use the spa but it too looked special. This hotel is a great retreat place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dewey ok

Nice hotel. Beautiful setting

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Impressed with massive exterior. Beautiful pool with great pool bar, music and lots of Loungers. We loved the breakfast buffet with cooked to order omlets. I will be back for seconds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 5, 2017
Love our home town hotel!!! It really is a beautiful hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quaint & peaceful

Posted Jul 3, 2017
This historic hotel is quiet with bea utiful grounds. We lived the spa and the lap pool. The down town has nice antique shopping and dining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Epworth, Iowa

Hotel with character

Posted Jul 1, 2017
The Elms made you feel like you were stepping back in time. It has modern amenities yet keeps the feel of the past. The pool area and surrounding garden area are beautiful. It would be a gorgeous place to have a wedding.