Ratings based on 726 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, Mo

We were glad to be there.

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff, comfortable nice small room, Hotel is 125 years old. King size bed was so soft and so relaxing and we slept great.
Cons: yes, please have some newspapers on site. Driving out to get newspapers is a hassle for me and some newspaper machines at gas stations don't work.
Location: We did some shopping at downtown and they have many different things there. We had a good time going to stores.
great experiences with the hotel & friendly and helpful staff. The lobby desk was very helpful with any questions or concerns we may have. The restaurant foods was excellent. We rated our experiences there a 5 stars!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good stay.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Very classy stay. Our son and new daaughter-in-law stay one night in the hotel and they were given a wonderful room also.
Cons: Check the heater for noise and offer a lower prise alternative for meals.
Location: We there for a wedding so did not do any sight seeing.
Everything was good. The only thing was the heater was on the loud side and meal for dinner was price above our budget, but in line for the hotel prices. Hotel staff were excellent and stay was wondergul.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Lovely setting for events, but overrated

Posted Nov 19, 2017
Pros: Stately historic hotel with lovely grounds in small town. Beautiful fireplace room for wedding & reception with attentive servers, good food.
Cons: Provide housekeeping staff with carts for restocking supplies & transporting trash. Clarify with desk staff airport shuttle fees: $50/trip vs $50 pp
Location: Interesting small town & nice walking trails nearby. Stores, parks in short driving distance.
I stayed at The Elms on a weekend for a wedding and reception. While The Elms is a beautiful historic hotel, I were disappointed in the nonchalance of the front desk staff, very slow service at breakfast on Saturday morning, cold hotel room (heat was difficult to maintain) and the inefficient but friendly housekeeping staff. The worker had to walk all the way to the other end of the hall to a supply closet, and did so willingly, for items requested for the room, such as extra washcloths and coffee cups. No carts for supplies and trash?? I noticed housekeeping staff dragging a large awkward garbage bag down the hall; fortunately it didn't leak on the lovely carpet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KC

Great Girl's Night!

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pros: Enjoyed the vintage feel and quaint atmosphere.
My two girlfriends and I decided to do a 'girl's night' at The Elms - we had a great time. Hotel staff were very pleasant, our room was very comfy, and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Flor, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We look forward to seeing you again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Pleasant staff, good food . Interesting history. Would return for another visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Flor, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
I called ahead and was able to get early check in. The check in was fast. The room was mostly clean however the bench was dirty and the desk was dusty. The room was cool and it was very cold out side. However the room was comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Flor, Hotel Management
I am so sorry to hear about your experience with the room! We appreciate your feedback and we will work on this aspect!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Nice but lacking in some areas

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Nice rooms and neat old building.
Cons: Bar service and maintenance on pool equipment.
Hoping this will help the hotel get better. What a nice place but we had a few issues. We arrived at around 9:00 PM on a Thursday night - checked in and went to the bar to relax and have a couple drinks. The bartender saw us come in and sit down at the bar and went to the kitchen area for 5-10 minutes before coming out to take our order. Made us two drinks and disappeared for 20 minutes. I was thirsty so the first beer went down quickly and I waited a good 10 minutes to order my second. Finally came back and served me a second beer. I waited again another 5-10 minutes and was ready for my 3rd and probably last beer and was told sorry we close at 10:00. No last call, no warning, wouldn't even sell us a beer or two to take to our room. Not friendly at all. The whole time there were dirty dishes at a table behind us (that a waiter walked by around 10 times) and there were around 20 dirty drink glasses next to us. Never in my life have I not left a tip but I didn't leave one on that one. The only other complaint was that the hot tub was not working - was hot water but the jets were not on and I turned the timer button several times and nothing. I suppose I could have told someone but I was ready to move on to another hotel anyway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Flor , Hotel Management
I'm so sorry about your experience with the bartender! It's unfortunate that the jets were not working properly. Always feel free to let the Front Desk Staff know of your concerns as we can always look at options to improve your stay so that you don't leave unhappy. Please come back and visit us so that we can make it right for you!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 13, 2017
The room was clean and comfortable. The spa was amazing...spent the entire day relaxing in the grotto.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2017 by Flor , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad that you had enjoyed the spa facilities and your room. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Very relaxing stay. Food was great at the restaurant. Staff was so kind. Very good restaurant and amenities. Spa and pools were wonderful. Will probably make a trip back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from kcmo

A nice getaway with a couple complications

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Comfort.
Cons: Would have liked a warning about the drunken parties under our window.
Location: Nice shops down the way. BBQ joint within walking distance.
For all of the comfort and ammentities, we feel like we should warn you - definitely some party people may disrupt your relaxation. And lots of unsupervised children screaming. Frankly, for the price we paid for the room, the spa and the restaurant, it would be nice to not have to shout over the noise to be heard by your partner.