Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Location. Room facilities.
Cons: Creaky floorboards. Sound-proofing - could hear TV and floor boards from neighbouring room.
Location: Powderham Castle is a lovely place to visit.
Very pleasant room with good facilities - kettle, fridge, hair dryer - even a few novels. Convenient location for visiting Powderham Castle, Dawlish & Teignmouth area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from measham

Great hotel room

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Great room nice and clean and fresh felt more like a home than a hotel , nice amount of space in room wish I'd had more time to perhaps of tried the food
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Lovely staff and restaurant, but hotel is basic

Posted Sep 13, 2017
Pros: The room price and staff
Cons: Bedside lighting, bed mattress, NOISY FLOORBOARDS, cost of breakfast, table to put your bags on.
Location: Good location for Exeter and Dawlish etc. Nearby shop and PO where you can draw cash with a CC etc
I arrived at 3-30 but could not get in to the hotel until 4pm as they close on Monday and Tuesday! Lovely staff and good albeit a bit expensive Chinese restaurant. Noise from the road is not much of a problem, but the creeking of the floorboards at night is a real pain. I was woken early every morning by people moving about etc!! I'll say no more on that!! Even the wardrobe was shaking!!! The bed mattress was sadly a cheap one that made it somewhat uncomfortable. One of my BIG bugbears is the poor lighting by the bed so you can't read in bed, and this hotel has VERY poor bedside lighting. Impossible to read by it. The room was clean and the shower etc were fine albeit not posh! WiFi was good but there is NO mobile signal although this is a common problem in Devon! Exeter is not far away, as is Dawlish etc. There is a small shop and PO across the road where you can draw cash at the PO counter, and they have daily papers and sandwiches etc. The room prices are quite low but breakfast is far too expensive (over £9!) with no option for a cheaper one! There is a good car park, but access is by way of a very narrow entrance! Don't think you will get a mini bus in! Not sure I would stay there again due to the noise at night!! There is another restaurant nearby, but this is VERY expensive.
4 out of 5
by Keith

Posted Aug 18, 2017 on Hotels
For business so quick stop
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Clean comfortable room, really helpful and friendly staff, and the most delicious food in the restaurant. Would highly recommend
5 out of 5
by Gary

Lovely stay

Posted Jul 1, 2017 on Hotels
On arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome. Made to feel at home. Shown immediately to our room and had everything explained perfectly to us. We decided to eat in the restaurant and the food, service and ambience was first class.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne

Quaint place

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Service and food
Cons: Coat of paint to brighten the room.
Location: Powderham Castle great place to visit - short distance away.
Value for money. Room a bit dated. Customer service excellent. Food presentation excellent and beautifully cooked. Great garden and well manicured. No issues at all.
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Wonderful

Posted Jun 5, 2017 on Hotels
I loved Chi rooms. Fabulous accomodation amd charming hosts.
5 out of 5
by Melissa

Excellent accomodation

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent would highly recommend
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels