Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic hotel, full of charm

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Everything and the staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Perfect little New England town, downtown area and beach is close by.
Excellent staff, awesome setting, historic building converted into a hotel. The receptionist was fantastic. The rooms are "cozy", but I would definitely stay here over a chain hotel. The backyard patio and downstairs bar/restaurant were very nice, there was even live acoustic guitar which was not loud and overbearing. Very nice place and a nice town. The maid service leaves you gourmet cookies on the nightstand after cleaning your room too which I must say, were absolutely delicious. Ask for the white chocolate cookies, they were my favorite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Older Decent Hotel with Dated Amenities

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Some old charm and ambiance but it needs an update.
Cons: The Exeter Inn needs to pay attention to maintenance. The back roof is missing tiles and the rain is coming in!!
Overall very good if priced right but rooms are small; do not overpay. The TV quality was awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 28, 2017 by Thomas DeSisto, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for choosing the Exeter Inn and Epoch Restaurant & Bar! We value your feedback and look forward to hosting you again!
5 out of 5
by Paul

Warm and Friendly

Posted Apr 15, 2017 on Hotels
The location was great, the hotel was very well taken care of and the staff was excellent. With one exception the amenities were above board. However the room did not have a refrigerator, this was a problem when it came to keeping our medications cool. However we "macgyvered" a fix using the ice bucket so no harm in the end.
5 out of 5
by Jeffrey

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Stay, Great Location

Posted Jan 25, 2017 on Hotels
Very enjoyable. Staff was very helpful and kind, and the location to downtown and the Academy was first rate.
1 out of 5
by Doris

Drafty Inn

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
I would not stay here again. The room was too small. The remote to the TV did not work and we asked to get it fixed, they said the guy who fixes the remote only works Monday thru Friday, had to turn the TV manually. There was mold on the bathroom wall, dirty mirrors and phone. The draft from the windows were bad, I had to put pillows in the window to block the draft. The next morning they put the pillows back on the bed, they looked dirty and worn. The hinge was coming off the door and batbroom tiles were cracked. I would not stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean and charming

Posted Jan 6, 2017 on Hotels
I was here for a NYE wedding and was very impressed with the event and the service overall. Cindy at the front desk is one of the nicest people I've ever encountered at a hotel. She even came up to light our fireplace and chat with us to make sure we had everything we needed during our stay. The rooms were clean and easily accessed by stairs or elevator. The restaurant downstairs, Epoch, was great and reasonably priced. My only complaint is that the path out back to the parking lot was super icy and didn't seem to be treated with salt or anything. If that's the suggested entrance and parking area, it should be made as safe as possible. Overall, a great time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Room was dusty. Nice hotel, good restaurant. Snow removal was prompt. Check in service was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel, microscopic room

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
We have stayed at the Exeter Inn many times and in general highly recommend it. However, the room we received on this stay was extraordinarily small. There was not even room for night tables next to the bed. In the future, we will make sure to specify a larger room when we book. Other than room size, the Inn was excellent as always. I also highly recommend Epoch, the hotel's restaurant for both breakfast and dinner.