Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Room was dusty. Nice hotel, good restaurant. Snow removal was prompt. Check in service was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

our stay at the Exeter

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Cindy the concierge was delightful. Our room was bright and cheerful and the close by Lobby a great place to sit and read and have coffee and cookies. Lunch st Epoch was delicious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Thomas, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Jamestown, Rhode Island

Inn is conveniently located to town.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: The Inn is close to town. If you want to not leave the Inn, there is a nice restaurant and bar available. The bed in the room was very comfortable.
Cons: The bathroom 1/2 shower divider sprayed water all over the floor and sink.
Location: The Inn is within 30 minutes to Hampton Beach, Portsmouth or University of New Hampshire and almost adjacent to the Phillips Exeter Academy.
The Inn is within easy walking distance to the quaint town of Exeter (about a half mile). It is a very safe and lovely walk.The shops in town are fun and varied. Several great restaurants to select. Try the Green Bean on Water, or 11 Water Street for dinner. Then there is Me and Ollie's Bakery and Cafe for breakfast. The bar at the Exeter Inn has 5 O'Clock specials which are nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bradenton, florida

Quaint New England town

Posted Sep 21, 2016
A wonderful place to comfortably stay , and walk a lovely town rich in American history. Especially enjoyed walking the Philips academy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Nice hotel near downtown Exeter

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Very nice hotel built around 1930 by Exeter Academy. Quaint looks, very nice restaurant called Epoch. Would have been nice to have a refrigerator--the armoire in the room had space for it. No ice bucket, either. Bed was comfortable, shower had good pressure.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel, nice bar for after dinner drink

Posted Aug 2, 2016
It was a welcome oasis away from the chaos and crowds in Hampton beach. The room was clean and nicely decorated but very small, the bathroom even smaller, difficult to close the door behind you in the bathroom. The hotel was built in the 30s so lots of charm, but it is showing it's many years, woodwork beat up etc.. But still nice place to stay overnight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ny, ny

1 night in Exeter

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The room, food and convenience. Definitely eat at the resturant
Cons: a smaller desk and chipping paint on ceiling in bathroom
Location: I came from a festival a only 15 min away. Cute town center and water walk
The hotel was lovely, the food was great and the majority of the staff was wonderful. The rooms were great except that the room I was in was small which wouldn't have been a problem except I kept hitting my leg on the corner of the desk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Visiting PEA

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Pros: I loved the comfort of the bed and the friendliness of the staff.
Cons: The gym is a joke.
Location: I visited my daughter at the Academy. You can shop in Kittery ME.
The hotel staff is lovely. The tea and cookies are a nice touch. The food is excellent. The gym is a joke, however, with all of two machines (a treadmill and a sedentary bike) and the rooms are tiny.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SLC

Nice bar and restaurant

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Easy parking. Comfy bed. Great bar and restaurant...excellent food. Room was small and difficult for two people to move around. Street noise was problematic. We enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from moultonboro, NH

A lot of class

Posted Sep 29, 2015
As soon as you enter you feel a touch of class Everywhere you look! The rooms are a little tight but if you've traveled through Europe everywhere you go teaches you that you don't need much to get a good night sleep. The room was clean bathroom updated with extra little amenities. And to top it off before you retire to your room you find two homemade cookies waiting for you! Nice way to end your day !😋