Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
43% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Highly Disappointing, Not Worth the Cost

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Staff was accommodating due to my late arrival, but were not accommodating due to a simple reservation error . It's location is convenient.
Cons: Staff friendliness, breakfast could be made to be at least average, rooms could be cleaned better, worn out upholstery could be changed.
Location: Exeter St. David's Train station is close by.
The rooms and breakfast were extremely disappointing. The furniture in the rooms were all worn out and extremely old and tattered, as were the bed sheets. I could not as much as even use the towels provided as they smelled of mold. The upholstery has not been changed in decades it seems. Not to mention the breakfast was inedible. Cheap ingredients, rude wait staff. For the price I would not ever stay here again nor would I recommend anyone to stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bristol

Convenient to station badly needs refurbishing

Posted Oct 19, 2017
The staff are always friendly and helpful- though there was one exception last time I visited - who seemed to be the boss. The rooms are exactly as they must have been in 1970 - except for the carpet which is stained and the shower which must have been added since- but only half-worked
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Winchester

Close to station friendly staff but little else

Posted Oct 4, 2017
This hotel has definitely seen better days. Rooms clean and staff friendly but whole place pretty down at heel. A repaint and new furniture and fittings would be a start. Breakfast surprisingly good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Don't stay here

Posted Sep 22, 2017
Pros: Nothing - actually that is slightly unfair - the bedding actually seemed very clean but did feel cheap and scratchy.
Cons: Everything. Probably demolish and start again!
Location: Great location. Right next to train station.
Booked this hotel as all other hotels close to university full. I was dropping my son off to start uni at Exeter and left it too late to book so nothing else was available. When visiting the uni previously I had always stayed at the Premier Inn across the road which is a similar price. The room was above a rowdy packed bar. The building is very old and tired. My room was mouldy and dirty with furniture that looked like it had come from a junk shop. The "en-suite" shower room was more like a cupboard with a shower in with a sliding door. A lot of people might struggle to fit in the shower which had a grimy shower curtain and smelt musty. The carpet was filthy and threadbare. Didn't stay for breakfast as I would not be happy eating in a hotel where the bedrooms are this dirty. I would be worried about the state if the kitchen. To summarise - the location of this hotel is good, right next to St Davids station. However, the hotel feels more like a hostel and has a seedy feel about it. I only stayed here because it was the only hotel available. I would urge anyone booking for central Exeter to book early and stay at the Premier Inn across the road and instead. As other guests have sa,I'd, I would rather have slept in my car.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from belfast

Avoid at all costs

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Worst hotel I've ever stayed in. Rooms need to be condemned. OK breakfast and a decent location, but book into the premier inn down the road.
4 out of 5
by gerry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by David

Modernisationi

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Friendly staff but hotel dated and in need of modernisation. Ceiling in bedroom had leak mark and some paper peeling. Bathroom door had dents in and we would prefer sink in bathroom not bedroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnshire

Need of an update

Posted Jul 28, 2017
The check-in was odd, wanted had booked two rooms and wanted to pay separately was told we couldn't and they just used the card used to secure the booking. The decore looks like its from the 1970 and soon parts look like that was the last time it was decorated. The room was on a quite severe slant but given it is an old building it more understandable, there is no point attempting a shower on the 2nd floor as the water pressure just isn't there could only get a dribble of hot water, would have been nice to have been warned when booking as the bath was okay. But the bed was extremely comfortable Breakfast was nice and the staff very pleasent. I would recommend this if no other option as you can get a good nights sleep, but definitely over priced for it
2 out of 5
by Intensive91 from Surrey

The most uncomfortable stay at a hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
My overall experience of the hotel was poor. When I turned up the room was not ready and was in a right tip! The bathroom was filthy and not usable even after the room was cleaned for me. The state of the hotel itself is not great and is filled with many unpleasant smells. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone - pay the extra for a better experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brixham

hotel needs a make over staff pleasent

Posted May 22, 2017
breakfast is 9/10 staff friendly room is clean beds are comfy hotel needs a make over but staff are putting love into it will stay again thanks