Ratings based on 788 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Forest UK

Nice modern hotel close to town centre

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: Location, comfort, value for money and town centre parking.
Cons: Old style sash windows on the ground floor were a bit dirty and draughty.
Location: Excellently located within a five minute walk to the town centre. Loads of shopping, restaurants, bars and entertainment. Cathedral area is lovely.
We were staying in Exeter to meet up with family and wanted a hotel that was comfortable with good parking facilities within a short walk to the town centre. The Mercure fitted the bill perfectly and was not expensive. Well appointed and newly refurbished rooms and excellent bar and meeting areas. Would recommend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Just ok, no better

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Decent staff, dull room. Poor lighting. Very hard to work air conditioning/heater . The instructions didn’t match the particular controls. The bath was poor with dirty/ pieces coming out of the tap. I used the hand shower instead to fill the bath and soon enough, and rather predictably, it poured on the floor . Nothing in the fridge at all, not even water. No biscuits or snacks. On any future trips I will be looking for a far nicer hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC Canada

Nice hotel and conveniently located.

Posted Nov 9, 2017
Pros: The location.
Cons: This is a very small thing, but a big one at the same time. Bottled water in the rooms, please!!
We enjoyed our 3 night stay and it was conveniently located. The staff and facilities were very nice. We would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south west

Great location. Fabulous Hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Two night stay in a very comfortable room. King size bed with plenty of space around it. Able to open a window for fresh air as some of the neighbouring hotels had heating up between 22-26c.. Hotel staff prpffesional and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Wales

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Hotel staff were friendly and room was clean. Overall, a very comfortable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midlands

Good hotel centrally located

Posted Oct 28, 2017
Murcure is a good hotel centrally located in easy reach of cathedral and shops. It is comfortable and offers good leisure facilities. The breakfast offered with our package was good however the staff seemed over stretched and a little disinterested in the guests in our experience- this contrasted with staff elsewhere who were helpful and attentive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Room stunk of fish on arrival. the bed was not a kingsize bed.. it was two beds put together and I kept felt myself slipping into the gap between the two. the room was no different from a travelodge room despite being three times the price. parking is 12 pounds per car and is not included in the price. the smoke alarm is right above the bed and its flashing light kept me awake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Lovely hotel close to city centre

Posted Oct 16, 2017
This is a really nice hotel. Very helpful and pleasant staff and a lovely fitness suite/pool. We didn't eat here but there are plenty of nearby restaurants and take-aways. Ideal location for Exeter city centre and the Cathedral, which is beautiful and well worth a visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bath

Upmarket hotel close to city centre

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Pros: The feeling of calm in the surroundings and the way they made me feel special - as if I was royalty
Location: PrincessHaye shopping centre, Cathedral, Darts Farm just outside Topsham
Arrived to a warm welcome & a quick checkin process. Was pleasantly surprised by the peace & quiet in a hotel so centrally located. I was concerned when I wedding took place in the evening but couldn't hear anything. The room was tastefully decorated spacious clean & tidy and the bathrobe very comfy. The bar staff were friendly and attentive making very tasty cocktails. Breakfasts & bar food delicious. Car park was very handy and didnt mind paying the GBP12.00 for 24hr park as I left the car there while walking to the shops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Pros: Modern and clean with good size room
Convenient location, near cathedral and quay Shops nearby