Ratings based on 762 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Evesham,Worcs

A day in Exeter

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Easily accessed hotel with good parking and excellent facilities. Easy to walk to the nearby Cathedral Close and a host of beautiful buildings and city amenities which made our visit to the city one which we can recommend to our friends and family. A really good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Busy but quiet hotel

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Well appointed, comfortable and, although busy, the rooms were quiet.
Cons: See above
Location: Exeter is a lovely city and we were there for the university open day.
Two things: 1) I booked two rooms, one was ground floor, one second floor. The second floor room was lovely, the ground floor room adapted for someone with a disability. As I'm not disabled, the bathroom, with mobility aids and emergency chord, didn't feel quite right. 2) Hotel restaurant. The food and staff were good except a waiter forgot to bring us the dessert menu and after about 10 minutes we could see him chatting to a colleague and point over his shoulder to our table. Unsurprisingly, the colleague then brought the menu. A little while later the original waiter apologized for the delay and took our order, but it took a long time to get the food. When the food finally came the order was wrong. All this delay meant my son was too late to use the fitness suite (last entry at 9.30pm) and so the evening was a real let down. The swimming pool and fitness suite were the reason I booked this hotel in the first place and so, after an 8 hour journey to get there, I was very disappointed. Therefore, maybe the restaurant could advise their staff to ALWAYS write orders down rather than trying to remember them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel, perfect location.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Beautiful hotel, great facilities. Location is ideal meaning you can walk to the Cathedral, city centre and quayside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

lovely hotel, centrally located, attentive staff.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Comfortable bed, staff professional and immaculately turned out, pool and spa pool, good breakfast choice, good choice of room service and prompt.
Cons: Very little. 1 or 2 cubicles for those less comfortable with single sex communal changing rooms for the pool. Additional bar staff on busy evenings.
Location: Located in town centre close to shops, bars, restaurants, Exeter Cathedral and cinemas and escape rooms within walking distance of hotel.
Perfectly located in the town centre close to Exeter Cathedral and plenty of bars and restaurants. We came here to meet with family and relax and it was perfect for us. The staff were very attentive, especially housekeeping and at breakfast time. The bar staff were friendly and helpful. The gym and pool are lovely facilities and staff here made is feel welcome. Reception staff checked us in and out with ease and answered all our queries. The whole hotel feels comfortable and well organised and we would love to come again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: Lovely pool and central location
Just there for one night but great breakfast and late check out. Very good value
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Pros: Facilities - closeness to the city centre and the r
Cons: Decoration of the reception
Location: Lovely walk and place to have a drink along side the river
Second time I stayed there and I was please again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Doha, Qatar

Friendly & comfortable hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Good location for stopover to Cornwall, friendly staff, great breakfast, watched All Blacks v Lions 1st Test in bar after breakfast, great atmosphere, would definitely recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Exeter hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Nice hotel in central exeter. Have stayed many times over the years. Very comfortable bed and reburbished bathroom was lovely. The quality of the toilet roll was better suited to a bikers' caff - surprising really. I'll take my own next time.
4 out of 5
by Peter

Hard to fault

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Very good hotel in perfect location - comfortable temperature controlled rooms - nice breakfast - good gym and pool. Friendly Staff.
4 out of 5
by Colin

City central

Posted Jun 19, 2017 on Hotels
Great central position and on site (but not free) parking. Staff great.