Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cornwall

Great hotel

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: all good
Cons: no recommendations
Location: Picked this hotel as we were going to a concert at the Great Hall and this wasn't far to walk. It's located close to shops and restaurants etc
Nice central location, comfortable, clean with delicious breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Well located but tired.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
The hotel is central, but the room was small,with somehow a student dorm atmosphere to it. The double bed was the smallest double we've encountered, the reading lights were broken, the linoleum floor in the bathroom was lifting and had a burn mark on it. Maybe it was just our room - I saw that there were bigger ones - but I couldn't understand how this hotel got a 4.0 rating. It was just ok, nothing more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caledon, Ontario Canada

Perfect!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
This is a beautiful hotel in the heart of Exeter. It's situated close to everything and you can easily walk to just about everything including the university, downtown, historical churches etc. It's a short 5 min. car ride to the train station. The staff will bend over to help you out in any way they can and make your stay as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are spacious, super clean and comfy! The linens and duvets were lovely. We will definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel in the centre

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Pros: The bathroom and the beds and the TV was fine too my kid enjoyed watching
Cons: Breakfast the chef needs to know how to cook eggs and to let the customer decide if they want to add salt & pepper room service from 9pm to 1am
Location: Great location easy to get to restaurants & attractions museum around the corner within walking distance try pashas turkish restaurant lovely food
Hi nice location of the hotel in the city centre nearby all attractions within walking distance restaurants just up the road I got there about six o'clock and parked in the car park opposite the hotel which was free from six to 8 in the morning had to get up before 8 am to put a ticket on my car which was six pounds for the whole day until the next morning 8am which is reasonable bcoz of location of hotel got in checked in went smoothly the lady was nice to show me where I could go to visit attractions and restaurants she gave us a map got to my room looked nice bathroom nice too with good shower head bed was comfortable but then did my own inspection of room the table in between the beds was so dusty and the kettle was as well but found it clean the next day morning breakfast was nice the first day the Asian lady was nice & friendly but the second day was awful we got there and no hello or smile just asked us for tea & coffee straight away placed my order as the same as the day before got scrambled eggs a bit undercooked with too much salt added to it which made me feel sick also my wife ordered an omelette which was cooked one side & raw in the middle and also contained too much salt in it too we left that & had tea & Danish pastries which was nice apart from that enjoyable stay good location receptionists were nice & helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London UK

Traditional style city centre hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The spacious room and bathroom
Cons: The downward step into the bathroom was a hazard that needed to be remembered, particularly in the night.
Location: In one direction is Exeter centre with its history, shopping, restaurants and pubs. Those on a budget should try the nearby Dinosaur Café.
There is something old-fashioned about this place and that is meant as a good thing. From the unfussy check-in to the room that includes a window that opens and, very happily, a decent sized bath tub that a fat 6 foot, 3 inch man can fit into. It still has twenty-first century necessities though, wifi , a large TV screen and tea-making equipment. Location-wise, it is almost midway between the two railway stations and about 10 minutes walk from the city centre pub and restaurant area. An excellent base for exploring Exeter and the surrounding area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Convenient location, comfortable room

Posted Aug 5, 2017
We enjoyed our stay here, the room was on the top floor in the loft space, with a nice view out of the bathroom window. Everything was as you would expect, comfortable bed, clean, well-kept room. The inclusive breakfast was very generous, and all of the hot food was made to order. If you plan on eating in the restaurant in the evening make sure you book, as several people were turned away despite there being free tables. It is a short stroll into the centre of Exeter though, with plentiful food options.
4 out of 5
by Immo

Pleasant, convenient and good value

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed here for four nights. My wife and I were pleased overall. The hotel has loads of character - it is an older building with slightly creaky stairways - and the staff bent over backwards to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The fact that the restaurant was closed on the Sunday was a bit odd, but the Farmers' Union inn next door came to the rescue!
5 out of 5
by Gemma

Lovely spot and great hotel

Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Hotels
Amazing bathroom, spacious and lovely bed. Close to the high street and museums/things to do
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Enjoyed our stay at the Queen's Court

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Friendly and helpful staff. Quiet small hotel that was conveniently located. Clean rooms and good breakfast offerings. Would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by Mandy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels