Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Prince Frederick, MD., USA

Tiny room

Posted Sep 20, 2017
We stayed in a double twin room on the third floor. The room was approximately 100 square feet with a bathroom the size found on a cruise ship.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bordon

Nice Hotel close to Exeter City centre

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: Good Breakfast
Cons: The Bed could have been a bit more comfortable
Location: This Hotel is in Exeter half a mile from the city centre Their is a Cathedral and The river Exe has an excellent riverside walk with shops and cafe's.
I only stayed one night because I was going to a funeral.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from shropshire

Comfortable hotel close to our daughter

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Good standards and close to our daughter
Cons: Hooks on the bathroom door to hang towels/clothes
Location: Visiting our daughter for the weekend. Spent the day on the Beach at Dawlish Warren And steam railway from Buckfast to Totnes
Very friendly and helpful staff. We arrived on Friday evening and were welcomed on our arrival by a member of staff. We left to join our daughter at her house for supper, then we returned to the hotel. The next morning we had breakfast and our grandson joined us. We then drove to our daughters house . From there we went out to the beach at dawlish warren
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Short stay to explore Exeter. It is close to the centre and clean. Breakfast was okay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

one night stopover

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Similar to most hotels in England - rather dated but comfortable and clean. Could do with a million pounds being spent on it, but its ok.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heathrow

Visiting Exeter

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Most things
Cons: Television reception
Location: Close to Exeter and cabs frequent
Enjoyable stay, hotel very relaxing and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heathrow

Easy access to centre of Exeter

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Most things
Cons: Television reception
Location: Frequent cabs when ordered and only 10 mins to centre of Exeter at reasonable rates. We live by Heathrow so you can imagine how refreshing this was !!
A really lovely stay, warm comfy and enjoyable. Our only negative comment would be that we could not get a news channel on the television. We would definitely stay again if visiting Exeter, many thanks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Sussex UK

Mixed experience

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Clean and freshly decorated, but our main road, small room (Approx 4m x 3m + small en suite and wardrobe) was like a sauna on arrival, probably been shut up in the sun all day. We then had a choice, try and sleep in the sauna, since the heat didn't dissipate, I guess everything in the room had got so hot, or put up with the noisy main road. The mattresses had seen much better days, particularly the one nearest the window, which was lumpy and the springs played you a tune on turning, tried to advise owner on leaving but reception was deserted. Maybe now they're aware they will do something about it, room No.5. On the plus side, breakfast was excellent, toiletries and tea/coffee supplied, staff were charming and plenty of free car parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pleasant staff and good breakfast, however, room a little on the small size.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Decent b & b near centre of Exeter

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Hotel is on a busy main road, so a lot of traffic noise late into the night. The windows are double glazed which does keep the sound out. Unfortunately,weather was hot and the room (upper floor at front) was boiling. The presence in the room of an electric fan aimed towards the bed suggested that the hotel were aware of the problem but this was too noisy to have on while you slept. Therefore we had to have window open all night. En-suite shower/toilet was small but clean and adequate. Room clean and otherwise comfy. Breakfast was standard Full English but cooked well and provided very promptly.