Ratings based on 152 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2017 on Hotels
WiFi didn’t work. Had outlets with usb plugs! Very handy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit at the City Gate, we very much appreciate our guests comments and your feedback enables us to make continued improvements to the service we have on offer. I can only apologise for the technical issues we had with our WiFi during your stay and that has been resolved now. I would like to thank you for choosing The City Gate and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Exeter. Kind Regards, Reception Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gem of a hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Pros: Everything except the restaurant
Cons: The restaurant. Better food, faster service.
Location: walk around and enjoy this lovely town.
Absolutely loved this hotel. Room was lovely and comfortable. However - the restaurant was not great. Slow service and mediocre food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 10, 2017 by Reception, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the City Gate. I am so glad you enjoyed the hotel and had a comfortable stay with us! I am sorry that we did not live up to our own high standards in the restaurant for you this time. We value your comments and I have passed on your feedback to the relevant departments so that we can continue to make improvements and ensure that issues you experienced do not happen again in the future. We hope to welcome you back to the City Gate in the future. Kind Regards, Reception Team
5 out of 5
by Gajan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

wow

Posted May 31, 2017
Wow stayed one night treated three staff members. staff was very polite warm friendly welcome the decor was top notch and rooms were outstanding and extremely well presented the food was scrumptious and well presented recommend breakfast to all also reasonably priced too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Amazing night stay

Posted May 27, 2017
What a lovely warm welcome staff are great rooms are so well presented
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from lichfield

Great hotel and pub

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: Very well decorated, friendly and efficient staff, food good and bar area high quality. Perfect location for all amenities.
Cons: No car parking provided so the provision of free or discounted car parking would be useful. Added an extra £13 "hidden cost"
Location: Very close to everything including the station
Only stayed there as the hotel du vin was full but this felt of similar quality (and was a bit cheaper).
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stourbridge

Nice hotel but ....

Posted Nov 21, 2016
The City Gate is a city centre pub with 15 rooms. The rooms are well decorated but beware on cold days. There is no cenursling heating just air conditioner blowers and they just don't cut the mustard. Also some window panes are loose so draughts. The pub is nice enough and the limited menu palatable. Dan the manager is a great fellow.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super city centre stay.

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect for one night stay to see gig at University. Lovely comfy bed, excellent facilities in room. More of a pub with rooms rather than hotel, all staff really helpful and welcoming. Lovely breakfast. Corridors to rooms could do without lick of paint and new carpet but rooms were fine and cosy. Excellent value for what we paid, would definitely stay again. Fab location right in the centre and parking overnight in public car park all within 100 yards.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Friendly, comfortable stay

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Exeter's a beautiful city
Friendly staff, comfortable king size bed in our double room. Great cooked breakfast. A bit short-staffed. In need of a refurb, which we gathered is happening in the next few weeks. Would definitely book again.