Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 9, 2019
Couldn't reach where the shower soap was positioned-bit trivial i know !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 26, 2019
I was surprised by how dated and strangely designed this hotel was. My room had steps up from the bathroom to this sleeping area which were quite steep. The room looked out onto a grassed area which could have been lovely but was surrounded by weeds and a water tower was right in the middle. It was on the ground floor with no privacy curtains other than the black out curtains. On the other hand, the staff were some of the most welcoming and helpful people I have met. There were a lot of staff and they seemed to have a great team morale which was then evident in the happy service they provided. I think the owners should bring the hotel up to the standard of the amazing employees who obviously work hard and believe in the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 19, 2019
No shower gel or shampoo - one small bar of soap. Otherwise good and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2019
We dont have transport to the city and restaurent its exspancive if you think that hotel thay has ***
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 18, 2019
We had some rushing water through some pipes all night witch made it hard to get to sleep so we wouldn't stay in the same room again, but the hotel was good for our one night stay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location

Posted Mar 7, 2019 on Hotels
Had a nice stay here booked it as it was very close to where I needed to be for a meeting. The room was nice and very warm which was a bonus as the weather was very wet cold and windy. The staff were all very helpful. The restaurant is reasonably priced and the Carvery they do was delicious
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One staff member can change your whole experience.

Posted Mar 4, 2019 on Hotels
After living in Devon for many years, I visited the Devon Hotel on numerous occasions for meals but never stayed. Upon visiting, myself and my daughter decided to book as we were familiar with the hotel and where it was situated. We were aware we had booked a 'budget' room but as it was for one night purely just for a bed to sleep in this did not bother us. My daughter used the gym which was included in the cost which I must say was good as well as the other facilities on offer. Due to being tired from the journey that day, we opted for room service which again is a great option but the lady who served it to our room was not. She entered and was very rude in general. At first I put it down to poor training, but when she returned acting in the same manner I realised that the hotel was not to blame for her appalling manners and appearance. There were some issues with cleanliness of the bathroom- hairs in bath and sink and dirty towels but again this didn't bother us that much due to the nature of the visit. Would recommend the hotel for food but not accommodation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2019 on Hotels
it really was a quick in and out but all v good, comfy bed great breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 25, 2019 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

St Austell

Posted Feb 24, 2019 on Hotels
Short overnight stay arriving late leaving early, room was warm an comfortable with good facilities. Good stop off when travelling between London and St Austell.