Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Wonderful place to stay

Posted Jan 5, 2018
Pros: Very friendly, courteous and helpful owners and staff; the entire team create an extremely welcoming atmosphere.
Cons: Difficult to think of anything that needs improvement.
Location: This part of Somerset is beautiful. Highlights include Dunster itself, Watersmeet, Lynmouth, Porlock Weir, Lynton and Valley of Rocks.
Only had time for a one-night stay, but based on that experience will definitely stay at this hotel next time I am in the area.
5 out of 5
by Martyn

Dunster weekend break.

Posted Sep 27, 2017 on Hotels
We were made very welcome on arrival, the hotel is splendid with clean comfortable rooms and a comfy bed. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, breakfast is very good and we would recommend dining in the restaurant as the food and selection are top notch. The hotel is a two minute walk to Dunster Castle which is well worth a visit. Overall we had a really special weekend, we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to visit this area.
5 out of 5
by Susan

Quirky and interesting

Posted Sep 11, 2017 on Hotels
Dunster Castle hotel is a small and quirky hotel on the main street, very close to the castle. We had booked a basic room, on the basis that we wouldn't be in it much - however, it was very small and quite hot, so we upgraded to Dower - lovely. Could only have that for 1 night then moved to Dovecote - across the driveway in the old stables - very quirky and a bit eccentric, but in a good way. Despite its proximity to the street we weren't disturbed at all Staff very helpful and polite, good breakfast and dinner also good. Dunster lovely
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel,

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Lovely hotel staff and location. Room disappointing. Far too small for a double and price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Friendly and Professional

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Everything was spot on.
Location: In the town surrounded by shops, cafe's, pubs and plenty of attractions to visit.
From the moment we arrived I knew we had picked the right hotel. The welcome was really warm. We felt that the owners and staff were very happy to see us. Our room, a little on the small side, was extremely clean and well equipped. Tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits made by the chef were available in our room. Our evening meal was delicious as was breakfast (both menus had plenty of choice). I would definitely recommend this hotel for its welcoming staff, cleanliness and great variety of food.
3 out of 5
by Gary

Go up the road !

Posted Aug 9, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely place but when I checked in I said I'd be down for a pint shortly . I was informed that the bar 'would be closing up shortly ' . This was 9.15pm. When I'm paying nearly £100 to stay in a 'hotel' I expect to be able to get a drink up to normal pub closing time . If not it should be classed as a B and B and priced accordingly . I was directed to the 'pub' up the road . Actually a rival hotel , much more welcoming , where I will stay next time
5 out of 5
by Tony

Great stay

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
After a horrific trip with vehicle problems, we arrived and were immediately pampered by the staff. Owners a staff all did there best to make our stay enjoyable and they succeeded First class service. Many thanks from us and guide dog Bumble
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Devon

Great hotel with great food. Close to the castle.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
I enjoyed my stay with my friend. The room was comfy and clean and the staff were all friendly.
5 out of 5
by Trevor

Lovely Hotel in a super village.

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
The room we stayed in was the only second floor room and has a couple of areas where head room was limited due to the sloping roof and beams. That said the room was clean and functional with a comfortable bed. It is described as a value room and the price we paid made it extremely good value. The welcome we received on arrival including being shown to our room was excellent. This set the tone for our whole stay as all staff were very professional in a friendly manner. The excellent evening meal we had in the restaurant was reasonably priced with a good selection of both food and drink. This applies to the breakfast as well which was included in the price. Dunster is a lovely village which we had never heard of until the day before our stay. We will go back and stay at this hotel again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels