Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Luttrell Arms - a fantastic stay, very dog friendl

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
We unfortunately only stayed one night but was so impressed with the brand that we extended our stay by one day at the end of our holidays to stay at the sister hotel in Darthmouth (Royal Castle hotel). Both places the service was excellent and the way they accepted our two border collies is something we have never experienced before.
5 out of 5
by Chris

Posted Jul 9, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous ancient hotel with stunning beer garden. Great selection of local ciders and beers. Excellent food. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
by Jane

Posted May 12, 2017 on Hotels
Very comfortable lots of interesting rooms and lovely garden to sit in. Food very good and such a lovely town/village
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bob from near bath

Valentines Day

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: superb king size bed and great bar.
Cons: not a lot, but no car park could cause problems perhaps for some people.We were lucky and found a space outside hotel.
Location: excellent location for walks, coffee shops and bars.
My wife and I had an excellent 2 night stay at the Luttrell Arms Hotel.Top marks on everything (except the weather)
4 out of 5
by Gill

Sightseers - do not visit in January

Posted Jan 24, 2013 on Hotels
Dunster is an attractive village with lots of nearby attractions - unfortunately, all of them and most of the shops are closed throughout January. The hotel was gratifyingly historic and our room and bed comfortable, though, bizarrely, there was no duvet - a touch of old world we could have done without. We also needed the extra blanket to stave off the cold, as the radiators did not provide enough warmth. The staff were friendly and helpful, but on the second night the hot water failed in our part of the hotel, ensuring we had a couple of more than tepid showers. I assume this was a one-off, as the staff were apologetic and had called a plumber for the morning, having only known about it the evening before. The breakfast was more than adequate, with tasty local ingredients, and the coffee came in a cafetiere rather than out of the horrid machines that proliferate now in hotels. We did not dine at the hotel, as the menu was unexciting, but the bar area was friendly, with local ales and ciders and a roaring fire.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Helen from Cornwall, UK

Dog freindly

Posted Dec 30, 2012
Pros: The history
Location: lovely
Bags of character and in the prettiest village. Warm welcome to us and our dog. Perfect room for us as had a door out to the garden and deer park. Breakfast was very good and would use again if the deal we had came up again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by AJ

Good hotel which could be very good

Posted Aug 25, 2012 on Hotels
We enjoyed our 2 nights in Dunster very much. The L Arms is at the top of the main street with the entrance to the castle at the other, with the Yarn Market right outside. Parking can be a problem with only the centre street or public carpark around the corner. The room was great, large, comfortable bed & the usual sloping floor for this age building! But it may be an old hotel, but there is no excuse for almost every one of the chandelier type lights in the public areas to be missing at least one bulb & in the dining room, several halogens had blown. However our biggest complaint was the poor service in the dining room. After waiting 25 minutes from when our first course was cleared away, I had to ask for a dessert menu; when the wait person had not returned for the order after a further 10 minutes, we left. And they were not busy, just not properly trained. 2 tables who had come in after us & been served their first course after us, had their dessert order taken before I asked for the menu.
3 out of 5
by p

Posted Aug 25, 2012 on Hotels
Parking was a real problem No lifts and the top floor rooms involve many psteep stairs. There were no bills for the bar or dining except on final invoice.
4 out of 5
by Paul Vickers

Perfect for exploring Dunster and Dunster Castle

Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels
Loved the location of Dunster, a lovely village to explore. The food was very good. I would recommend exploring Dunster Castle and the fudge shop in Dunster is a must.