Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Third time to stay

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: Location and sea view when you get one.
Location: Can definitely recommend a cruise along the coast with the Stuart Line (5th time)
On my previous two visits I had a room with wonderful sea views. This time I got a back room with a view of a fire escape and brick wall. I can see why people would give this 1 star. Possibly this is the price you pay for a 15% Expedia discount. However, the staff and atmosphere was good and I hope things continue to improve under new management. My first morning at breakfast I spotted a long-dead pot plant in the window - a Bill Bryson moment where one small thing reminds me I am in the UK. However by midday it had been replaced. Maybe they saw me taking notes in my journal!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly but tired

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was very good. Common areas were in pretty good shape, but room was in rough shape and sink and shower were barely usable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from worldwide

We walked out as it was not fit to be stayed in

Posted Apr 30, 2017
For the money they charged it was obscene. We checked in got into the room and decided it was not fit to stay in for the money we had paid. We came straight back down to reception and gave our keys back. We told them to refund our card as we would not be staying.
3 out of 5
by John

Royal Beacon, Exmouth

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed at Royal Beacon on a business trip. Very good location looking down onto the sea front and within walking distance of the town. Very good breakfast with friendly helpful staff. Only negative points: No internet access in the room, important for business use. I had to go down to lounge area to get Internet, not handy if carrying laptop, files etc. Very low pressure in the shower. Very low level lighting in the bathroom, ceiling light took an age to get upto power and wall mounted mirror / light was not wrking.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from oxford

Good location, wonderful views,

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Pros: Views, location, breakfast. The layout of hotel and staff.
Cons: Bed, carpet in room, decor was tired in the bedroom.
Location: Plenty of things to do, information leaflets were excellent, good location.
Hotel was easily found, with some limited parking. Staff all good. The rooms will need to be upgraded, we have stayed at a Richardson hotel before and loved it. The carpet was very marked as was an area of wall due to a water leak? The bed was not the best. The breakfast and staff were very good. The bar has been refurbished and again the chap serving was excellent. I am sure it will be improved generally very soon. The Richardson group had only taken charge a couple of days before our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingsteignton, Devon

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2016 on Hotels
Ideal location with parking
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dudley

Lovely |PLace to Stay

Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
Loved our stay. Nice quaint hotel which may need some TLC but always loved the place
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stylish hotel in great location

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely room at reasonable price. Ironing board turned up very quickly after being requested and received very warm welcome at reception and bar. It was a great breakfast too although the hour may have been a bit early for the rather miserable girl who served me who gave me tea when I wanted coffee and missed items of crockery and cutlery off my table after relaying for me. Tiny detail after what was on the whole a very enjoyable stay, thank you.
5 out of 5
by Tony from Warwickshire

Royal Beacon Hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice friendly staff nothing to much trouble , breakfast and meals are really good value , hotel itself very nice , lift was not working but only a issue if you had to go up more than one flight of stairs , will gladly stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: The bar and lounge and dining room were alright and the location of the hotel was good
Cons: The stair carpet was frayed and requiring replacing and the bed and carpet in the bedroom also required replacing
Location: Location was good and plenty to do nearby
No working lift and we were on the third floor and nobody appeared to fix it. The carpet in the bedroom was badly stained and the bed was most uncomfortable. The bathroom was the best part of the room