Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Stylish hotel in great location

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely room at reasonable price. Ironing board turned up very quickly after being requested and received very warm welcome at reception and bar. It was a great breakfast too although the hour may have been a bit early for the rather miserable girl who served me who gave me tea when I wanted coffee and missed items of crockery and cutlery off my table after relaying for me. Tiny detail after what was on the whole a very enjoyable stay, thank you.
5 out of 5
by Tony from Warwickshire

Royal Beacon Hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2016 on Hotels
Really nice friendly staff nothing to much trouble , breakfast and meals are really good value , hotel itself very nice , lift was not working but only a issue if you had to go up more than one flight of stairs , will gladly stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: The bar and lounge and dining room were alright and the location of the hotel was good
Cons: The stair carpet was frayed and requiring replacing and the bed and carpet in the bedroom also required replacing
Location: Location was good and plenty to do nearby
No working lift and we were on the third floor and nobody appeared to fix it. The carpet in the bedroom was badly stained and the bed was most uncomfortable. The bathroom was the best part of the room
3 out of 5
by Jan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Not Provided from Derby

Disappointing overall.

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
First impressions were very good, with friendly staff and an extremely efficient check-in. We were delighted to find we had been allocated a sea view and thought the room was a good size and very light. The breakfast was excellent, freshly cooked, plenty to choose from and friendly staff. Unfortunately the hotel didn't quite live up to those initial impressions. We soon realised that the room was a bit on the shabby side. Whilst the main items in the room and bathroom were clean, other bits such as the hairdryer looked grotty, and some of the lights didn't work. The shower was really poor, but the bed was horrific, it was like trying to sleep on a slab of concrete. The second night we put the spare blanket and all the towels we could find on the bed to try and make it more comfortable - it didn't work. We would have had to complain had we been staying any longer.
3 out of 5
by Louisa

Breakfast was excellent

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed for 1 night, intermittent wifi, area has poor phone signal so wifi important for me. Room bigger than expected as I booked a single room. Bed was hard! Shower cubicle very small. Good selection of teas, coffees etc in room. Breakfast excellent
4 out of 5

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 16, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Very nice hotel we enjoyed lour stay breakfast very good staff very helpful
4 out of 5
by Jonathan from Ann Arbor

Posted Jul 8, 2015 on Hotels
The Royal Beacon sits at the summit of The Beacon (a street name), across from a pleasant park connected to intertwined trails leading down to the beach on the East side of the Exe esturary. The room was larger than I expected, and quite pleasant, with a brilliant view out over the largest church in town. Desk service was good, and the breakfast was exemplary. Like much of England, it lacked air conditioning, which was only an issue in that we had a bit of a heat wave while I was traveling. It is also a historic building, with all of the idiosyncrasies that brings with it. But overall, it was a terrific stay, and I'd recommend it to anyone.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxfordshire

Elegant hotel in quiet location at Exmouth

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Its situation along the sea-front but up above the main thorough fare and therefore nicely tucked away.
Cons: Car parking can be a little busy at peak times.
Location: Walking, cycling, swimming, fishing, boating, general sight-seeing. Good rail links to Exeter. Very friendly place to stay with good restaurants.
An excellent hotel with clean rooms and very friendly staff. Definitely a touch of elegance and the rooms to the front of the hotel had a very pleasing outlook. Very conveniently situated just a stone's throw from the beach and town but nevertheless in a quiet location.