Ratings based on 471 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Somerville, MA

Wifi down for 2 of 3 night stay

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Clean comfortable hotel, very convenient for visiting Longwood Gardens, Chanticleer, Winterthur. Brandywine battlefield & Brandywine River Museum.
Cons: The wifi was down for 2 nights of a 3 night stay, making it impossible to get maps, read local restaurant reviews,
Location: 5 miles from Longwood Gardens, 15? from Chanticleer, and 6 miles from Winterthur. Easy drive to Kennett Square for good (non-chain) restaurants.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from washington DC

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Great place for a weekend getaway in PA countryside with great Brandywine River Art Museum and tours of studios of the artists NC and Andrew Wyeth. Hank's Place, the diner Andrew frequented with his legendary model Helga, is a few steps away from the hotel. Brandywine Battlefield State Park is about a half mile away, but didn't visit because it hadn't opened by 1.5 hours after it was supposed to.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Longwood Gardens and Winterthur

Posted Sep 16, 2016
We had a good time in spite of the opressive heat. NOT your fault.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Brandywine area hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2016
This hotel is a quiet respite from the busy world. Very nice rooms, friendly staff, a peaceful stay for your visit to this historic area
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfy hotel near historical attractions in PA

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Pros: Free breakfast and friendly staff.
Location: Lovely location.
Very nice accommodations. Nice breakfast. Nice room. Friendly staff. Coming and going from parking lot can be challenging. Very busy road. Would recommend to one and all!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montana

Good Location, but....

Posted Jul 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location and charming building.
Cons: Friendlier and more obliging staff, cleaner rooms, better breakfast...
Location: Near Longwood Gardens, Brandywine River Museum (don't miss), Brandywine Battlefield, lots of restaurants and shopping down 202 or Rte 1.
Room was dark and dirty, bed uncomfortable, staff surly and unhelpful with one exception called Amy. The Inn could be very charming, and was, last time we stayed there, but it has changed hands. The new owners are cutting corners at every opportunity: i.e. the bottles of shampoo, etc. were all empty. The breakfast is mediocre at best. Some of the pastries were stale and the hard boiled eggs were past their sell-by date. The coffee carafe was constantly empty so we had to keep asking for more coffee, etc. It's a shame because it used to be a very nice place, but we will not stay there again.
5 out of 5
by Michael from Livingston, NJ

Great small hotel in Brandywine Valley, PA

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable, clean small hotel set back from the main road on top of a small rise. Breakfast was included,as is afternoon tea and cookies. A few restaurants are only steps away, saving the trouble of driving to dinner. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the ladies who work in the breakfast room are very sweet. The hotel is well located for all the terrific Brandywine Valley attractions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boynton Beach, FL

centrally located for the top destinations

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: coziness
Cons: better signage
Location: Brandywine River Museum, battlefield, antique shopping and beautiful, beautiful landscapes when I got lost. (Even found a covered bridge!)
Staff very, very helpful and kind when I arrived later than expected. The lovely counter receptionist offered me an early breakfast when all the restaurants were closed.
5 out of 5
by Brian l. from Ohio

Great place

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Customer service makes all the difference. The hotel is clean and in a good location. The hotel seems older and has a unique look to it that enhanced our stay. The staff cannot be beat. We were there for a lacrosse tournament and had early morning games. The morning person opened the breakfast area early and had everything set out thanks to a message from the evening clerk. The dining room is pleasant and the utensils are actually metal!
4 out of 5
by LINDA from Reynoldsville

Overnight stay for shopping trip with family.

Posted Jul 10, 2016 on Hotels
Comfortable bed, clean room, counter space in bathroom and nice TV. Night clerk super nice and helpful. Breakfast ok but the lady working was very unfriendly. Nice shopping within a short drive. Highly recommend Mod pizza in the shopping plaza.