Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Challenging

Posted Jul 14, 2016
The B&B is in a beautiful setting, but was uncomofortable to sleep, bed was like sleeping on the floor, hot and no fans to cool off (given there is no air conditioning), and extrememely difficult to go anywhere -- have to call the owner when you get there to pick you up in the parking lot, getting rides to and from the B&B is challenging, takes time, and is inconsistent / expensive. For those looking for an adventure, maybe OK, for those looking to relax and take it easy, I would not suggest this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Auburn, California US

Breathtaking view!

Posted Oct 15, 2015
I booked at this villa based on the good reviews and my family were so glad I did. If you are looking for an authentic Italian living, this place is highly recommended. This villa is owned by a family and there were several rooms upstairs, where we occupied 2 of them. It was a bit cold but we really didn't mind as we were mesmerized by the place. An old villa with so many memories. The place was well taken cared of. Lots of original Italian craftsmanship. The balcony overlooking the lake was the biggest surprise. It was breathtaking! The walk along the coble stones going to the villa was fun for us and we had our dinner home cooked by Giorgio, who runs the place. I must say, we were so lucky it was one of the few days a week where he cooks and serves an authentic Italian dish. One of the best meal we had. The breakfast was well served and fulfilling as well. Giorgio was so helpful thru our entire stay. I recommend to call him prior to your arrival, just in case you need assistance for pick up and or parking. If we have to visit Como again, we will surely go back to stay in this Villa and spend more nights. One night is just not enough...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful BnB overlooking Lake Como

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Loved this place. Was serene and discrete and a beautiful place to stay. Would thoroughly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, Illinois

Lots of charm, amazing view

Posted Aug 15, 2015
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this charming villa. The staff was very accommodating, room was kept clean, and you can't beat the view of Lake Como. Couldn't park our rental car in village as the streets are old and narrow. it was a 10-minute walk through the village, but that just added to the charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from PA

Great view, unlucky weather

Posted May 23, 2015
Location: Go to bellagio! Or plan a hike. The ferry is also an option
We arrived during a storm and only stayed one night. As soon as the weather ameliorated we appreciated the beauty of the lake and the village. In the summertime this b&b would be perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Italian Hospitality

Posted Sep 19, 2014
I don't normally review the places I stay however, I can't express how happy both my friend and I were when we stayed here. At first it was hard to find as we didn't realise it was up this little road and only a really small car (matchbox) could fit. We were greeted by Giorgio, Leti and Leo whom drove us to their B&B. The ride to the place was an experience and we loved it. I think it was more of the novelty part. The place was magnificent when we got there and our room had uninterrupted views of the lake which was magnificent both day & night. We ate dinner at the B&B which was prepared by Giorgio and Leti which we got a feel for real homemade Italian food. Even breakfast in the morning was ace. The reason why we loved this place so much is we didn't want to have the tourist feel but rather the real local feel. This definitely gave us the Italian homely feel. Giorgio and Leti was so kind and accommodating to us and made us feel like we were one of their own. Our room was clean and cosy with a beautiful little balcony which we could sit for hours and admire the views. I highly recommend this place. It's picturesque, romantic and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

The secret gem

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: View to die for
Cons: If you improved it you would remove the charm. Breakfast is good but basic.
Location: There are 3 restaurants in this small village , we dined in the itipitipic ( Crazy name ) that is located near the car park, food was great and cheap
We stayed only one night as a stop over on our wat to Paris but it is a stop we will always remember. What Expida does not explain is this Hotel B&B is based at the top of a village you have to walk to. It's around 500m up through the most quaint little streets that you just love once you have seen it. The hotel owners collects your bags from a main public car park at the main road ( there is secure parking in his private garage for 5€ a night ) in his Fiat panda which only just fits the road up. You do wonder at first what is going on but it's worth very bit of the confusion when you get to the Hotel. It is not a five star resort, the rooms are quaint original a Italian style and basic by today's standards but very clean and functional. But what this Hotel has is the most fantastic view of Lake Como. The owner is Italian and his wife is Spanish and they both speak perfect English. Esxa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Maria from Jacksonville, Florida

Breathtaking view & Wonderful Staff

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: The hosts, Giorgio and Leti. And, the view.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Molina is a like an ancient village, complete with cobblestoned streets, and passages so narrow you wonder how cars get through. Relax and enjoy!
We recently returned from a trip to Italy (May 2014) and the B&B Villa Le Ortensie was our favorite. What a marvelous place. Our room overlooked Lake Como and the view was magical. The location is quiet and at most all you hear are birds and in the distance, occasional church bells. Our room was roomy, comfortable and had a great balcony. The decor was tastefully done in antiques. The bed and pillows were nice too. Our daughter stayed in an adjoining room with 2 twin beds. Even the bathroom was a welcomed surprise since it was large and included a spacious shower. Though the place was special what stood out for us was meeting Giorgio and Leti, our friendly hosts. Sweet, attentive, helpful beyond words and good cooks. I really can't think of how our stay could be improved. Definitely try both local restaurants. This B&B offers an experience that is unforgettable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ran from Birmingham, UK

Gem of Como

Posted Jun 4, 2014
An amazingly run B&B by two genuinely nice people who went out of their way to make mine and my girlfriend's holiday truly magical. I cannot praise Giorgio and Letti enough for their hospitality and attention to detail. I have recommended this little gem to all my close friends and feel obliged to divulge this well kept secret of lake como to all that are willing to listen. If only more hotels and B&Bs were like this then the world would be a better place. Be warned that if you like bland, generic and commercialised hotels then please stay away from this place as you'll only ruin it for everyone else. This B&B has character, pedigree and most of all warmth. Having read the reviews prior to booking our trip I reserved judgment given the mixed reviews previously. It seems that since Giorgio and Leti took over the experiences of all that have stayed at this fantastically run B&B have been nothing short of wonderful. I congratulate the owners for their hard work and persistence. Please keep up the good work as I will be returning again for more of your splendid hospitality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan & Bob from Canada

Hidden Gem

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Everything was perfect.
Beautiful B&B in a equally beautiful little village overlooking Lake Como. Had a little trouble finding the place...my mistake...should have replied to Georgio's message as to our arrival time and gotten better instructions, but a lovely older woman from town was kind enough to show us the way. Loved our room with a perfect little balcony overlooking the lake. Our hosts were amazing, and Georgio made us the best breakfast we had on our month long trip through Italy. Thanks again for a wonderful stay. Hope to make it back one day.