Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bcn

Bien situado y buenas instalaciones

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: Las vistas
Cons: El kit del lavabo (champu etc...)
Location: Ubicacion buena.
Buen bufet en el desayuno. Hotel con excelentes vistas a la isla Pico. Instalaciones muy correctas con excelente piscina con vistas y excelente Spa.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary canada

great pools!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Cons: the place could use some updating. a shower head that worked. and some AC in the room would be nice
Location: it's a nice location. central to down town and close to the beach
the place overall is good. the staff was very friendly and helpful. no air conditioning in the room!! that really sucked. the free breakfast was great.
3 out of 5
by joao

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Markus

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Deborah from Exeter

Amazing Views and strong colonial style.

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed at this hotel on a previous visit to the Azores. Since then it has been extended yet still retains its strong colonial style. If you stay at this hotel get a room with sea views, this maybe one of the world's greatest view. The majestic Pico island and volcano ( the highest mountain n Portugal) and closer by Horta marina with sailing ships and super yachts. On are final morning breakfast we could see Whales in the channel between the two islands. Where else can you whale watch whilst having hotel breakfast? The facilities are good the new swimming pool and health centre are fine, the grounds are well attended. Everywhere you go there is reminders of a colonial past style on hotel and ever attentive staff some people may find this a bit stuffy today. What was not addressed with the redevelopment is the direction of pedestrian entrance, the drive is long and takes you away from the town\and marina. To walk you have to exit at the scruffy side on the hotel, through an opening in the wall, and down steep steps or a run down back street, simply a case of nice hotel, shame they think nobody will leave the hotel during their stay. The rooms were fine and balcony to enjoy the views, the only thing that needs attention\ replacement is the super hard mattress.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Daniel from Israel

Great value, great service, superb location

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
Use the hotel as base for day hiking. Location was amazing
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Niedersachsen

Schöne Aussicht

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Der Blick auf Pico und den Hafel von Horta sind fantastisch. Unbedingt Zimmer mit Hafenblick nehmen. Wir haben uns im Hotel sehr wohl gefühlt. Für einen Aufenthalt in Horta können wir das Hotel wegen der kurzen Wege nur empfehlen.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ontario Canada

Very old needs to update

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Not the room we expected. Very small . We were suppose to be in hotel but ended up in villa which is very old and needs to be updated. Desk employees not friendly
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Perfect view, great position

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: The balcony in our room had an ever-changing view of Pico and Horta harbour.
Cons: Bed was really, really hard.
Location: Excellent for scuba diving and whale-watching.
We stayed for 2 weeks and it was a good, reasonably-priced choice. Breakfast was ok and we ate out locally every evening.