Ratings based on 239 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Andy S from London

Nice and Quiet Location

Posted Aug 15, 2014 on Hotels
Redwood Hotel - Bristol The hotel is very remote and very quiet I found when sitting outside. Check-in was a rather lengthy process for some reason (probably the longest check in I have ever had). The only thing worth mentioning is that they asked to take money in advance on my credit card for extras. I didn't mind this and no-one said that I had to actually give over the money but it was suggested to me, whereas I am used to being charged a penny for instance on check in. My room was the quite far from reception on the first floor. The shower was about a 6/10 on power which was a little disappointing. Plenty of hangers in the room and storage space which was good. I also liked having an ironing board and iron in my room. The rooms are not air conditioned so it does get rather hot but at least you can get the window open. Breakfast was a buffet and serves the standard items you would expect although the coffee is something to avoid. The Wifi is pretty rubbish in your room and the phone signal on EE is very patchy. Pool and gym are pleasant enough to use. i wouldn't be put off staying here again.
4 out of 5
by Marks from Northampton


Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels
Good as normal
3 out of 5
by Ht1974

Overnight stay ideal

Posted Jul 13, 2014 on Ebookers
Good-very clean and tidy, good room decor and modern, efficent bar, reception staff polite, manager efficient, toiletries on iffer in room and tea facititlies and biscuits Not so good-wifi offered didnt work, phone in room didnt work, no signal on ee network, only sandwiches available after ten in room service, not worth the price very basic, didnt see a breakfast menu for room service
5 out of 5
by Joanne from Northallerton

Great stay!

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed for 5 nights in June and really enjoyed the room 208. It was clean, a nice comfy bed and so quiet. Yes the room was hot but we read the reviews and brought our own fans and food and drinks were expensive. As it was SUNNY we used the outside pool at the country club which was lovely in mature grounds. We also ate out at Clifton less than 10 miles away and had an amazing steak at Clifton hotel overlooking the suspension bridge. The hotel was close to Bristol, the zoo and everything we needed such as ice in our room was accommodated. The staff were really friendly including Andrew who really made you feel welcome. All in all a fab time had by all.
3 out of 5
by chris from Brisbane,australia

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels
The staff were helpful and it was a great location near the park and ride. However we had a very long walk with our bags through four fire doors and up a flight of stairs. The shower was stone cold, not what you would expect.The meal in the restaurant was one of the best we have had and compliments to the chef.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Kerry Kat from Trowbridge

Ideal location for visiting Ashton Court.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Excellent location so close to Ashton Court estate for Let's Rock Bristol 80s festival. Staff mostly very friendly and helpful (with couple of exceptions). Room well appointed and spotlessly clean. Very comfy bed. Will definitely visit again.
2 out of 5
by Tina from Devon

Overpriced, rude receptionist, poor quality food.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Its location
Cons: Staff training. Separate bar for residents from wedding guests, improve breakfast.
Was disappointed with the whole hotel. We expected a good quality room given the price we paid but although a good sized room, the window was held open with sticky tape. There was dust in several places in the bathroom, cheap biscuits and the whole place looked tatty. The Welsh receptionist was very patronizing from the moment we turned up. We thought we had booked breakfast but was told its not included in that price! The next day was required a map of the area, and every other place we had stayed at have had these either on the desk or just under it. On the Saturday, when she was serving another customer and was waiting for the card transaction to go through, my husband asked for a map. He was told, I am serving someone you will have to wait, which we did, only to be told by her, my colleague will serve you. He then proceeded to answer the phone leaving us waiting yet again. He gave us a map after 5 minutes on the phone and marked the route to take. On our return it was to find all the gates locked and us trapped by the pool, we managed to spot a cleaner who let us it. The following day we told the same receptionist what had happened, only to be told, we never would have sent people that way, but of course they did. We ate in the restaurant the Friday night, and for breakfast Saturday morning. The food was poor quality, items were missing from stated on the menu and over priced. The breakfast was horrible. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else.
5 out of 5
by Marks from Northampton

Very Satisfied

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels
Gym/Leisure club is very good, bar friendly, hotel team friendly. Need to sort shower curtains out, paddling pool on bathroom floor.
3 out of 5
by Julie from Wolverhampton

Convenient hotel for Bristol in lovely setting.

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Its convenient location. The dining room. The leisure club.
Cons: Reception area refurbished. Lift installed to upper floor.
Location: Near to Ahston Court , Clifton suspension bridge and main road into centre of Bristol.
Our room was clean, comfortable and a good size but it was a long walk to get to and there was no lift to the upper floor. The reception area looked a bit shabby and the lounge chairs very low to the ground! Staff were all very friendly and helpful but not all totally fluent in English and some misunderstanding occurred when placing an order for food. The breakfast and dining room is very pleasant being in the older part of the building. We enjoyed using the leisure club facilities. The pool is old but the water a lovely temperature.