Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Really comfortable and accomodating hotel.

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Everything
Location: Nice enough location very close to downtown and also close to the river for a stroll.
The staff were really friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable. The free shuttle was brilliant, they even took us to pick up our tour bus to the arctic circle. Also, there is a very nice Italian restaurant right next door. The hotel also has a guest launderette.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Cheap Downtown Tourist Hotel Near Visitor Center

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the Chena River and downtown. Friendly and helpful staff. Full sized laundry room.
Cons: The bed was fairly uncomfortable but it's a cheap room. Maybe the view if you remove the building that was a foot from my window :)
Location: Walk around the Visitor Center and look at the Chena River or go for a run next it up 1st Avenue toward Pioneer Park.
Has a nice cozy boutique-like lobby. Non existent business center (one computer at a desk, open to the lobby). Wi-Fi Internet is not suitable for business travelers like myself who need consistent access for VOIP calls. This is a decent, cheap hotel for tourists. Being from Fairbanks I had always wanted to try it. Now that I have I can say I wouldn't go back unless it was the only decent hotel in town and I absolutely couldn't stay with family because of a need for a quiet working area. With the only window facing a wall that's so close you can't see anything else, it felt like a dungeon other than the fresh air when it didn't smell like BBQ or someone's cigarette smoke wafting down the small space between buildings. It was probably from someone smoking out of their window that has a sign in front of it saying not to do this very thing. I did notice when I was eating at the Thai place across 2nd Ave from the hotel that the Big Daddy's BBQ employees smoke near the entrance to that "alley" (by the propane tank no less) so it could very possibly be them or both. If the Marriott Springhill Suites isn't trying to rake you over the coals with their summer rates, stay there. I've stayed there multiple times a year over ten years so I know what to expect and if you're a business traveler (esp with status and a compulsion for hoarding points), it's just a no-brainer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breakfast not included, very limited parking.

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Showers were very small, no tub. The water temperature and pressure were schizophrenic at best. Only 20 parking spaces for a 5 story hotel! The Expedia site showed breakfast included, one of the reasons we chose this hotel, but when we checked in we were told they no longer include breakfast and we were handed a flyer with the breakfast prices. Continental breakfast was only $9.99 but we did not try it. The staff was very friendly and the hotel wad clean and quiet. We will stay there again now that we know what to expect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Great location

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Decor, location and helpful employee.
Clos to free shuttle service around the city. We enjoyed our stay very much. Lovely breakfast room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff

Posted Sep 10, 2015
I was only there for one night to see the Northern lights, but during that time the staff was great. Lisa was super friendly and so was the lady behind the desk. I was extremely pleased with the service. The rooms were decent, I have no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Beautiful place

Posted Sep 4, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff, quiet area, beautiful flowers
Cons: not much
Location: plenty to do & see
A well-kept hotel with friendly staff and beautiful flowers! Breakfast not free, but plenty of good food to enjoy. Walking distance to other attractions, and close driving to still others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient for quick access to the Airport

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Liked that it was close to the airport with shuttle service
Room was adequate for needs. Had early flight so only used for resting/sleeping before flight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A Great Value with a Prime Location

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: Location, price, awesome breakfast buffet, warm and courteous service.
Cons: It's all just fine the way it is.
Location: Right on the Chena River Walk. Just follow it in either direction to discover historic Fairbanks. Try the adjacent Noodle House and BBQ restaurants.
Prompt airport pickup. A warm welcome upon arrival. All our needs were met, and our expectations exceeded. The downtown location greatly facilitated our walking tour of Fairbanks. Amazing flowers everywhere on this property. Timely and efficient transfer provided to the train station upon our departure. But we were a bit sad to have to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A very convenient and good place

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: It is just right and unpretentious.
Location: Location is fine.
The hotel is very pleasant and is conveniently located. Ideal for several days in Fairbanks and around. Nice staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Downtown location

Posted Aug 23, 2015
We stayed only one night. Very nice hotel in downtown Fairbanks. Staff very nice. Parking a little tight but to be expected with central location. Would definitely recommend.