Ratings based on 334 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks, AK

Clean Hotel Close to Airport and Shopping

Posted May 16, 2017
Hotel was clean and close to Fred Meyers and Safeway. Road around hotel was route for transient walkers. Across the street had people hanging out in abandoned vehicles.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
James, thank you for including us in your travel plans. We are pleased to read our location was convenient for your needs and that you liked our clean facilities. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest, and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from J

Posted May 9, 2017 on Orbitz
Mirror had spit on it from previous guest. Staff weren't super friendly or unfriendly either, just seemed like none of them wanted to be there. There was a barbed wire fence outside my window... If I would have known more about the location I wouldn't have booked a room here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We were disappointed to read that we did not live up to our typical standards, and we are truly sorry your stay was anything less than exceptional. We hope you will consider giving us another chance to prove we are up to the task of delivering excellent service and stay. I hope you will return so we can make it up to you. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs updating

Posted May 8, 2017
Cons: Start replacing old stuff.
This is an acceptable place to stay just for a night if you need a place to crash. I have stayed at this hotel over the years and it definitely has gone downhill. Everything looks old and well used. There were fresh, wet stains on the hallway carpet - some unknown liquid. After getting into my room, I looked around for an ice bucket - didn't see one. I went to the front desk and asked where the ice machine is. She said, we don't have one - "you have to make your own ice using the trays in the refrigerator. " Ummm - that takes several hours! I made the suggestion that perhaps the cleaning staff could fill the ice trays as part of their cleaning routine so there is fresh ice waiting for their customers since they don't have an ice machine any more. The desk person thought that was a good idea. Both the night desk person and daytime one were very cheery, however.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your repeat business. We are glad your overall stay was a pleasant one but apologies for not meeting all your expectations this visit. We appreciate your observations and constructive comments which will help us make improvements. We value your patronage and hope will continue to choose us for all your future trips to Fairbanks. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel near Store

Posted May 7, 2017
The doors to rooms could use more padding as I could hear people very easily in the halls including a person with two yapping dogs after midnight then again early in the morning. The refrigerator was noisy. The bed was hard as a rock to sleep on. I didn't want to hear the A/C run all night so I was going to open the window but realized there was a company's backyard and felt I had no privacy. Overall I wouldn't stay here again because of the noise.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
We are sorry to know you were not happy with your stay with us. Our front desk is available to resolve issues, and I'm sorry we were not aware of the problems you had, as we would have been happy to try and resolve the issue or move you to another suite. Your concern about the fridge and the air-conditioning unit will be addressed with the engineering team so that our future guests do not experience the same. We value your business and hope you will consider us again. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Anchorage

Conveniently situated near airport and university

Posted May 6, 2017
Pros: Reasonably priced
When I arrived and checked in, I found that the corridor light by my door was not working, which made it almost impossible to see to use the card lock. I reported it, but nothing was done until I mentioned it again to the eveningreceptionist , who did get it fixed, for which I commend her. Other than that things were fine.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 8, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for evaluating your stay. We are happy that your overall visit was pleasant and you liked our location. However, we are sorry for the inconvenience you had while here. Your feedback will help us to improve our service delivery. We hope you will choose us again so that we can provide you with a much better experience. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fairbanks, ak

Relaxing

Posted Apr 26, 2017
It was a good stay I was able to get a full night's sleep
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Ray, thank you for including us in your travel plans. It’s nice to read you had a pleasant experience and that you were satisfied with our service and facilities. We enjoyed having you as our guest and hope to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water or house keeping.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Housekeeping never came to our room, there was no hot water for showers in the morning, there wasnt ever anyone at the front desk... ect. Would mot reccomend this hotel someone coming to Fairbanks
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your candid feedback. We are sorry if our housekeeping policy was not shared with you during check-in. We provide this service on a weekly basis, to respect the privacy of our long-term guest, however, we’re always happy to offer it on a request for a nominal fee. We appreciate your valuable comments as it will help us to improve our facilities and service levels moving forward. We hope you will consider giving us another opportunity to restore a favorable impression when your travels bring you this way. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Safe

Posted Apr 22, 2017
This was the cleanest and safest hotel in Fairbanks. I have stayed in many and will be returning to this one every time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by General Manager , Hotel Management
Thanks for posting a review so future travelers can read about your pleasant experience at Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way. It's so nice to read how much you enjoyed your stay, and we are happy you were impressed with our service and facilities. Thank you for being our guest, and we look forward to your next visit. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 4, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 6, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to rate your visit. Our number one priority is to make sure you receive an outstanding experience, so I am sorry we fell short while you here. We hope you will consider us again, so that we can have the opportunity to make your next stay perfect in every respect. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by neil

pay to leave, not stay!

Posted Apr 2, 2017 on Hotels
as soon as i pulled into the lot, across from a derelict strip club i knew it wasn't a 3 star hotel, but hoped it was decent inside. the gal who checked me in was personable enough, and informed me the location of my room. once i opened my room, i noticed the a/c was on full blast. it was on for a reason, it held down the evaporative stank that was absolutely disgusting, even with the refrigerated temperature. i did turn off the a/c, and noticed the windows were sealed shut. after a little while of pretending the stench wasn't that bad, the warmth began to return, intensifying whatever urinated around the room. i did not stay an hour, and left. i told the gal who did not offer any solution(or refund), and i gladly left.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Neil, thank you for posting a review of your recent stay. We are truly sorry for the service issue and the condition of the room mentioned in the review. Our Maintenance team conducts routine maintenance throughout the hotel on a regular structured program basis. Your review highlights where we need to refocus our efforts, and I assure you we will. We hope you will consider giving our hotel another chance so we can leave you with a much better impression on your next visit. Sincerely, General Manager