Ratings based on 336 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the airport

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Close to the airport
Cons: General cleanliness, kitchen utensils, breakfast.
Sink drains in both bathroom and kitchen apparently plugged, took minutes to drain. Dirty carpet. Unpleasant odors. Full kitchen, but nothing furnished to use it. No full complimentary breakfast. No screens on window. Nasty deposit of some kind on the bathroom sink. We paid the same rate for the Princess Lodge in GlenAllen, and the accommodations were much nicer. We wouldn't stay with you again...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Please accept our apologies for failing to deliver the exceptional stay you deserved and for the numerous issues you encountered. Please be assured that we are taking steps to ensure we are well poised to serve you better during your next stay. I would also like to inform you that, to ensure cleanliness of kitchenware upon check-in, brand standards require us to make these items available at the front desk rather than leaving them in the suites. We hope you will consider giving us a chance to redeem ourselves the next time you visit our area. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad breakfast

Posted Jul 13, 2017
The breakfast was very bad,other than that it's good
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, and it's nice to know you enjoyed your overall stay with us. However, we are sorry that our complimentary grab and go breakfast was not to your liking. We will make note of your feedback as we plan any changes to our offerings. Thanks for being our guest, and we hope you will stay with us again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Cassie

Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Cassie, thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way. Our goal is to make your visit as comfortable as possible and to assist you in any way, so we are glad we accomplished this during your stay. We appreciate your nice rating. Please come back and see us again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

After staying in cargo van, this was great!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: 2 chairs at the table for eating.
Location: We had a nice hike to Angle Rock. Bring your bug spray if doing the loop.
Not a luxury hotel (bring your own hair dryer), but it met our needs perfectly. Washers and dryers were half the price of those at camp grounds. Kitchenette allowed us to cool down food in the nearly full-size refrigerator and clean out the cooler. Only one chair at the table, but the other chair was a recliner (nice for a little nap). After using an air mattress and sleeping bag, the bed was wonderful. Grab and go breakfast was minimal - coffee and bars - it worked for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Karla, thank you for being our guest at Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way. It's nice to know you had an overall pleasant visit and that our convenient location and fully-equipped kitchen were perfect for your needs. We appreciate your valuable feedback as it will help us to improve our facilities and service levels moving forward. We hope to have the honor of hosting you again soon. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Good place to stay from one night, like me, to many nights. Clean, comfortable and quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your wonderful review of Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and that you were satisfied with all that we have to offer. Thanks once more for allowing us to be of service, and we hope to have the pleasure of doing so again on your next trip. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by Beverly

Poor

Posted Jun 13, 2017 on Hotels
The price was nice for that time of the year. The room needs some up keep and so does the ground outside the building.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Beverly, thank you for taking time to share your feedback. We are pleased to know you found us to be a good value and that your overall stay was satisfactory. We appreciate your observation in regard to our property and will make a note of it as we plan any changes in the future. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from anchorage

Convenient location

Posted Jun 3, 2017
We enjoyed our stay We enjoyed our stay We enjoyed our stay We enjoyed our stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Cristi, thank you for your glowing review of Extended Stay America - Fairbanks - Old Airport Way. It’s our pleasure knowing you had an excellent stay and that our convenient location was perfect for your plans. Your feedback is much appreciated, and we would love to welcome you back the next time you are in the area. Sincerely, General Manager
1 out of 5
by robert

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Robert, thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay. I was disheartened to see the rating and sincerely apologize for not living up to your expectations. We value your business and truly hope you will give us another chance to prove that we are committed to providing an excellent experience. Sincerely, General Manager 
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to locations needed for trip

Posted May 30, 2017
The hotel met requirements for staying over. Needed to be able to go several places places each day and the location met that requirement.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for including our hotel in your travel plans. We are glad to know our convenient location was the highlight of your stay. It was a pleasure having you here, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing Special

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
Very average, hotel nicer from the outside. Dirty toilet, no iron, it was ok, nothing exceptional. A bit on the run down side. Continental breakfast was bare bones, muffins, coffee, and juice.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
We apologize for the less than clean state of your suite upon arrival. This is highly unusual and we will follow up with our dedicated housekeeping team to ensure we are following every step of our established protocols. We know breakfast is an important start to any day, we are sorry we failed to meet your expectations with our complimentary grab and go offerings. Thank you for letting us know areas where we can improve so your next stay with us will be better. General Manager