Ratings based on 597 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from SC

Sept stay

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Overall convenient and acceptable but rooms were uncomfortably warm. We were told that AC had been turned off for the season.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 16, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review, the AC has not been turned off however when ambient temperature is below 58 degrees the chiller unit located on the roof will not engage. Unfortunately, it is the time of the year where guest require heat so the heat is turned on in the rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Franklinton, LA

Comfortable bed

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Beds were comfortable however the room smelled of mildew. Room was hot and the fan that was in the room was broken. Food in the bar was very good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and rating, we will investigate the reason your room was hot, as well as the smell you mentioned.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Nice hotel with great amenities.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Comfort and breakfast!
Cons: Couldn't have been better!
Location: Located close to center of all the things we wanted to do.
We had a great vacation and a great place to stay is part of the reason we did. Breakfast was very good and our room was very comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your rating and review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to downtown and easy access to area

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: Room were recently renovated.
Cons: Furnishings were somewhat worn. Common area carpets could stand to re replace. Room carpet was newly replaced.
The hotel staff were friendly and knowledgeable. They were ready for us when we came.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review and rating we are glad you enjoyed your stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from miami

nice hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2017
nice hotel good breakfast clean The little bit too price
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 4, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review and rating we are glad you enjoyed your stay
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: We liked that there was free breakfast and free airport shuttle and walking distance to downtown.
Cons: The hotel is very outdated.
The hotel staff was not very helpful and friendly. One of them gave us the wrong information re: transfer to the airport. As a result, we had to unnecessarily leave very early for the airport and waited hours. The heater in our room was not working but they did provide a portable heater. There was a dead insect in the air control panel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thanks for review, however since you responded anonymous we are unable to look at stay information to correct anything. If you would like to contact us we would be happy to check this out. info at regencyfairbanks dot com. As for transfers to the airport our entire staff will tell guest we leave on the hour it is recommended you leave hotel 2 hours prior to flight.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Reasonable hotel marred by some poor service

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: Downtown is fairly sparse on things to do, although the riverfront and the nearby museum are both good. Pioneer Park also worth a visit.
It may not have been the best time to visit Fairbanks - in late August some of the main roads had been taken up in preparation for the winter, effectively cutting the hotel from the city's fairly meagre downtown. The facilities in the hotel were good, and the rooms well equipped. There were some nice features to the hotel: the basement bar, front lobby and first floor large balcony all made for a pleasant environment. The bar staff and shuttle bus driver were very helpful and friendly. Less friendly was the man on reception: maybe he was having a bad day, but he came across as surly and disinterested. I'm not a demanding patron, but there is a level of helpfulness that you expect and was lacking. If this had just been about how I was dealt with at checking-in, no problem, but it was the faintly dismissive attitude I faced when I reported that the room was baking as soon as I got to it, thanks to a broken heater, that I was more concerned with. Thankfully, turning it off, opening the window and leaving the room for a couple of hours resolved this, but you expect hotel staff to be a bit more helpful, or to offer a different room in the circumstances.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, it is hotel policy if an issue is reported with either heat or air that staff address immediately, if it can not be fixed the guest is moved rooms. Since you have responded anonymous we are unable to check the room for future occupants to avoid the same issue. We will speak with the desk clerk that you are referencing to see if they might be able to help in the issue. We do apologize your stay was not what you had expected.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

It's ok ..

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Me and my boyfriend stayed for 3 nights, I personally found the guy at the desk rather rude at check in and dragged it out a bit (it was 8pm and I'd been on the train from anchorage for 12 hours) I just wanted to get in my room. The whole hotel is very dated, but it's fine it wasn't a very big deal to us. Room was very clean and had everything we needed; the cleaners were lovely and waited when we weren't quite ready to leave. Breakfast is pretty average, don't get me wrong it's convenient, but it is not great and had we not paid so much for the hotel I wouldn't have bothered eating it. Overall an alright hotel in a good area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and the rating, we do apologize you had issues with the desk clerk.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utah

Had to change rooms because employees were loud

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: The cleaning people,came everyday with new supplies etc. also the restaurant down stairs served an excellent breakfast every morning and staff great
Cons: Update furniture and rooms plus lobby. The tubs are terrible to get out of because they are so deep especially for seniors. They need some hand grips.
Location: Easy access to town and neighboring site seeing.
I complained about the noise outside our windows after two nights of loud laughing until 1:30 am in the morning. He said he would tell the employees to,be more quite and knockoff at midnight. Of course they didn't so after the third time I requested to be moved to another room. He said I wasn't the only one to complaine. We had booked a suite and the room I got was a suite but half the size very small compared to the other. I asked if we were going to be refunded some our our money and he said no because it is a suite the description on the internet said they are the same size but they are not. There was one other gentleman that we asked for help in directions and he printed off a map and it wasn't readable I asked a question about the street and he said just follow the map and walked away. Girl on days was very sweet and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 10, 2017 by Guest Relations, Hotel Management
Thanks for providing a review of your stay we do apologize for the loud noises that guest made. We do our best to keep a quite property however sometimes we fall short. I am happy that our staff was able to relocate you to another suite on property to make the rest of your stay better. We apologize that you felt you were due a refund because of the sq ft of the second suite being smaller. However, you were still relocated into a Suite as described on the booking site.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from carlsbad ca

Update Needed

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Proximity to rail and air transportation
Cons: Rooms should be gutted and updated with new carpet and drapery at a minimum
Location: One night stay only. Museums nearby are worth the visit.
Overall a good experience with helpful and friendly staff. Hotel is older and in dire need of a facelift. Room had a musty odor and what is with the half size bed pillows?
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by guest relations, Hotel Management
Thanks for providing a review of the property and your stay