Ratings based on 190 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
35% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

You couldn't pay me to stay here

Posted Aug 19, 2017
Garbage on the floor, food in the fridge, shower curtain stunk, softball-sized hole in towel, brown hand towels, wasn't convinced the bedding had been changed, stains all over carpet and dark handprints on walls/doors, elevator was out of service with no assistance from staff with luggage. Will never, ever stay at this Travelodge ever again. May never stay at any Travelodge after this experience. Steer clear!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

The Northern Most Turd

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: D
I never leave reviews in any public forum because I don't have time for these evaluations. But this place has been the worst place I have ever stayed in and I have taken time out of my busy schedule to warn everyone of this hotel. When I came into my hotel room I realized that the bathrooms had no towels. I called the receptionist and it took them 45 minutes to provide me with some towels. The towels they provided were full of holes and stained. When my son took a shower the bathtub was clogged. I again called the receptionist and she told me that there is nothing they could do. I requested a room change but they said they were sold out. I had to wash my kids feet in sink in order to prevent him from getting athletes foot or other disease from dirty shower. It was a late night check in after going to Denali Park for the day and we could not find another hotel. My other son and I took showers using sink to avoid filthy water in tub. shower The receptionist notified manager and said I was going to get discounted rate, ha what a lie. No refund yet.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Banja Luka

Horrible

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Dirty, neglected and unfriendly. Rooms are so dirty I seriously considered not staying there once I saw it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erie PA

Basic Hotel In Fairbanks, Alaska

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: They had nice continental breakfast every morning.
Cons: I am not sure that the management wants to improve anything.
Location: Fairbanks is lovely and all Americans should see it.
Travelodge Fairbanks is a basic hotel for those who are not too picky. It is old and tired and could use some capital investment which I believe will not occur. The major problem for me was the lack of hot water on Sunday, July 30, 2017. Many residences and businesses in Fairbanks use heating oil and I was told that the heating oil tank was too low and no one in management realized it until the hot water failure on July 30, 2017. Hot water was not available for any purpose until about noon. I believe that all hotels should at least allow their guests a hot bath anytime that they desire one. The housekeeping was bare minimum and on two occasions I had to call the management to demand clean towels. As long as the guest is willing to accept these understandings this hotel is livable. I have no idea how it is during the exceedingly cold Alaska winter when the temperatures can drop to minus 40 to minus 50 degrees Fahrenheit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smell of cigarettes was almost VISIBLE

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Smell of cigarettes was almost VISIBLE in the corridors... Luckily not inside the room. Hotel is outdated, just a place to sleep. Was hard to find for us because there was construction just around the hotel so we were trying to take detours etc but finally had to drive under Road Closed signs and somehow found it... Breakfast was OK!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rundown hotel-needs TLC to bring it up to par.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Inexpensive. Apple for breakfast was good. Lotion bottles. Not far from the people I visited.
Cons: NEW towels! (All I was given either had holes or stains.) Refill the shower containers and tissue box holder or don't have them there. CLEAN it!
Location: Not good part of town.
I don't think this hotel deserves to be bashed-the people weren't mean or horrible. It's just that the hotel is SO lacking! It needs a VERY good scrubbing and needs to be updated. And training on customer service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rundown hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Old, run down, and dirty. Terrible smell throughout the entire hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from anchorage

Get what you pay for

Posted Jun 27, 2017
One working ice machine for 4 floors and that one wasn't good. Trash around in the halls and old furniture. Everyday what little breakfast there was was taken by one group of Asian woman, they took all the seats too. It's was like they loved there and no one else mattered . We stayed 4 night only had our room serviced once. They allow people st smoke on the steps of the front door as you walk in. Room was fine when we got there and the staff was friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NewHampshire

Dirty Hotel Bad Location

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hotel staff, needs new flooring threw out, update records on elevator, cleaning, screens for the windows, new a/c units,
Location: bad location, within walking distance to downtown Fairbanks, everything else you had to drive too.
This was the worst hotel that I ever stayed in, it was dirty, stinky, loud during the sleeping hours, when I checked in at 5 pm, they weren't sure if there were any clean rooms, very poor staff, bad direction given by hotel staff on locating hotel, also after check in left to go get something to eat and return to find someone had entered the room after I checked in as there was an hotel key laying on the floor that wasn't there when I checked in, felt very unsafe afterwards, room was never cleaned or coffee refilled during my stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Armpit

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Very difficult to drive to
The place looked like a dive, and was located in a part of town best avoided. When we got to the hotel it was closed for the season. Even though they had my E Mail, I was never contacted. .However there was a note on the door. CLOSED FOR THE SEASON.