Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

2.5 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Erie PA

Basic Hotel In Fairbanks, Alaska

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: They had nice continental breakfast every morning.
Cons: I am not sure that the management wants to improve anything.
Location: Fairbanks is lovely and all Americans should see it.
Travelodge Fairbanks is a basic hotel for those who are not too picky. It is old and tired and could use some capital investment which I believe will not occur. The major problem for me was the lack of hot water on Sunday, July 30, 2017. Many residences and businesses in Fairbanks use heating oil and I was told that the heating oil tank was too low and no one in management realized it until the hot water failure on July 30, 2017. Hot water was not available for any purpose until about noon. I believe that all hotels should at least allow their guests a hot bath anytime that they desire one. The housekeeping was bare minimum and on two occasions I had to call the management to demand clean towels. As long as the guest is willing to accept these understandings this hotel is livable. I have no idea how it is during the exceedingly cold Alaska winter when the temperatures can drop to minus 40 to minus 50 degrees Fahrenheit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Smell of cigarettes was almost VISIBLE

Posted Aug 4, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Smell of cigarettes was almost VISIBLE in the corridors... Luckily not inside the room. Hotel is outdated, just a place to sleep. Was hard to find for us because there was construction just around the hotel so we were trying to take detours etc but finally had to drive under Road Closed signs and somehow found it... Breakfast was OK!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rundown hotel-needs TLC to bring it up to par.

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: Inexpensive. Apple for breakfast was good. Lotion bottles. Not far from the people I visited.
Cons: NEW towels! (All I was given either had holes or stains.) Refill the shower containers and tissue box holder or don't have them there. CLEAN it!
Location: Not good part of town.
I don't think this hotel deserves to be bashed-the people weren't mean or horrible. It's just that the hotel is SO lacking! It needs a VERY good scrubbing and needs to be updated. And training on customer service.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rundown hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Old, run down, and dirty. Terrible smell throughout the entire hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from anchorage

Get what you pay for

Posted Jun 27, 2017
One working ice machine for 4 floors and that one wasn't good. Trash around in the halls and old furniture. Everyday what little breakfast there was was taken by one group of Asian woman, they took all the seats too. It's was like they loved there and no one else mattered . We stayed 4 night only had our room serviced once. They allow people st smoke on the steps of the front door as you walk in. Room was fine when we got there and the staff was friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NewHampshire

Dirty Hotel Bad Location

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Hotel staff, needs new flooring threw out, update records on elevator, cleaning, screens for the windows, new a/c units,
Location: bad location, within walking distance to downtown Fairbanks, everything else you had to drive too.
This was the worst hotel that I ever stayed in, it was dirty, stinky, loud during the sleeping hours, when I checked in at 5 pm, they weren't sure if there were any clean rooms, very poor staff, bad direction given by hotel staff on locating hotel, also after check in left to go get something to eat and return to find someone had entered the room after I checked in as there was an hotel key laying on the floor that wasn't there when I checked in, felt very unsafe afterwards, room was never cleaned or coffee refilled during my stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NH

Armpit

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: Very difficult to drive to
The place looked like a dive, and was located in a part of town best avoided. When we got to the hotel it was closed for the season. Even though they had my E Mail, I was never contacted. .However there was a note on the door. CLOSED FOR THE SEASON.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Dump In Fairbanks

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Complete demolition of the facility.
Travelodge needs to send a representative to this facility. Back door was propped open with parts from a home gym. Most likely a fire code violation. Room smelled of wet carpet, possibly vomit too. Carpet throughout motel should replaced. Paint peeling on ceiling. Tub would not drain during shower. I don't usually rate motels unless they are exceptionally good, or exceptionally bad. This one is the latter. Close this place down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

The hotel needs a renovation. Rooms are noisy.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: The room was clean.
Room was clean but needs some renovations. The room did not have a TV or a refrigerator so I asked for them. Hotel staff brought us each of the items and installed them in our room. Motel is not in a very pleasing area of town and the roads getting to the hotel are all under construction.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fairbanks, AK

Don't do it!!

Posted Aug 22, 2016
1. We were sent to a dirty room. - we arrived after 10pm 2. The staff at the front desk said "give me 10 mins and it will be clean." - no thank you!! 3. Waited for the other staff member at the desk to call someone to see what he needed to do about the situation. - put us in a clean room! Hello! 4. Beds were not comfy 5. Ice machine was broken