Ratings based on 1,156 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Audrey

Other than the breakfast...it was great

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
It was a good choice, close to Downtown and various activities we were involved in. My only complaint of an otherwise great experience was their breakfast buffet. $14 for continental breakfast and $18.99 for the full but what they do not tell you is that there is garbage for selection for the continental breakfast. Unripe fruit, two or three cereal choices, and old looking pastries. My husband didn't want our last memory of the trip to be about a terrible breakfast so after managing a few bites of unripe tasteless fruit he paid for all of us (there were 4 of us) to be upgraded so we could at least have some eggs. It was pretty disappointing and the staff seemed aware of what a pathetic selection it was. Funny, the hot stuff is the cheaper stuff...eggs and proteins. Overall, the staff was great. Especially housekeeping. They were A+...just go get breakfast somewhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Land & Cruise stay

Posted May 31, 2017
Pros: The breakfast buffet was wonderful, a little pricey but very good. Nice rooms, a little small but nice.
Location: The public bus system is free for seniors. But I would recommend renting a car. The area is very easy to get around and you can go when you want.
Very nice hotel, the staff was very helpful for any of our needs. Check-in was very easy
4 out of 5
by Brian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Hotel

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The cleanliness of the hotel was great. The hotel wasn't crowded (off-season).
Cons: I don't think anything could be improved.
Location: The hotel is right in downtown Fairbanks. Small town so not much to do, but what there is to do, you are in the thick of it.
My wife and I arrived early and we were pleasantly greeted by the front lobby staff. They were very helpful and even let us check in early. We were very pleased with this after a long flight.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Anchorage, Alaska

Disappointed

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Not much!
Cons: The food at the Red Lantern could definitely be improved. Service to guests.
Location: Good Location. Near downtown - walking distance.
We were booked in the North Tower and were put in the South Tower. Very little room for us to move around. Hotel blamed it on Expedia for us being booked in the wrong tower. The Continental breakfast was horrible. Hardly would call it a continental breakfast. Staff were all rude except the Front desk Manager when we checked out. He was awesome!! Used to love staying at the Westmark. Its definitely gone downhill.
4 out of 5
by Lori

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The check in was fast, and courteous staff. The furnishings need to be updated. The sheets were very poor quality. Towels not fluffy and nice. Not as nice as I expected it would be. At in the restaurant and although the food and service was good, we encountered dirty cloth napkins. Needs to pay more attention to detail.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Nice hotel. Great staff who go the extra mile. Main let-downs were the food in Red Lantern restaurant (cold), and blinds did not cover window completely at bottom letting light in. Otherwise had a great stay.
4 out of 5
by Dellas

Good night's sleep.

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was adequate to our needs and room was quite spacious with very comfortable beds. Some staff were very courteous and helpful but hotel did not have any brochures or anyone to assist with travel or tour suggestions. Gift shop was good and reasonably priced. Restaurant was also reasonable and food was very tasty. Visiting Alaska for the first time was amazing although Fairbanks itself was a little disappointing. Although it is called a 'city' it is small by city standards with very limited dining choices and you really do need a car to get around as things are quite spread about.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Good time. Great Urgent Care across street if one is needed.