Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
65% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Layton, UT

Good Location

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: The location was great.
Cons: Invest in some renovations -- modernize and clean up the exterior. Cigarette butts EVERYWHERE.
Location: 10min walk from the Wright St. U & the Nutter Center. Decent restaurants nearby (check out 1-Eyed Jack's. Beware the meth zombies at night.
Expedia booked this hotel as part of a package for a 3-day trip to Dayton. The location was absolutely perfect. The staff was courteous upon check-in and check-out. There was literally no maid service during the stay which probably is related to the cheaper Expedia package. The room was satisfactory but had a lot of simple maintenance issues that gave it a less-than-professional image (e.g., faucet leaks everywhere when you use it, poor water pressure in shower, etc.). Met my needs but not remotely anything fancy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2017 by General Manager  , Hotel Management
James, we appreciate you staying with us. After reading your feedback about housekeeping not visiting your room, it appears we may have missed an important communication during your check-in. To respect the privacy of our guests staying for long periods of time, our housekeeping service is conducted on a weekly basis, although we are always happy to provide housekeeping at your request for a minimal fee. And fresh linens and towels along with any toiletries are always available at the front desk. We are grateful for the feedback you provided and we hope you will stay with us again soon.   Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the base

Posted Jul 3, 2017
The hotel is kept clean but the rooms are old and need of a renovation. Staff was polite and helpful and the room met my needs for a short business trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your review. We are pleased to read you had a pleasant stay and that our well-kept property and courteous associates were to your satisfaction. Your feedback is of utmost value to us as it will help us to improve. We appreciate you being our guest and hope to have the opportunity to serve you better in the future. Sincerely, General Manager
4 out of 5
by Elin from MSsachusetts

Pretty Basic

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
When we arrived the front desk staff was smoking in the parking lot and we had to wait for her return although we went by her on our way in. We picked the hotel because we wanted to use the pool, but when we arrived we were told it was not operating. No compensation was made. Although there is a kitchen, you have to ask for every item you need: pot, cover to the pot, serving spoon, forks.... it was painful and I felt like I was an inconvenience. Convenient to Wright Patterson, clean and comfortable bed, and grocery store nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Elin, thank you fro choosing to stay at Extended Stay America - Dayton - Fairborn and for sharing your review. Although you liked some aspects of our hotel, I am sorry for not meeting all of your expectations and for the inconvenience caused. I have shared your feedback with my team in an effort to improve our service and facilities moving forward. We hope to have another opportunity to provide you with an improved visit. Sincerely, General Manager
5 out of 5
by Matthew

Nice and clean

Posted Jun 1, 2017 on Hotels
I visit my children every month and my stay was excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 3, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Matthew, thank you for choosing our hotel and for your wonderful review. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that our facilities and service were to your satisfaction. We hope the Extended Stay America - Dayton - Fairborn will be your first choice every time you visit this area. Sincerely, General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017 on Hotels
Breakfast was very disappointing. Room was OK - very muggy odor. Bed was OK.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 29, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you choosing to stay with us. We are sorry our breakfast selection was not as per your liking and apologize for the smell in your room. I will share your concerns with the respective teams to take the corrective actions. We hope your overall stay was a pleasant one and that you will consider choosing us again. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay again.

Posted May 21, 2017
There was a dishwasher in the room but no coffee pot or trash cans. Otherwise ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 22, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are sorry for the inconvenience you had with your room. Kitchenware for your suite is available at the front desk as per our brand standard requirements, and our team gladly delivers these items to your suite. Your feedback is appreciated, and we will be sure our front desk communicates this more clearly going forward. Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope you will consider us the next time you are in our area. Sincerely, General Manager
2 out of 5
by Dilip

Posted May 18, 2017 on Hotels
No one at reception desk, delayed check in. bed was not king or queen size, nor was it comfortable. at time of reserving, site mentioned continental breakfast included, but there was place for grab and go, no sit down room for eating.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take these matters very seriously and will take the necessary actions to ensure this is properly addressed.
4 out of 5
by Karyn

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rex

A traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very nice stay and great location. Good value for the price. Clean and comfortable room.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to see you valued or convenient location, affordable rates, and the cleanliness of your room. Thank you again for your kind words. The staff and I would love to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
3 out of 5
by Daniel

Nice but room for improvement

Posted Apr 25, 2017 on Hotels
This is a nice hotel that has been remodeled. Make sure you verify the side of the sofa bed because they have two different sizes. We booked two rooms with 4 people per room for two nights each, but were given a room that only slept 3. The air conditioning in the one room did not work and they did not have another room to move us to for either of the two nights.Their maintenance man was on vacation. The one lady working front desk during the day was extremely rude and complained to me about how the manager left her with a mess to deal with that day. I do not need to know this information. I notified the manager and had the privilege of meeting the owner. The manager is very accommodating. The owner is very accommodating. They comp'd me one night stay and said they would process a refund for the other night for the one room through hotels.com. That refund did not come through. Had to spend an inordinate amount of time on the phone with hotels.com to get it right.....
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
I want to thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay. We apologize that your air conditioner did not work during your stay, for your refund not being processed in a timely manner and the level of service you received was not satisfactory. We are committed to continuing to provide a clean, comfortable room and property to our guests and will continue to improve our processes and standards going forward. We assure you that these issues during your visit were an exception. We would love for you to give another chance to provide you with a better overall experience in our hotel.