Ratings based on 1,465 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

Broken Shower during our Stay

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: During this stay, there was nothing that we liked. The staff dropped the ball. They offered points to compensate us for our inconvenience.
Cons: I requested a refund to my credit card on file for my stay as I had prepaid through Expedia but I wasn't accommodated.
My family always stay at this hotel during our trips to D.C. There has never been a problem. Even when the hotel was being renovated and the lobby was dusty, we never complained. When one elevator bank was closed and we had to walk to the back of the hotel to use the elevator (and wait over 5 -10 minutes), we never complained. This instance was the breaking point! It was my son's birthday, and we came to see new exhibits in DC and attend a family celebration the following evening. The first night when we needed to shower after a long day, my son turned on the water which came out scalding hot. He nearly burned his feet in the shower. The water temperature could not be adjusted. We called the front desk who promised to send a repairman the folllowing morning while we were out. When we returned after a 2nd day of sights, we checked the shower and it was still broken. My husband went to the front desk and complained. After a wait of over 20 minutes investigating, it turns out that the repair order was never logged in!!! We needed to shower before the birthday dinner but couldn't!! My husband requested another room but were told there were no more rooms with two double beds. We had to wait for the repairman who took close to 30 minutes to fix the valve with a new part. He left the tub dirty and we were unable to shower since we were late for the dinner. We arrived at a birthday dinner for my son with no shower for two days!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, helpful staff and close to facilities

Posted Sep 5, 2017
The hotel has just about anything that you might need but if you need more the Fair Oaks Mall is right across from it - you can walk to it. And, if that is not enough two quick right turns from the hotel will get you to the expressway and you can find your way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

welcoming environment

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: The air freshener at the lobby was quite therapeutic.
Cons: The elevator; only one was working throughout our stay.
Mary (the receptionist) attended to my needs promptly. The hotel staff accommodated our needs by allowing us check in on-time without an extra fee. Now, that's good customer service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delaware

easy access to 66

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: location
have stayed here in the past and used their pool. found out on this stay that pool is gone! room was fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vienna, VA

Nice hotel in a calm clean area

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The stay in this hotel is practical, they serve a good breakfast, as well as the parking is easy and the hotel is very close to fair fox mall and cheese cake factory.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Overall good stay. Comfortable and clean. Only bad thing is no free wifi or any type of complimentary breakfast. Went to the breakfast Sunday morning around 945 and I get it's a little late but for almost $20 a person I'd expect everything to be a little more fresh. Would still recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel, but no pool or microwave in room.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Pros: The location near my family was a plus, as was the price to stay.
Cons: As previously mentioned. the refrigerator and adding a microwave oven.
Location: Located next to a mall, so shopping and eating nearby was easy.
The room price was a good deal, but I was surprised by no pool or room microwave. The refrigerator was subpar, as I need to travel with insulin. The refrigerator seemed to have a mind of its own, as one day it didn't keep anything cold. It seemed to restart on its own the next day. I couldn't find a control button.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel in Fairfax

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Pros: Quite and clean rooms.
Cons: Service at the restaurant was a bit slow.
Location: Good access to the Metro and the air museum at Dulles
Hotel is very clean and staff very friendly. Would repeat without hesitation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

Stuffy room, paid wi-fi

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Even with the thermostat turned down to 62, which is as far as it would go, the room was too warm and stuffy. Wi-Fi cost a minimum of approximately $11 per day (I don't remember the exact amount right now). Many less expensive hotels now provide free Wi-Fi. Also, I called ahead, about noon on the day we were going to check in, to give advance notice that we would be arriving late and request that they save a king size bed for us. I was assured that they would do so. When we arrived, late as expected, However,front desk staff offered us a room with two double beds. We balked at that, and they came up with a room with a king size bed, but in my opinion they should have saved one as they said they would do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 5, 2017 by Katie P, Hotel Management
Dear George, Thank you for staying with us at the Fairfax Marriott! I appreciate you sharing your feedback with us and I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us. It is not our standard to have our guests' rooms to be too warm or their preferences not ready upon arrival. We will use your experience to ensure these situations do not happen in the future. Thank you!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NORTH CAROLINA

VERY NICE HOTEL FOR BUSINESS

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: LOCATION AND THE HOTEL
Cons: ANOTHER ELEVATOR
WE STAYED 5 DAYS THERE AND THE STAFF WAS EXCELLENT , VERY HELPFUL AND THE HOTEL WAS VERY CLEAN AND CONVENIENTLY LOCATED NEAR EVERYTHING.