Ratings based on 762 Verified Reviews

2.1 out of 5
29% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.3 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from riverton UT

Friendly staff

Posted Jul 2, 2017
The guy at the front desk was so helpful, giving us tips on how to get to San Francisco etc. super friendly. The only thing that wasn't so great was the free continental breakfast. Not much to choose from.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Double rooms

Posted Jun 11, 2017
No air conditioning, we got move quick which was great. But the next set of rooms had bugs in one of the bathrooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Drug deals/People living in hotel

Posted May 30, 2017
First off, the pictures look nothing like this place. My husband and I had requested a non smoking and the receptionist gives us the first room and the cigarette smell is penetrated on the walls and the room is filthy. Some lights in the bathroom don't work and you don't want to even sit on the chair, everything looks so dirty. My husband requested another room and the receptionists suggestion was to send someone to go clean it. We were able to get another room, finally. A bit more descent but on the way there we encountered some shady things going on but weren't sure and didn't want to say much. We later realized quite a few people live here and roam around all day. Way too much noise with all these people throughout the entire night. People fighting, construction going on as well. One of our last nights we saw a drug deal going on in front of us. It was just disgusting and extremely disappointing and there wasn't anything around since we went for Bottle rock. I will never stay at a Howard Johnson ever again and I'm disgusted that Expedia had this as a recommendation, it makes me second guess their requirements now.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

cold shower

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Refrigerator , TV, large room with two tables.
Cons: Replace a worn bed mattress. Add HBO, travel, and Si Fi channel. Also add CW channel, I like my Super Girl and DC comics. Add eggs for breakfast.
Location: There was nothing worth going to for sight see or shopping.
Everything was good , up until next morning. I had an appointment and must leave to beat the traffic. There was no hot water shower. Didn't expected that, but had to go . Not enough time to request for help nor complain.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

DO NOT stay here

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Total remodel or tear it down
Location: Terrible neighborhood
The front desk was kind and professional but the hotel was completely unacceptable. Condition did not match photos presented. UNFIT for my young grandchildren to stay at so we left to find another hotel. Run down and a complete mess outside. Filthy pool. One room had no carpet at all and the other had filthy carpet. Broken window coming up outside stairs in back. Looks like they are entertaining weekly rentals. Safety was a huge concern. Howard Johnson Hotels should be ashamed.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: all things
Location: vallejo
They gave me a smoking room with my kids and we moved after 2 hours
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N

Not great

Posted May 1, 2017
Room was dirty, hair in sink old soap in bathroom. Only one trash can in whole room. It was decent, but not great. I wouldn't stay there alone.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The worse hotel I've ever stayed at

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Pros: Nothing at all.
Cons: Everything
Our neighbor's were fighting all night and honking their horn all night long. My husband called the front desk several times and they did absolutely nothing about it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cupertino, ca

Good location! but not a good neighborhood.

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Good location! but not a good neighborhood. staff was nice, room is ok even dirty carpet, worst Continental Breakfast never had.
3 out of 5
by robert

Posted Apr 14, 2017 on Hotels
room ok-internet to weak to use-construction going on -good breakfast-friendy employees