Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice getaway

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful historic B&B - would stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Dinner Theater and friendly Service
Cons: WiFi Signal Strength available in Guest Rooms
Location: 10 minutes from Gettysburg
Friendly Service and great Dinner Theater. Near Gettysburg (10 minutes down the road) and its attractions
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greensboro NC

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Location, price, staff, food and the historic background of the Inn.
Cons: The food was excellent but the portions far too large. We gained wait after only staying one night.
Location: See above.
Had a wonderful time. John, the owner was delightful and his entire staff was wonderful. The Inn was convenient to our next stop(Sharpsburg) and our previous stop(Gettysburg). The food was great and the Chef, Terry, provided personal service to all guests. Any minor problems(few) we handled quickly and efficiently.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jessica from Baltimore

First impressions are key

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
Initial greeting was terse and unfriendly. In a confirmation email, check-in time was listed as 12-2 on Sundays. When I responded to the email, I informed "Ashley" that I'd arrive between 12-2. Upon my arrival at approximately 12:30, another woman opened the door and rudely told me I was "early" and they "weren't expecting me so early." Although the remainder of my stay was adequate, that first impression of the establishment makes it a difficult recommendation or choice for future stays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lawrence from Dunkirk, MD

Great Staff and Lots of Character

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
My wife and I were taking a trip to Gettysburg and she booked this B&B as I like older buildings with character and this did not disappoint. The Fairfield is the second longest continuously operating Inn in the country. It was build in the 1700s and has many very neat/interesting features - huge fireplaces in the common areas; original woodworking and floors that show their age in wear and lack of levelness. I will caution, those who like clean lines and fresh paint will be disappointed - if you like new, this place isn't for you. Staff was exceptionally friendly and made sure we were comfortable/well cared for. The Inn is located in a very small town about 15 mins from Gettysburg. There isn't a lot to do in the town of Fairfield, but there is quite a bit to do in Gettysburg. Overall a nice little slice of history with a charming staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Janice from FT Dix NJ

A hidden gem near Gettysburg

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
This was our first experience at a B&B and weren't really sure what to expect. When we arrived it felt like we came to visit family. The entire staff went out of their way to welcome us and make us feel at home. The food is incredible and the portions generous. We visit Gettysburg to hike the battlefield and learn more about the history. The Fairfield Inn is immersed in the history of the area and is very close to East Cavalry field. This will be our destination point going forward.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Carrie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jen from Rochester, ny

Great historic bed & breakfast

Posted Aug 27, 2013
Pros: Great food, friendly staff
Location: Not in Gettysburg but close (within minutes), wineries, great restaurants
Nice, friendly staff, comfortable room, large bathroom. You are staying in a part of history. Delicious food available at convenient times. They even upgraded our room because a better room was available. We only returned home yesterday and I have already recommend the fairfield inn twice! If we get a chance to return to the area without our young children, we would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Russ from LoCo, NoVA

Excellent B&B with Great History

Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels
Originally built in 1757, I loved the history in this old inn. You do have to keep the age of the structure in mind to set expectations, but the rooms were nice. I stayed in the "Major Starr" room on the top floor. The room was nicely appointed with period furniture and included an in-room private bathroom with good water pressure. The window AC unit struggled to keep up with the 95+ degree heat wave we were experiencing during the day but the room was quite comfortable in the evenings and mornings. Food was basic but good with excellent home made pies for dessert and a robust breakfast in the morning. I will return to this inn with my family in the future.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Heather

Do not reccomend

Posted Jan 8, 2013 on Hotels
I bought this as a gift for my parents. After the first night, they just went home. There were big holes in the floor, and the only privacy in the bathroom were sheers over the windows. In the evening, the hotel attendents left and they were the only 2 people in the whole place.