Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awesome if you love ghost

Posted Aug 29, 2016
There is so much you can say. The staff was so nice and was right there if there was a issue. The history of the Inn is amazing like stepping back in time. And if you are into the paranormal this place is for you. Bring a open mind and voice recorder. You won't be sorry
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful facility filled with character.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Staff was friendly and helpful. I could not have asked for a better experience.
5 out of 5
by Kelli from Michigan

Great experience!

Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay at the Historic Fairfield Inn. First impression was much different than our final impression, as nobody was at the inn when we arrived (we had the entire place to ourselves, so I guess that was nice! Though would have enjoyed being greeted by staff -- even they were missing from the inn during our checkin around 6pm!) and it seemed a little less than welcoming. Once we got settled, we walked around the little town of Fairfield which is quaint and full of the friendliest people. Had dinner right down the street, talked to some locals and headed back to the room. The self-tour of the hotel was a lot of fun and nice entertainment, and the charm of each room made us want to buy a Civil War home of our own. Our room was nice and clean, though the sheets and towels smelled a little funny. We would stay here again if in the area but would look forward to trying out a new room each stay.
5 out of 5
by Tinamarie from Elkhart, IN

Steeped in History

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Great place to stay if you wish to steep yourself in the history of Gettysburg. Enjoy! I did!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice getaway

Posted Oct 20, 2015 on Hotels
Wonderful historic B&B - would stay again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Dinner Theater and friendly Service
Cons: WiFi Signal Strength available in Guest Rooms
Location: 10 minutes from Gettysburg
Friendly Service and great Dinner Theater. Near Gettysburg (10 minutes down the road) and its attractions
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Greensboro NC

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: Location, price, staff, food and the historic background of the Inn.
Cons: The food was excellent but the portions far too large. We gained wait after only staying one night.
Location: See above.
Had a wonderful time. John, the owner was delightful and his entire staff was wonderful. The Inn was convenient to our next stop(Sharpsburg) and our previous stop(Gettysburg). The food was great and the Chef, Terry, provided personal service to all guests. Any minor problems(few) we handled quickly and efficiently.
3 out of 5
by Jessica from Baltimore

First impressions are key

Posted May 21, 2015 on Hotels
Initial greeting was terse and unfriendly. In a confirmation email, check-in time was listed as 12-2 on Sundays. When I responded to the email, I informed "Ashley" that I'd arrive between 12-2. Upon my arrival at approximately 12:30, another woman opened the door and rudely told me I was "early" and they "weren't expecting me so early." Although the remainder of my stay was adequate, that first impression of the establishment makes it a difficult recommendation or choice for future stays.
5 out of 5
by Lawrence from Dunkirk, MD

Great Staff and Lots of Character

Posted Dec 12, 2014 on Hotels
My wife and I were taking a trip to Gettysburg and she booked this B&B as I like older buildings with character and this did not disappoint. The Fairfield is the second longest continuously operating Inn in the country. It was build in the 1700s and has many very neat/interesting features - huge fireplaces in the common areas; original woodworking and floors that show their age in wear and lack of levelness. I will caution, those who like clean lines and fresh paint will be disappointed - if you like new, this place isn't for you. Staff was exceptionally friendly and made sure we were comfortable/well cared for. The Inn is located in a very small town about 15 mins from Gettysburg. There isn't a lot to do in the town of Fairfield, but there is quite a bit to do in Gettysburg. Overall a nice little slice of history with a charming staff.
5 out of 5
by Janice from FT Dix NJ

A hidden gem near Gettysburg

Posted Sep 21, 2014 on Hotels
This was our first experience at a B&B and weren't really sure what to expect. When we arrived it felt like we came to visit family. The entire staff went out of their way to welcome us and make us feel at home. The food is incredible and the portions generous. We visit Gettysburg to hike the battlefield and learn more about the history. The Fairfield Inn is immersed in the history of the area and is very close to East Cavalry field. This will be our destination point going forward.