Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Trutch manor

Posted Nov 4, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed in a wonderful roomy two room suite downstairs because we were upgraded. The room that we booked which had a jetted tub was not available. It had plumbing issues. The Sweet we stayed in had a shower which was disappointing because I really wanted a tub. Also, the shower did not drain well. Breakfast was slow, but really good and the room was very charming and comfortable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

No Door on the Bathroom

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Nice people, fabulous breakfast, perfect location near Inner Harbour, Cook Street, etc., quiet.
Cons: No door on the bathroom. Smoke alarm not connected. Cleaning so-so. Same key can open every guest suite.
I like to be balanced in a review so the good points are nice people, fabulous breakfast, perfect location near Inner Harbour, Cook Street, etc., quiet. The main reason I was disappointed was there is no door on the bathroom; there's just a white curtain. I frankly don't understand how any B&B can be approved with no bathroom door. The cleaning wasn't great. Two final issues were the smoke alarm was clearly disconnected and the main door key opens the rooms so any guest could open your door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stavely, Alberta

Home away from home

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Hominess
Location: Great location. Village nearby with restaurants and shops. 15 min walk to downtown. Really central
Wonderful place to stay. Staff was so friendly and helpful, they made us feel right at home. Amazing breakfasts. Clean and comfortable, really cozy. Would recommend this to anyone, we will be booking there again for sure. Sherrin and Maria outstanding in their field.
5 out of 5
by John

Amazing Character Home

Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels
this is a century old home and is well appointed. Staff very nice and helpful, Breakfast amazing to say the least. Temperature was a lot warmer than normal but the owner did supply a number of fans to help us cool. It was a treat to meet and visit with visitors literally from around the globe. Many thanks to Sherrin, Maria and other staff (sorry we didn't get her name)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle wa

Hotel is beyond great!!!

Posted Aug 31, 2017
This hotel is near to Victoria BC downtown, inside and out is all antique looks which give you a feelings like a king in castle. Breakfast is the something I have never tried before. Everything great and I would 100% comeback into this hotel and would recommend to anyone-experience everything in antique and feel like a king in castle.
4 out of 5
by Mei

If you into antiques, you'd love this place

Posted Aug 27, 2017 on Hotels
Maria, the helper is a gem to this B&B/hotel. She keeps the place tidy and clean. Very attentive and helpful. I felt very welcomed. Room is immaculately decorated. I'm impressed. Too bad I had to leave early. Otherwise I'd have stayed a lil longer.
1 out of 5
by Adrian

Stay away from Trutch Manor

Posted Aug 11, 2017 on Hotels
Not a good experience! We arrived on 03 August and after a long day found the building advertised. We looked to check in and could find no one around. Eventually a handyman helped us out and took us to another building across the street and found out that our room was in this building. When we got into the room we found that it lacked a lot of what was advertised. It had no kitchen, no television not even so much as a clock radio or even a box of Kleenex, nothing. The room was extremely hot and extremely dated. Wallpaper pealing off of the walls in the bathroom. A hole in the ceiling covered with painters tape. The furnishings were old (not antique) and much of it was broken. (Doors, drawers, etc.) When we got to speak with her she blamed the site for inaccurately describing the room, insisted that she told them to be accurate with the description and said that she only sees the booking schedule, what a cop out. We looked for another place to stay but the city was booked up for the long weekend. We had no where else to stay. She put a 24in TV in the room by running a cable down the hall and under the door from another room. The next morning we closed the door to the room and went to breakfast. My wife left her purse and wallet on the dresser. When we returned she realized that someone had stolen $140.00 from her purse! She spoke to the owner and after some discussion she agreed to take the money stolen off of the final bill. To summarize, NEVER AGAIN!
5 out of 5
by Eric J

Stay at Trutch Manor!

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
Sherrin is an excellent host. We arrived on a late night ferry, but she was there to greet us and get us settled in. Breakfast is wonderful!
5 out of 5
by Susan

Posted Jul 21, 2017 on Hotels
We had a great time there. I thought I asked for a kitchen but we didn't get one the staff where very friendly. And the atmosphere was good.
5 out of 5
by F Scott

An Enjoyable Getaway in Victoria

Posted Jun 17, 2017 on Hotels
Comfortable, clean and quiet. We had a nice stay in this quiet neighbourhood well located to Fairfield and downtown Victoria. We met some really interesting people at the morning breakfast table. Service was good and staff was friendly.