Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincoln, CA

Charming to some, no return for others

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Location: Located in area of bars, restaurants, local shops, massage parlors, and businesses such as dentistry, and real estate. Bay view.
This is an old hotel from the gold rush days, think "Gunsmoke" haunted house or brothel, in the tourist area and local shops of downtown. If you like vintage antique motif and don't mind that things aren't in traditional hotel standards, creeky, unlevel floors, cob webs, broken furniture, absent hotel staff, and the need to carry a key to the front door of the hotel and room key, small TV , you might like this small town Union Hotel. If you want uptown quality, this isn't your overnight destination.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Awesome and quaint! Loved loved it!!

Posted Aug 29, 2016
I loved the history on this hotel and how laid back the staff even the town was. Seems like a great place to live !!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room old,out dated appliances were old also.

Posted Aug 16, 2016
We stayed one night although had booked for 2 nights. We asked if we could check out and not be charged the second night. We were told it would not be a problem. Later I received a voice message at 5:20 stating that I would be charged $100.00 for a late fee. I tried to phone back but was unable to speak to someone no one answered at the switchboard Very disappointed
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco Bay area

Noisy main street hotel in this little town

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Located near restaurants and bay water.
Cons: The maid needs a checklist.Clean the coffee pot, make sure lights are plugged in and working.Clean out the drawers.Put grab bar> tub+add Ice machine.
Location: water promenade about 4 bocks, food, antiques, restaurants nearby; festivals on some weekends; glass blowers/artists shops in town
Hotel sits on main street, so car traffic until 2am, which you can hear. Microwave in room on the floor!!--what no budget for table? Coffee pot but no cream, sugar, COFFEE, filters or cups (really). Old coffee filter still in machine. Quilt rack in bathroom--for no purpose. Jacuzzi tub limits people w/disabilities and no hand rail. All lamps in room unplugged. Office closes at 6pm so NO ICE available after that. Lively bar under hotel, restaurants within walking distance, bay promenade 4 blocks away and grocery nearby. Room decorated w/antiques and four poster bed. Bathroom large, tiled, updated. Elevator a plus. Morning breakfast: coffee so strong that I added 2 cups of hot water and 3 creams so I could drink it, limited choices of pastry, yogart, string cheese, with sugar and creamer hidden in a drawer. No one in office when I left at 11am. Could be so much better with a little attention to details.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Quaint hotel, right in town

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: Its Historical nature
Location: The are numerous restaurants, a great many shops all very close, easy walking distance. Town was clean, safe and friendly.
I made a mistake when booking my room. The hotel accommodated the me and corrected my error. No problems, fast courteous and pleasant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic landmark with period furniture.

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Nice hotel but a few things didn't work. Was told there was breakfast but there was none and no one was there in the morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Old Hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: better staff hours
Check in is at 3:00 pm; no one at hotel until 3:00. Arrived at 1:00 pm, had to drag luggage around town for 2 hours.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Old hotel, somewhat redone

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: Location, mattress, bathtub/shower, refrig in room, nice floor in room
Cons: settee waaay too low, TV miniscule, low toilet, bed frame rattles cuz mattress smaller than frame, decor, need grab bar in shower, towel rack loose
Location: Java Point Cafe... great breakfasts. Found diagonal free parking very near. Good neighborhood feel for a business district.
Smelled cigarette smoke in hallway right outside room door... more than once. My room was quiet, like I asked for. Bed comfortable. Piece of furniture with mirror (old fashioned 'vanity'?) was awkward... not enough surface area. Wash cloths old and rough. Hand and bath towels OK.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Great location being on first Street walkable downtown area
Cons: They are Tryan but it definitely needs some help
The hotel was tired and needs a remodel and a deep cleaning
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice for the price.

Posted Mar 11, 2016
Room well decorated. Small but adequate continental breakfast. The room was very nicely appointed. The bed a bit firm for my taste. A restaurant and bar attached to the hotel and excellent downtown location. Well worth the price.