Ratings based on 168 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay with outstanding spa

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Excellent hotel with outstanding staff that wanted to make sure we were well cared for. The spa had been redone since my last stay and facilities were first rate. Service was excellent and the combination of the facility and people provided a product that makes me want to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice!

Posted Sep 16, 2017
Very friendly staff, beautiful location and facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gastonia , NC

Special trip with my grandson.

Posted Aug 17, 2017
I wanted to show my grandson the best of Alabama and knew The Grand had to be part of the experience. I have been a guest there many times as it's my favorite US hotel. We had a lovely gulf view room and the property more than lived up to my promises!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Baton Rouge, LA

Plenty of activities

Posted Jul 29, 2017
Pros: The swimming pools, slide of kids and especially the adult pool.
Cons: Cheaper options for food.
Location: Did not leave the resort.
Swimming, walking, biking, kayaking, games, activities for children were our experience. The shooting of the cannon at 4 pm was fun to see as well. Had a good time at bingo. Food is very expensive, but good. It is a nice resort and the swimming in pools, and the bay were a lot of fun.
5 out of 5
by Charlene

Blissful

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
This is a FIRST class resort!!! Everything is done in the upmost care & consideration. The grounds, pool & spa are beautiful, and every person we came in contact with were SO kind!! It was a refreshing get away! We felt like we were hundreds of miles from home! Yet only an hour from Mobile.
5 out of 5
by George F

Anniversary

Posted Jun 28, 2017 on Hotels
35th Wedding Anniversary and we couldn't have spent it at a better place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Jonathan

Beautiful property with something for everyone

Posted May 19, 2017 on Hotels
Fairhope is a utopia as far as southern charm and small town atmosphere. The resort continues this feeling with its beautiful landscape of moss draped live oaks along the shores of Mobile Bay . The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the service was wonderful with an extremely welcoming staff, and the history of the hotel itself is great. There is plenty to do on the resort property, with everything from relaxing on the sand beaches, sitting by the pool, tennis, golf, or just taking a stroll around the property. The breakfast setup at the hotel is amazing, offering something for everyone. We ate all of our other meals off property, and downtown Fairhope has plenty to offer. Our hotel stay came with complimentary use of the tennis facility, which we took advantage of. The clay courts are excellent quality. Our only complaint about the stay was the mattress, which was extremely uncomfortable. Neither me nor my wife, as well as the other couple that we traveled with, slept well due to the bedding situation. We found them way too firm for the average person, and not near the quality I would expect from such a wonderful, upscale property. I have heard an renovation is planned, and hopefully that includes the beds. I would still recommend the property to friends and family, but would mention the bedding.
5 out of 5
by Catherine

Anniversary

Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
We stayed at the hotel for our 29th Wedding Anniversary. It had the most wonderful staff and is truly beautiful! We're going back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

Beautiful grounds and views

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: The beautiful grounds, pool, spa
Cons: The rooms
Location: Pointclear/Fairhope is a charming small town with nice shops and restaurants.
Friendly staff, beautiful and well-kept grounds, perfect for a relaxing weekend getaway. The rooms are undergoing renovations which is a smart move as they are spacious but outdated. Highly recommended and plan to return.