Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016
I did like the fact it was an historic hotel, but for what I payed I expected more than what was provided.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perrysburg, Ohio USA

Funky Old Hotel

Posted Jul 26, 2016
We stayed four nights in the Fairplay Valiton, while visiting family in the area. We gave the hotel a try based on information that ownership had changed back to former owners who had good reputation. Our experience is that the hotel is clean and comfortable, although a little shabby and in need of some repairs and updating. Our TV did not work and the staff was unable to restore service during our stay. The front desk was generally unattended although someone would show up when called. The lounge was open sporadically over the weekend, but the musical entertainment (cover group) was fun on Saturday night. We checked out the other classic hotel choice in Fairplay while in town, and will probably stay there next time.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Is this one for you?

Posted Jul 23, 2016
If you are looking for the cookie cutter chain hotel, this is not for you. If you are looking the impersonal, not in appearance inn keeper, who is actually concerned about your well being in 10,000 elevation , this is not for you. If you are looking for a 72 inch high tech TV with 500 channels that you can watch instead of hiking or enjoying the incredible views of this quaint town, this is not for you. If you are looking for a quaint antique hotel with lots of character and a memorable experience then, YES, this one is for you!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
We booked a King room and when we checked in they said all they had was queen. and not very pleasant at front desk. will not return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2013 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2013 on Hotels
The absence of anyone at the check in desk at virtually any time during the stay was a bit disconcerting. The rates were high for the quality of the facility and location.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 11, 2013 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Terrance

Dirty and old in an uncharming way

Posted Feb 19, 2013 on Hotels
Our room was dirty - lots of hairs in the shower and bathroom that didn't belong to us. NO HOT WATER so we couldn't even take showers. No functioning light switch in the shower and a 12" TV circa 1995.
4 out of 5
by Bob & Lonie

Historic site conceniently on the main route

Posted Feb 1, 2013 on Hotels
Loved the historical ambience of the hotel. Also appreciate that it was pet friendly. Believe they are renovating, but with only one electrical plug in the room/bath, I was afraid to use my hair dryer. Park across the street was not pet friendly. Maybe a dispenser for bags with a sign saying please pick up after your dog would be better than "No dogs allowed."
5 out of 5
by Avi

Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels
Good hotel, the 9 is not an easy drive, but the food was good and it was clean and comfortable