Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Near Toronto, Ontario

Nice hotel close to Halifax airport and Halifax

Posted Sep 20, 2017
Pros: Location is excellent. Good food. Nice country inn atmosphere.
Cons: The owners need to spend some money improving the grounds, tennis courts, etc.
Location: The location is handy to the highway between Halifax and Halifax airport. It is isolated but there are excellent walking trails about 15 kms away.
We were looking for nice accommodations near Halifax but outside the city and found Inn-on-the-lake through a Trip Advisor search. This has the appearance of a country inn, has nice grounds, good restaurant and good food. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Good service. Clean, well-decorated rooms. Only stayed one night but would have happily stayed longer if that fit our plans.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 15, 2017
The room and staff were great but we found the breakfast area in the morning was too full of people and ran out of food
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Nice place clean. Awesome staff at front desk and Jessica in the lounge was also great. Nice spot by the lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Moncton, NB

Posted Sep 13, 2017
I booked last-minute for a single night and wasn't expecting much. I was pleasantly surprised. The check-in was a bit odd and awkward but the building and room were quite nice. Slightly outdated but still comfortable and clean. There was an odd claw foot bathtub in the room beside the bed that was a bit out of place. Bedding could be updated. Overall, though, it exceeded my expectations for a small rural hotel/inn. The grounds are beautiful as well. A pretty serene place to wake up in. I'd be happy to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Nice hotel close to Halifax & Dartmouth NS

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Very Inn - Like.
Cons: Wish breakfast was included we would have enjoyed the view.
Location: Halifax is 22 mins, toll via Dartmouth. Halifax is a lovely waterfront shopping area and restaurants. Easy to drive watch for construction.
Nice room but no stairs. The room faced the pool and the lake. The staff were helpful and nice. Unfortunately, breakfast is not included.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel. Good location.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Quality hotel, staff very friendly offering overall good service. We enjoyed a couple of meals at the hotel restaurant, including breakfast.........most enjoyable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Nice, clean and comfortable

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel is far from the city, the bus stop is far from the hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New England

Old fashioned elegance, pleasant setting

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Pros: French ambience of the architecture-sort of like a medium sized chalet--good food in restaurant. Clean-easy to get to other sights.
Cons: Desk clerk we first had. Paddle boats need repair. Grounds need sprucing up.
Location: We spent a wonderful day in Halifax enjoying the Tall Ship celebrations, went to Peggy's Cove and Lunenburg quite easily from here. Lovely!!
Pretty setting, easy to get to sights, lake pretty but not conducive to swimming and paddle boat a bit of a disappointment. Pool quite a chilly temp-no rail to help getting in, depth went from 3 to 8 ft quite abruptly. Meals expensive, a bit slow in arrival though the food is well prepared. Our (rather small) balcony sat diagonal to where staff must have slipped out to smoke--so a detraction-and view was mostly parking lot. The first desk clerk we met was very attentive to a customer who had walked in with no reservations but had money to pay for the SUITE, which was vacant and very expensive. The clerk hung on his every word, and although we had made reservations weeks in advance and had driven a long way, we had quite a long wait until she registered us. I found her to be the only person who was so inconsiderate-but she was our first contact at the hotel. Other staff was more helpful-wait staff was very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Breton

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017
A very good hotel. The staff made it an excellent place to stay. They allowed us to check in early and exchanged rooms for us due to mobility issues for my mom....very accommodating. Very friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saskatchewan

Excellent country Inn

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Terrific alternative to airport hotels if you want to stay north of Halifax. Close enough to drive into the city, restaurants and amenities very nearby, and a beautiful setting, rooms, staff are excellent. Great food on site. Close to airport but very quiet. Will definitely stay again.