Ratings based on 234 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Fantastic wedding venue

Posted Aug 11, 2017
We had the pleasure of staying at the Solent for the weekend while attending a wedding hosted by the hotel. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are spotlessly clean & come with coffee machine, fresh milk and biscuits. We were part of a larger wedding party and everyone agreed that any questions or quibbles were dealt with effectively and efficiently. The spa is very good too, small but perfect space to relax and refresh.. and u can have drinks delivered to the seating area. We would definitely recommend this hotel, Dan and his team are a credit to the Thwaites brand. Oh, and the new lodges they have built look amazing!!! We will definitely try them on our return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Derbyshire

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Attended for my sons wedding. It was amazing, the organisation was second to none
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ayrshire

Nice spa facilities

Posted Aug 7, 2017
The hotel was lovely and I enjoyed my stay but I was let down by the attention to detail of housekeeping. I could not have a cup of tea in the room and had to repeatedly ask for milk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Very good hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017
We only used the hotel as a stopover having returned on the late ferry into Portsmouth so didn't get to use all the lovely looking facilities. Arrived late, 23:35, but chap on reception was brilliant. There was a wedding party going on and whether by design or not our room was a long way from the celebrations which was perfect. Great breakfast in the morning, but as a Thwaites establishment why no black pudding? :-) Would certainly return here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Very good hotel & facilities. Friendly staff, decent location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Worcester

Hotel near New Forest

Posted Aug 3, 2017
The hotel is ideal location as a base for outing around New Forest and down the road from shops and restaurants. We enjoyed the spa/swimming after a day out with our kids. However the room is small for family room with step down in the middle of the room and the bed/sofa bed were in poor condition, so not getting a good night sleep. For a 4 star hotel, I was disappointed one day they forgot to refill the coffee/tea/milk/water and no bin bag!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central location for our visit

Posted Jul 19, 2017
On arrival given key to already occupied room and had to wait sometime to get a room. Next evening our key didn't work as the room change not activated. Poor management. On check out confusion over breakfast charges and promised reduction never materialised. Overall staff very friendly but management poor.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Badly organised

Posted Jul 9, 2017
When you make a cup of tea and the milk is 4 days out of date and curdled you know the place has failed
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with surprise outside lovely terrace.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Overnight stay with dinner was a very enjoyable experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Stay in Junior Suite

Posted Jul 1, 2017
- terrible wifi on 1st floor - bath was high which resulted in the shower head being too high for someone who is 5ft4. Shower head could have been nice. - Apart from that very lovely grounds, fab breakfast, pool looked nice, lovely free toiletries but interesting combo of fragrances.