Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Historic hotel in beautiful surroundings

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The staff, the architecture, the location, the gardens and the food.
Cons: Room comfort, particularly the bed/mattress
Location: Rural but close to Fleet, Hartley Wintney and J4a of the M3. Rail link to London at Winchfield or Fleet, 10 minutes from hotel.
Very much enjoyed our time at the Elvetham - a stunning Gothic mansion set within its own beautifully maintained classical gardens. The staff were friendly, professional and welcoming...the food was excellent...the hotel itself peaceful and quiet. Perfect location in open North East Hampshire countryside, close to Hartley Wintney and within an hour of central London. Our room was spotlessly clean, although small and a little tired. The bed seemed cheap and the mattress too soft: the hotel has been mostly renovated but our room was possibly in an area that hadn't yet been fully updated. We'll definitely return, although we'd ask to see the room before completing check-in. Apparently, rooms in the main house are better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Nice country hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Set in its own grounds
Cons: Needs some redecoration
Easy checking in. Helpful staff. Excellent breajfast
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Best reasonably priced hotel in the area

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: Lovely building and grounds, attentive staff, quiet and private.
Cons: Occasionally rattly old bins are wheeled across the inner courtyard. Has to be done I'm sure, but annoying when done after 10pm or before 7.30am!
There are hotels around Hook that might be able to compete with The Elvetham, but they are so expensive that I am never likely to find out! Lovely building and grounds, very quiet and attentive staff. Couldn't ask for any more really.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 27, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel in a wonderful setting. Very good service the room was clean and perfect for what I needed. The only downside was that the heating was on full blast in the room and there was no way to regulate the temperature.
5 out of 5
by James

Great Stay

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with great character and really friendly staff. For the price paid it was excellent value. There was a wedding on which could have disturbed me but they had considered this and moved me to another room during check in.
5 out of 5
by Samuel

Fantastic historic property in the countryside

Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels
We were pleasantly surprised at how beautifully and well maintained this historic property is. It is very quiet, surrounded by acres of private gardens. The food for breakfast and in the dining room was excellent. There were very good vegetarian selections. The room was clean and spacious with views of the gardens. The only draw back is that there is no lift. So be prepared for lots of stairs if you want to stay in the main house, which we highly recommend.
4 out of 5
by Mickeyt from Bournemouth

Lovely Hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
Stunning building and grounds, wonderful for weddings, however my room was a bit pokey and way too hot, sash window only opened so much. It's the sort of place that was once something very special and could be again with a bit more design in the bedrooms. mine felt like a standard B&B magnolia room. TV way too big for the room. If the owners have £50m to spend on a full refurb and build a spa then this place could charge £250 a night. The staff were friendly enough albeit without a uniform or a brand it all looks a bit amateur. Lessons in deportment would help no end. I have worked in some luxury hotels where I would have been sacked just for shuffling about like some of the staff. Worth a stay if you want some faded elegance and past grandeur, if you are a tired businessman then stick to the Premier Inn
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely Genuine Country House Hotel

Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
Not offering anything more that many other hotels offer for business customers, this hotel is , however, outstanding owing to its setting and the uniqueness of the building I half expected Heathcliff to come riding through the foggy November night!!. The Staff members were courteous and helpful. and the room had everything I personally need for a restful but brief stay. Breakfast was an English or continental buffet of good quality. Eating in the conservatory overlooking formal gardens made it a bit 'special' though. Unlike so many other fake interiors imposed upon country house hotels , Elvetham wears it's genuine heritage with pride, making for a lovely stay. I am returning for business and I am considering a weekend break.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business. One night. Small room. Did the job.

Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
Business. One night. Small room. Did the job. Lovely old and interesting building and grounds in remarkable condition. Nice romantic location.