Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 30, 2016
The room is clean and charming. The host is friendly and offer variety selection for breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guilford, CT

An exquisite hotel in a real medieval setting

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The warmth of the owner and her assistant, the beauty of the decor, and the quality of the breakfast.
Cons: Wifi service in our room was off-and-on, but you only have to go into the common room to get a strong, uninterrupted signal.
We just loved this place! The Residenza Farnese, in the town of the same name, is a bit off the beaten path but only a couple of hours by car from the Rome airport. The on-line pictures accurately show the understated elegance and tasteful decor of the rooms. What they don't show is how comfortable the beds are, how delicious the breakfast is, and how warmly welcoming the bilingual owner and her assistant are. The Residenza is located in the medieval quarter of Farnese, a small town a little over an hour's drive southwest of Orvieto. Farnese is a real working Italian town in Northern Lazio, not a gentrified, overly cute, cater-to-tourists village you might find elsewhere. You will definitely need a car to enjoy Farnese to the fullest. Within easy driving distance are the hill towns of Pitigliano and Montefiascone, the walled city of Tuscania, the lakeside resorts of Bolsena and Capodimonte and, of course, the beautiful city of Orvieto, with it's astonishing cathedral. Only a little farther by car are the Tuscan seaside resorts of Porto Ercole and Santo Stefano on the island of Monte Argentario, and, in the opposite direction, the Umbrian hill town of Todi. You can park briefly in the Piazza to roll your bags about 75 meters to the hotel, then park for free, 24-7, in one of the large lots only a little farther away. Only 50 meters from the hotel is a great little restaurant -- La Piazzetta del Sole -- where the food is local and delicious.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Real Italy!!! Italian Jewel you must visit!!

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Pros: Everything was perfect, i will be back SOON!!!
We arrived to Farnese after 4 days in Rome. Per the reviews we thought it was going to be ok but it was a wonderful surprise to find such a wonderful, nice and peaceful place right in the center middle of the country side. Franchesca (the owner) is a great host and the way she run the hotel i must say is way better than a simple bed and breakfast and also by far better than many self called "hotels" we have seen during our trip. Farnese is a beautiful town, close to Pitigliano and not that far from Orvieto, two small towns you must visit if you go to Italy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Residenza Farnese

Posted Apr 24, 2012
Pros: Quality of the design and fittings, and a perfect host
Cons: No close vehicle access, streets behind the hotel can be noisy in the evenings ... but it's really nothing
Location: Beautiful part of town, old cobbled streets
Much, much better than I'd expected or hoped. Highly reccomended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from solferino

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Un b&b in mezzo al medioevo dove tutto è storia e tutta la natura e' a portata di mano. Una gita alle città del tufo poi e' il completamento di una gita magnifica in ambienti così insoliti almeno per chi vive in città. Assolutamente da provare.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vallecamonica

Un piccolo gioiello in centro storico

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: Tutto.
Location: Al centro di un borgo storico, ben segnalato (indicazioni stradali). Ristoranti (2) a 4 passi dal B&B anch'essi caratteristici e con specialità locali
Tranquillità, cortesia in un ambiente caratteristico nel centro storico di un piccolo borgo fatto di strette viuzze e case in pietra e tufo. Località incantevole e pulita. Ottima accoglienza. Ottima sistemazione (camere) per arredamenti, spazio e servizi. Il legno dei soffitti e pavimenti rende l'ambiente caldo e rustico. Ottima (e completa) colazione. I due minuti necessari per raggiungere a piedi il B&B sono ampiamente ripagati dallo spettacolo offerto dalla vista che si gode aprendo le finestre della camera. Esperienza da ripetere sicuramente
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montaione Fi

Graziosissimo nascosto nei vicoli fioriti a Farnes

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: La stanza nostra è sottotetto ma spaziosa e servita di aria condizionata. Atmosfera calda, arredamento piacevolissimo e tanti libri
Cons: La colazione del mattino. Avrei voluto mangiare frutta, cereali e yougurt biologici. Marmellate fatte in casa e burro di bufala, il meglio di zona
Location: Situato nel bellissimo paese di Farnese, pittoresco e non turistico. Camminate nella Selva del Lamone e cena alla Piazzetta del Sole
Accolti in condizioni certo non allettanti per un proprietario: 1 notte sola accompagnati da due cani. La proprietaria benché un minimo preoccupata è stata disponibilissima e ricca di consigli su dove cenare e raccontare del bellissimo paese di Farnese.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 28, 2015 by general manager, Hotel Management
Mi dispiace molto constatare delle inesattezze inerenti alla colazione, devo precisare che non solo abbiamo tre diversi cereali nel buffet ma a richiesta sia per bambini che per adulti con intolleranze ne abbiamo anche altri; la frutta è quella di stagione e dei contadini della nostra zona non manca mai e le marmellate di diversi gusti sono quelle prodotte non da me, che quotidianamente sforno pane torte e biscotti, ma da una fattoria biologica di zona, per quanto riguarda gli yogurt quando mi è possibile metto a disposizione anche quelli biologici, mentre per il burro di bufala sinceramente non c'era,anche perchè qui nella Maremma Tosco Laziale abbiamo solo cinghiali!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from RE

Curatissimo nei dettagli

Posted Jul 23, 2015
Nel centro del borgo tufaceo della piccola Fanese, un piccolo angolo di raffinatezza. Camere pulite e curate, aria condizionata, personale cortesissimo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barcelona

Hotel muy bonito

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Estada perfecta!! Hotel muy acojedor y limpio!! Desayuno casero fenomenal!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from roma

centrale, silenzioso, moderno, titolare DOC

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: tutto
Cons: l' indicazione dalla strada percorribile in auto
Location: ero per un pranzo nelle vicinanze, trovato su expedia, nulla da eccepire
pernottato solo una notte, tornando in zona non credo troverei di meglio