Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Faro

Location

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Short walk to the city centre but still alot of road noise and traffic. Staff need to learn a bit more English to help people get directions etc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire, UK

Good cheap hotel

Posted May 19, 2017
Good hotel if your looking for cheap few nights away. Not very comfortable if staying longer than a weekend. Staff are lovely and can't do enough to help.
3 out of 5
by Francis

No airport shuttle

Posted May 10, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was fine however the hotels.com description was wrong costing me additional money, I phoned the hotel to book the shuttle from the airport, to be told they don't have one !!! ? Costing me an extra nights car hire and a bit of stress.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2017
Dear Guest. Please the airport shuttle, are not included. Read the total information. And of course, w / need the flight number and arrival time to take the clients. Best Regards
3 out of 5
by Alan from Lanarkshire

Hotel Afonso III - Faro

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel was a short walk from the old walled part of the town. Plenty of little bars and restaurants in the picturesque old town. There didn't seem to be any on street parking restrictions and I always found a space for the car near to or immediately outside the hotel, although I visited off season so things may be different peak season. I was very surprised to find that the Portugese smoke indoors and my room smelled of cigarettes which was very unpleasant. The room was tiny with the twin beds pushed together. The breakfast was decent but a bit pricey at 10 Euros.
4 out of 5
by Karen from Ireland

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
Was made very welcome, especially travelling alone and speaking very little Portugese. The Hotel downstairs, was in excellent condition, the staff and breakfast excellent. Location very good but the bedrooms very small and in drastic need of renovation.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Afonso 3rd-1 night stay...

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
1 night stay,clean,just 2-3 mins walk from train station,15 mins walk from Shopping Centre Algarve,english speaking receptionist,basic breakfast. Wifi not included, 1 euro charge per hour or 3 euros for 24 hours(only available for 1 device).Also our room was facing a small hospital and there was a permanent noise coming from an electrical generator or something like that,other side of the hotel was facing the sea,but also a busy street. Definitely would recomend people to contact the hotel before booking if they want to stay in a room with seaside view room. Good for short or overnight stay.2 star hotel,score 7 out of 10 for budget hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SURPRISINGLY GOOD

Posted Jan 12, 2012
Pros: Flexible staff, good location for public transport
Cons: Nil
Location: Central
Although the hotel is in a dingy back street, it is ideally placed in the centre of Faro, close by the train station and bus/coach station. Like many similar hotels in Portugal, it is very old-fashioned - like something out of the 1960s - but the price reflects this. The buffet continental breakfast was good by small Portuguese hotel standards and the staff were much more accommodating than is normally found in Portuguese hotels. A good find - don't be put off by first appearances but don't expect too much.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Albert

Stayed for 3 nights Hotel very

Posted Jun 27, 2011 on HotelClub
Stayed for 3 nights Hotel very clean staff friendly and helpful, exeptional value for money , would not hesitate to recommend this Hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Anonymous

Clean, friendly staff, central location

Posted Mar 18, 2011 on Orbitz
We have been away from home since January 8, in the UK, Ghana, and Portugal. This was our best hotel of the trip (for the price).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Anonymous

Faro, Portugal

Posted Dec 7, 2010 on Orbitz
I flew into Faro since it was Ryanair destination fairly late at night. I had a cheap transport to the airport through SunTravel. The woman at the front desk was very kind and provided me with a map right away and answered all of the questions I had. The gentleman later in the evening helped me with my silly questions and was also very kind. The room was beautiful and just the right size and I had a small balcony outside! Breakfast the next morning had a decent variety for something that was continental and I was able to eat plenty! The hotel also had free internet 24/7 and a lot of channels on tv. The shower and bathroom were also very nice. It was in a great location next to the train station and very cose to the water and the streets were quiet at night. I would recommend this to anyone!