Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
69% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice stay

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Very nice hotel with a very friendly host named Karvel. Clean room with a very nice view of the fjord and area. We would look Karvel up again if we go back to Iceland.
3 out of 5
by Christopher

Old hotel in a small town

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
It's a old hotel, and some interesting display in front desk area. For one night stay is ok, convenience parking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 3, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for this review and we will work harder to improve our accommodation for future guests. Cheers, Karvel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Nice little hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Family room is large 2 room apartment, much better then Expedia described. Perfectly cleaned and maintained. New bathroom. Perfect for the family of 4. There is plenty of space for 6 if needed
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 24, 2016 by Karvel, Hotel Management
Thank you for this review and glad you enjoyed your stay. Cheers, Karvel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from T

Poor service with extremely small rooms

Posted Aug 17, 2016
No one at reception upon arrival. Rung bell provided 2 times before phoning the phone number on the front door. Staff was dressed professionally at all. The 2 beds only had 6 inches between them. Way to narrow for 2 beds. Should have been a 1 bedroom unit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by Karvel , Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Sorry you had to wait but we have few workers to cover a large place. I wear clothes that are comfortable to me and sorry you took offence with my clothing of casualness. I admit that the bedrooms would be great to have more space but I think the accommodation is quite comfortable. Hope you had a restful stay with us and enjoyed Iceland.Cheers Karvel
5 out of 5
by melissa

Highly Recommended

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
My husband and I stayed here for two nights during our ring road trip. Owner is very friendly and the hotel is very clean. Just know that everything in this town closes at 9pm, except the gas station.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Hope you had a restful and enjoyable stay with us. Cheers Karvel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Nice hotel.

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Location with very knowledgeable owner.
Cons: A lot of stairs for seniors carrying luggage, if we return to the area in the future we would book ahead and ask for the room on the main floor.
Location: We were visiting relatives. Visit the northern lights museum and the French museum, both very interesting.
We stayed two nights at the hotel. Our room had a great view of the fjord. It was spacious with two beds which were very comfortable resulting in a good sleep. Two bathrooms on our floor one with a shower. Bathrooms were very clean. Breakfast cost extra but was good with many choices. We would recommend this hotel. If you have trouble using stairs as no elevator ensure you call the hotel as they have a room on the main floor.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by Karvel, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review. Yes I wish I was 20yrs younger to help you all with luggage or an elevator to help carry the heavy cases. Hope you had a restful and enjoyable stay with us. Cheers Karvel
4 out of 5
by Carolyn from California

A warm, economical & personable experience

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
Really enjoyed staying at this cozy hotel. The owner went out of his way to make sure we had a nice stay & enjoyed ourselves. We told him what we were interested in and he recommended a drive our tour book didn't give much praise to and we had the most wonderful time and saw some beautiful sights-our most favorite day in Iceland!
Comment from Hotel Management
by Karvel, Hotel Management
Glad I was able to provide you with some insider tid-bits!hehe I really enjoy my position here at Hotel Bjarg and I am so lucky to meet alll my guests on a personal basis. Hope to meet you 2 the next time you visit Iceland. Best regards, Karvel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from ohio

Hospitality at its finest.

Posted May 20, 2016
Pros: Huge room. Excellent service. I highly recommend and coming from me (my husband calls me the hotel snob) it is a compliment.
The owner went out of his way to make sure we were comfortable. We got in really late and without asking made us all sandwiches. He was so kind and open to questions. The room was huge and had a kitchen table. The room was awesome. Highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2016 by Karvel, Hotel Management
Thank you for booking with us and for a great review. Glad all went well with your trip Michelle and give my best to your husband/daughters. Looking forward to seeing you all on your next trip to Iceland. Cheers from Faskrudsfjordur
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Good night rest

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Pros: Large family room. Comfortable beds. Good breakfast. Great morning view of the bay. Friendly owner.
Cons: Our room was a family room on the side. We had to go to the main entrance and went two flight down for shared shower facility.
Location: Good one-night stay if you drive along the East Coast of Iceland.
We arrived late after a long drive. But the owner was there waiting for us.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2015 by Karvel, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and hope you enjoyed Iceland.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Great place to stop in the eastern coast

Posted Aug 7, 2015
The hotel owner was very friendly, personable and helpful. Our room was very comfortable written plenty of room for our family of four.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 9, 2015 by karvel, Hotel Management
Thank you for booking with us and thank you for the review. Cheers Karvel