Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Mohammed

Istanbul Break!!

Posted Jan 3, 2018 on Hotels
We had a lovely stay at the Senatus. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful. In particular Mete and Mustafa. We enjoyed the breakfast, with something different every day. The location is perfect, very close to the Blue Mosque. The hotel reception area is dated and could do with a refurbishment. Would definitely stay there again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 5, 2018 by Ismail TOPAL, Hotel Management
Dear Mohammed, Thanks for your review and advice. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Very welcoming and helpful front desk. Rooms are nice and clean. Breakfast was good. Offered a discount at restaurant next door. It was a great place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 9, 2017 by Ismail TOPAL, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your kindly review. It was our pleasure to host you in our hotel . Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

High expectations not met

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Pros: Friendly and helpful staff, The room cleaning service, Hot drinks machine, and Location
Cons: Bathroom door to have a lock Improve Wifi connection or control heavy usage to make it fair on all users Provide refreshments to guests on arrival
Location: Close to the main 3 attractions. Arasta bazaar. Food is ok, but buy fresh Baklava!
I'm sorry, but i couldn't give the hotel more than 3 stars overall like others have. I think the expectations based on the feedback and reviews were too high. This is not a reflection on staff, who were good and helpful. Room was small, very difficult to move around with luggage in there. Although i did pick the more economical room. The Washroom - in the room was poorly designed. As well as being small, the Glass door was directly next to the bed and no lock to close it. The shower itself was very good though. Wifi was also very poor in the evenings. Coffee and hot drinks available which was very nice to have. Breakfast was ok. And all staff were very friendly and helpful. Room cleaning as others have said was brilliant. Lastly, dogs. Istanbul (Sulthanahmet area) seems full of them including the mosque courtyard. If you dont like dogs, then note that dogs always lie down in front of the entrance. Although they are harmless. The experience overall was ok
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2017 by Front Desk, Hotel Management
Dear Sana , Thank you very much for your review. We are very happy to host you in our hotel . First of all , we never use any fake photos or information on our web-page , so when you booked our hotel was knowing all the details what you will get about the room . Really we are open for positive and negative critisim if something is right but we are located in old city and most of the building are very old and when you want to do any renovation , it might be same as like before , so there isn't any choice to make all the rooms bigger . This is the reason we put all the details and pictures on our web-site to not make you upset . I think you read reviews but you didn't read any details about hotel . We do have bigger rooms and bigger bathrooms as like a Deluxe or Junior Suite or King Suite but if you booked as a Economic Room you should read what you will get . We are looking for your next visit , hope to see you again. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Small in size, massive on perfection

Posted Sep 18, 2017
The friendliest of welcomes, Mustafa and his staff go out of their way to make every moment of your stay a memorable one. Turkish hospitality at its very best. And the location is nothing short of perfect.....Topkapi Palace, Aya Sofya and the Blue Mosque are just 5 mins walk away. Senatus richly deserves it's excellent reputation. Just perfect. *****
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Ismail TOPAL, Hotel Management
Dear Tim, Thank you very much for your review. We are looking for your next visit. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from g.m

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2017
I like it It's clean and good service Thanks for everything Shaban mazen hamam
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Ismail TOPAL, Hotel Management
Dear Shaban Mazen, Thank you very much for your review. We are looking for your next visit. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, W. Australia

An outstanding value for money boutique hotel

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Proximity to Istanbul's heart of historical buildings, the sea, transport, restaurants where service with a smile came as second nature
Cons: Communication and coordination for airport service
Location: This is the place for those with passion for history, culture and architecture and proximity to the sea and myriads eateries come as a bonus
Our experience exceeded our expectations in its location, facilities, cleanliness, comfort, complimentary drinks, sumptuous breakfast and service with a smile that are requisite for all travelers for a memorable encounter and exploration of Istanbul steeped in history, culture and architecture evolved out of the romantic fusion of the east and the west
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017 by Ismail TOPAL, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review. It was our pleasure to host you in our hotel . We are looking for your next visit. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
by marco

Great hotel located in the old city

Posted Sep 3, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was great, very close to many things in the old city area. There are many shops, restaurants, and bars near by. The hotel is within 2-3 blocks from the Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern and many other things.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 2, 2017
Dear Marco, Thank you very much for your review. We are looking for your next visit. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Great location

Posted Aug 7, 2017
We stayed a lovely 7 days in Senatus hotel. First of all the location just perfect, you can walk to most attractions, even if you want to use the tram its also so near. The hotel is so clean and the satff are so friendly, Mustafa was very helpful he gave some important tips and information before we start our day. Definitely if I want to visit istanbul again i will choose the senatus again
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Ismail, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Mahdi Thanks for your review . Hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Great location. Great friendly and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Ismail TOPAL, Hotel Management
Thanks for your time to write a review. Best Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cambridge

Decent hotel walking distance to old town.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Great location, walking distance to blue mosque, ayasofia, grand bazaar. Plenty of eateries directly outside the hotel. Value for money. Breakfast lacked options, clean rooms, good staffs, awesome location. Defo recommend if your staying in sultanhamet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 7, 2017 by Ismail TOPAL, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review . Best Regards,