Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso

Small hotel a few steps from Hagia Sophia

Posted May 3, 2018
Pros: Great restaurants nearby. Very close to some of the major attraction in the city.
Cons: A few details, but in general is acceptable.
Location: Great location. Close to most of the sights in the city and close to multiple restaurants.
Small hotel in the heart of Istanbul. Walking distance to Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque and the Palace. Rooms are in the small side, but clean and comfortable. We stayed for eight nights. The rooms with sea view are a little noisy due to the traffic of people at night. Breakfast is OK with fruits, cheese, bread and some meats. Ramadan also known as Rambo will prepare an Omelet or fried eggs if you prefer. He is an amazing person and makes every effort to help. The afternoon view from the terrace in the afternoon into the Marmara Sea and the Bosphorus is amazing. Bring some wine and enjoy.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Jewel!

Posted Mar 21, 2018 on Hotels
The Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi completely delighted us last week, and we would happily stay there again. In the middle of the fashionable and lively (but quiet) Sultanahmed neighborhood, this small hotel is directly across the street from the walls of the palace compound including the Hagia Sophia, surrounded by pretty little streets of cafes and boutiques. Service was warm, friendly and competent (both on the phone and in-person). Our room was extremely comfortable, with beautiful European decor (as is the hotel overall), with a great view. The lovely, varied Turkish breakfast buffet is served in a terrace room looking out upon the Hagia Sophia. The manager was very helpful at arranging airport transport at a reasonable price. We hope to be able to return to Istanbul for a longer visit, and will look forward to returning to the Hotel Valide Sultan Konagi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Backwards World is Charming

Posted Feb 26, 2018 on Orbitz
Pros: The room was beautifully nostalgic. The view of the water from the breakfast room is wonderful. The Hagia Sophia is right outside our room.
Cons: Not a thing
Location: Perfect for walking to old town sights. Quiet at night, not a busy tourist area.
Loved, loved this hotel for location, room was comfortable, staff was friendly and helpful and breakfast was delicious. We did find several things that were interesting though. Things such as light switches that were upside down and the switch on my side of bed controlled light on opposite side of bed. The hot and cold were switched on sink but not shower. The air conditioning turned on the heat. I used a spare second blanket at night because I like it cool to sleep. The cleaning lady prompted removed it never to be seen again. I used a washcloth and it and all the others were removed. I had to ask for another. It was never replaced with a clean one even though our bath and hand towels were replaced every day. I found this charming and hope it never changes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lebanon

Nice hotel close to the main spots in the old city

Posted Feb 16, 2018
We spent three nights at this hotel in February; the rooms furniture is elegant and comfortable the hotel is close to the main sites in the sultanahmet and at the same time it is in a district with a lot of cafes and restaurants; the staff were very nice, especially the person in the restaurant who was extremely nice and welcoming.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel in nice area

Posted Feb 12, 2018
Amazing hotel and all staff. Close to all the places you want to visit. Lots of restaurants around the corner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Posted Jan 17, 2018 on Orbitz
Amazing location, close to all the tourist sites, literally two minute walk to Sophia haque museum and blue mosque. Staff was disappointing , front desk personnel was not helpful and seem to only suggest tour agencies that they have a personal relationships with, possibly for commission.The hotel website states airport shuttle available which is misleading, they don’t offer it if you purchased through Expedia or Orbitz. You will be charged 70 lira for taxi service to airport. Which you can book yourself for 55-60 lira .Do your own research for tours. The breakfast was great every morning. The cook was very sweet and thoughtful. The view from breakfast room is beautiful.
5 out of 5
by Fatah

Excellent boutique hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2018 on Hotels
Excellent location just behind Hagia Sophia. About 10 min walk to sultanamet tram station, very close to walk around and enjoy the center. Awesome as we were upgraded to bigger room, really nice for couple like us, enjoying our romantic holiday. All staff are polite and very helpfull. Loves the breakfast, cleanliness and hospitality. Definetely will comeback.
5 out of 5
by goran

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2018 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 1, 2018 on Hotels
Everything was perfect
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erbil, Iraq

It's a lovely, small hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2017 on Orbitz
Valide Sultan Konagi is a 5 minute walk to Aya Sofia and a 7 min walk to the Blue Mosque. In between the two is Hurrem's Hammam which is a pricey Turkish bath. It was built in the mid-1550s during the reign of Suleiman the Magnificent at the behest of one of his consorts, Hurrem. One side of the public bath is for men and the other for women. I was able to visit Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque and the hammam during my stay at Valide Sultan Konagi. The hotel staff were kind and asked me every day if I wanted a coffee or tea when I returned from visiting historical sites. There is also a free breakfast on the top floor every morning. The view from the top floor which includes Aya Sofia behind you and the Bosporus in front is quite stunning. The hotel rooms are a bit small and so are the beds. Both worked fine for me but I am 5' 5. For someone over 6 feet, I would suggest asking for a larger room. The breakfast is fine and typical of the region. I ate an egg with vegetables, bread and cheese, juice and Turkish tea every morning. They also have other side dishes, like olives. The eggs are hard boiled. If you wanted something else, you could probably tell them the day before and they might try to accommodate you. The staff is quite helpful.